We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Grand Hotel Smeraldo Beach
Nearby Hotels
Airone Hotel(Baia Sardinia)
US$199
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Hotel La Bisaccia(Baia Sardinia)
US$386
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 10% below average rates

The price you found is 10% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$428/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Hotel La Jacia(Baia Sardinia)(Great Value!)
US$149
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Savings alert! 28% below average rates

The price you found is 28% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$208/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Club Hotel(Baia Sardinia)
US$357
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$475
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 16% below average rates

The price you found is 16% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$567/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Hotel Olimpia(Baia Sardinia)
US$177
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Li Graniti(Baia Sardinia)(Great Value!)
US$150
US$130
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 20% below average rates

The price you found is 20% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$163/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Park Hotel Resort(Baia Sardinia)
US$206
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$912
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 25% below average rates

The price you found is 25% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$1,221/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$1,330
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (418)
Filter reviews
418 results
Traveller rating
150
174
65
21
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
150
174
65
21
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshalf boardwalk in wardrobeprivate beachcroissantsmattress topperevery nightlovely hotelsea viewroom decorbacon and eggswaiter staffa ground floor roomshower curtainrestaurants within walking distancemin walkbaja sardiniafresh fruit
Filter
Updating list...
27 - 32 of 418 reviews
Reviewed 23 September 2016

Charming hotel with a fantastic location and excellent staff throughout.
The hotel's private beach is perfectly secluded and can only be accessed by hotel guests. During our stay there was always plenty of choice of seats and sun beds in the many small terraced areas with great views over the sea. The best availability being around the main pool because most people wanted to be on or near the beach. Our stay was in September but we have been told that in high season sun-bed availability can be a real problem. With many steps and terraces this wouldn't be suitable for people with restricted mobility.
The sea is remarkably clear, warm and has abundant fish swimming very close to the beach. I would recommend taking a mask or snorkel to really enjoy your time in the water.
The a la carte evening meal was consistently excellent and the professionalism of the waiting staff was a joy to behold. Drinks are not cheap in the hotel but there is a supermarket about 15 mins walk away with ample choice of very reasonably priced beers and wines.
There is one big negative which prevents me from giving this hotel 5 out of 5 - the beds! So hard and with one slab of a pillow to match. This is a common issue raised in nearly every review and it does beggar belief that the hotel has done nothing about it when their attention to detail in all other respects is very good. We asked for a mattress topper from reception which improved our comfort slightly, but it was a huge relief to get home to our own bed. The bedrooms are quirky with hand painted frescos but overall are a little tired.
There isn't a great deal to explore on foot, with just the tourist resort of Baia Sardinia within easy walking distance and car hire is very expensive - circa £100 a day for a VW Golf - so this is not the hotel or location for those who want to be up and about exploring everyday. However it is the perfect spot for a week of relaxation in amazing surroundings and eating great food.

Room Tip: A 'half sea view' room gives you great views without the expense of the full sea-view
  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Ian K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2016 via mobile

Great location and views. Reception staff really helpful and friendly, pools and beach lovely. Only a 5 mins walk to the centre. Rooms could do with a bit of an update but apart from sleeping and getting changed didn't have the need to spend any more time inside when outside is so lovely.

Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Nina C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2016

Just had a week at this lovely traditional style hotel on half board basis and were very pleasantly surprised when we arrived and saw how it was laid out creating a spacious feel inside and out.
The breakfast was buffet style but exactly the same food was served every day. The evening meal was four courses, good quality and fairly generous portions. There is quite an extensive wine menu with a starting price of approx 20 euros. There is a bar/restaurant in the pool area where you can get lunch but the choice of food is limited and I think 12 euros for a small plate of pasta with some chopped tomatoes is a bit expensive when you can have the same dish covered in seafood for the same price!!
There is one fairly large pool with several other small ones all on different levels but the steps and rocky pathways could prove a bit awkward for people with walking difficulties. Having all these different areas plus the beach means that everyone is not all in the same place and you can choose to be in the sun or shade. However, the saving of beds here is dreadful and people would put towels on beds at night or really early in the morning and nobody does anything about it. Although there are a lot of beds and chairs, if you come out of breakfast at 10.00 you will have difficulty finding any. We watched people every day putting towels on beds and then disappearing for hours. On the last day of our holiday I thought 'if you can't beat them, join them' and got up at 6.00 and the majority of beds had towels on them. Upon arrival you are allocated a beach towel and every time you change it you are charged 2 euros so it makes it difficult to remove towels from beds without it resulting in an argument. The hotel staff should really be the ones to do this.
We would not hesitate to return to this hotel except for one thing - the mattresses on the beds are thin, lumpy and incredibly uncomfortable and the pillows are not much better. I did not have one good night's sleep during the holiday and this would deter me from booking again. This hotel is part of the ITI group with quite a few hotels in Sardinia that look really nice but we are now put off trying them in case they all have the same mattresses!!. Quite a few people have mentioned the beds, hopefully something will be done about them.
There is a large terrace overlooking the sea where you can watch the sun go down and be served drinks by the lovely Marie A and Salvatore. Have to say that all of the staff were pleasant, helpful and a credit to the hotel.
About 10 minutes walk from the hotel is an area of restaurants and a few shops that you can get to by means of a steep road - okay going down, not so good on the return journey.
Taxi's are quite expensive - a return journey to Porto Cervo is 60 euros and we were quite disappointed when we got there as the shops are all designer, presumably to serve the occupants of the expensive yachts and cruisers in the harbour. Two bottles of beer in a bar were 20 euros!
Arrange your transfers to and from Olbia airport before you go, we paid 120 euros for the return journey in a Mercedes. If you wait until you get there it will cost you 85 euros each way.
The entire hotel is very quiet and peaceful and ideal if you are looking for a lazy, relaxing holiday.
Overall we had a lovely time, would love to return and have no hesitation in recommending PROVIDING THEY GET NEW BEDS.

Room Tip: Sea view on the second floor would be best. Some garden rooms overlook the car park.
  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank OllieLady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2016

Stayed here for 5 nights in Sept. On arriving all looks good. Nice reception helpful staff. Stunning setting. On arrival in room was disappointed. Very tires and basic not 4 star at all. Beds uncomfortable. All a little tired not updated and felt old. But was very clean and was kept so by the housekeeping staff. Great towels too. If you pay extra as ew did for a sea view ask for a higher floor. We were on level 1 which was great to walk out to the pools but not a good sea view. Also no kettle and when asked if we could have one told no for safety reasons!!!!!

As stated great location, sunbeds were an issue as around the pools there are a lot of trees so not always in the sun, on the beach only deck chairs no sunbeds. Had to get up early to get a bed even though it says no saving. People ignored and no checks made.

We were only Bed and breakfast but it was the same every day and all a little boring. Had lunch in the beach restaurant, OK but again fairly limited. Some good restaurants nearby but standards are all different and very similar.

Room Tip: If want sea view ask for a higher level
  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Huntsalt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2016

Spotted the Grand Smeraldo Hotel after an email shot some time ago from the Secret Escapes company. I bookmarked it then as a possible future holiday location and I am so glad I did. The hotel offers everything my wife and I could ask for in a Mediterranean holiday at this time. Superb location situated on the hotels own beach flanked by the signature Sardinian rocks. A gentle slope in the sand leads into crystal clear waters. A walk of 5 or 10 minutes depending how energetic you feel takes you to the perfectly formed beachfront of Bahia Sardinia. Here you find a good selection of restaurants, bars and shops. A small well kept promenade gives the perfect place to enjoy a lunch stop in the day or a drink in the evening and watch the other lucky people who have discovered this beautiful corner of the island go by.
Back to the Grand Smeraldo. If you can, please pay the extra for a seafront room. The view is so worth it. The room was quite large by past experience of Italian hotels. Well maintained with efficient air conditioning which was appreciated in the height of summer. Reasonable wi-fi service in room and around the hotel stretched out at times to the pool areas. Plentiful pools of various sizes gave the opportunity to find your own space. Add to that the many little rocky coves scattered around the hotel many of them furnished with the hotels own sun chairs and loungers. There seemed to be space for everyone. We were on half board basis. Typical breakfast fare but the evening meals were superb. A good choice from an ever changing menu and if you included the small salad bar each night you could end up with a 5 course meal!
A wine list which provided a good choice of options and prices finished the meals of perfectly. Excellent, very helpful staff throughout the hotel. The front desk organised a boat trip and car hire for us with no problems.
This wonderful hotel and nearby resort made this a superb choice to sample the delights of Northern Sardinia. Thanks again Secret Escapes for the hint!!

Room Tip: A high floor with a seafront room for beautiful views.
  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank scotmunro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews