We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Islantilla Golf Resort Hotel(Islantilla)
US$155
US$141
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$164
US$144
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$188
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
Puerto Antilla Grand Hotel(Islantilla)
US$245
US$205
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Islantur Ipanema(Islantilla)
US$187
US$136
Priceline
View Deal
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Leo Islamar(Islantilla)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Leo Ipanema(Islantilla)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Expedia.com
View Deal
Reviews (1,776)
Filter reviews
1,776 results
Traveller rating
456
605
395
183
137
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
456
605
395
183
137
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfresh fruitgelatopublic areasspanish resortair conditioningfaro airportper dayfamily hotelspainpromenadeanimationmagdalenasandralolasupermarketlanguage
Filter
Updating list...
9 - 14 of 1,776 reviews
Reviewed 10 November 2016

We booked this hotel as part of an all inclusive package with Fleetway travel, advertised as a 4 star beach-side hotel. We needed a break to relax from stress at home. We have stayed at 4 star beach hotels in Spain before so we thought we knew what to expect. How wrong we were! We arrived late - too late for dinner - and were greeted by a swarthy man who needed a shave. His curt and dismissive replies to questions were probably due to his lack of English. Our room was on the top floor as we had paid extra for a sea view, but the balcony at this level was small and narrow - about the width of a metal framed chair. The bed was comfortable and the room had aircon. The bathroom was clean, if a little dated. When we opened the double glazed balcony door a long strip of rubber seal came away from the door, which we pushed back on. The room safe didn't work as its battery had run flat. The main problem with the hotel is the catering. The restaurant was like a works canteen, only the food and service was worse! All cooked food was served tepid at every meal, probably because that's how the Spanish like it. There are a couple of microwaves in the canteen and, if like a previous reviewer, you think it is no hardship to microwave every meal for a week, then you may be happy. If we'd been on a self catering holiday that would've been fine. Most folk expect a 4 star hotel to serve food at the right temperature. There was a choice of main course - one meat dish and one fish dish. My partner doesn't eat fish or pork so on most nights she just ate a plate of luke-warm chips. All the food was just piled up on platters - no presentaion points here! Clearly the staff didn't care. There was some lasagne one evening but by the time we got there the Spanish had wolfed it all down. The hotel even ran out of baked beans one breakfast. The noise in the canteen was worse than in a school. The Spanish all seem to shout at each other - maybe they're all deaf. We didn't go in the hotel pool but if you want to swim, a towel will cost you a refundable deposit of EUR10 - it's that kind of place where the guests can't be trusted with towels! One positive was that we didn't have to do battle with the Germans over the best sun-loungers. There were no Germans staying here. They wouldn't be seen dead in a dump like this, and nor should any right-thinking Brits!

  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank alland50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ilunion H, Director Hotel at ILUNION Islantilla, responded to this reviewResponded 7 December 2016

Dear Customer
We are sorry that you did not find the hotel as expected, we appreciate your comments that we will take as an opportunity to improve the hotel.
Remaining at your disposal,
Yours sincerely,
Luis Martin
Hotel Address

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2016 via mobile

This is a Spanish hotel catering for the Spanish and definitely not for the British! At best the food can only be described as very average with all flavour removed. During our stay the 'canteen' (restaurant) had a seafood dinner theme to which a few coaches unloaded a couple of hundred feral and pensionable spaniards (who obviously hadn't seen food for a week) and who attacked the food like a horde of locusts - at the expense of residents. At normal mealtimes the food was bland, lukewarm and mostly tasteless. Rose wine was unavailable throughout the hotel bars - only red or white! The pool bar was open to the elements and was part aviary judging by the amount of bird sh.t on the tables and the drink selection was very poor. Only one lounge bar with uncomfortable cast iron chairs was open, and if you had half an hour to spare you'd eventually get served by surly staff who only got drinks for those who shouted the loudest - in Spanish. The main lounge with attractive comfortable seating remained closed during our stay. No waiter service at all, anywhere - even the disabled had to queue. It was apparent that the majority of the staff didn't like their jobs as they were unsmiling and uncaring. All areas are fairly clean but litter remained in the corridors for a whole week. A large percentage of sunbeds were broken and never tidied, grassed sunbathing areas cut around you at midday. Seagulls used the pool as a toilet without fear of being chased away, because there wasn't anyone there to scare them off! The so called A la Carte restaurant was closed all the time, which if it was served by the same kitchen as the 'canteen' was a blessing. Don't forget to get a soup bowl if you want soup - they're on a counter about 30 metres away from the soup!! Swimming caps are compulsory if using the indoor pool - but not made available. As a luxury hotel it left much to be desired and in terms of food, service, entertainment and comfort it's got two stars too many! If cast iron lounge seating, cold scrambled eggs, noisy restaurant, no service, long queues for drinks and being out on a limb is your thing - then this is the place for you.

Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
3  Thank stoptree789
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ilunion H, Direccion Hotel at ILUNION Islantilla, responded to this reviewResponded 7 December 2016

Dear Customer
We are sorry that you did not find the hotel as expected, we appreciate your comments that we will take as an opportunity to improve the hotel.
Remaining at your disposal,
Yours sincerely,
Luis Martin
Hotel Address

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2016

Our first impressions of the hotel were good, we arrived late at night and found the check in staff to be helpful, although they spoke very little English.
Our room was OK, nice big and clean, but our sleep was disturbed each night to groups of loud drunken thoughtless people returning to their rooms late at night.
Eating was a terrible experience. The queues to get into the restaurant were very long and slow moving, when you finally got inside it was like being in a badly run works canteen/school dinner hall.The noise was deafening with lots of rude vociferous Spanish people charging around all over the place just pushing in as they saw fit.The selection of food was quite good at times, but in all our time there we never found any that was hot.
Inside the hotel there was nightly entertainment going on in a bar near reception. This consisted of a terrible singer and pianist with a lot of elderly Spaniards dancing.
One good thing about the hotel, is that it's ideally situated with the beach being just a short walk away.
We hired bikes from reception one day, which due to the language barrier (International Hotel?? I think not!) ended up as a complete farce when we attempted to get a pump to blow the tyres up properly.
Do yourself a favour and give this place a wide berth.

Room Tip: Get a room in another hotel.
  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Fife-on-a-bike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ilunion H, Direccion Hotel at ILUNION Islantilla, responded to this reviewResponded 7 December 2016

.Dear Customer
We are sorry that you did not find the hotel as expected, we appreciate your comments that we will take as an opportunity to improve the hotel.
Remaining at your disposal,
Yours sincerely,
Luis Martin
Hotel Address

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2016

We have just returned from a week at the Ilunion. We got a good deal on travelzoo but after reading the reviews I was a little nervous to say the least!. Talk of 2 hours transfers - we had a nice new mini bus all to our selves there and back and it took 1 hour.
Some points that are true....
* It can be noisy in the restaurant - but we went for breakfast late and luch and dinner early.... never once queued to get in. It isn't the warmest but how hard it it to microwave something if you need to!!
*The 4th (top) floor has been refurbished and I read the best rooms were on the outside not true in our opinion ours was looking straight out to sea. The balconys are smaller at the top but that didn't bother us either.
*The staff on reception were always helpful even without great English. but you are going to Spain!
*Be aware of pick up times we were caught out by the time difference and waited an hour to early!!

This is a really pleasant location we enjoyed hiring the hotel bikes and exploring. We also went on a bus trip to Seville (its worth paying extra for the cultural tour over the shopping) However I would say its certainly a place to relax..... not an awful lot to do and it felt a little bit like it had shut up shop in the local area ie end of season!!

One review commented on Spanish families coming over the weekend that's also true!!

I have really enjoyed the chance to relax and do feel some of the reviews were worse than it actually is!!!

Room Tip: Pay that little bit extra for a sea view!
  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lee-ann T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ilunion H, Direccion Hotel at ILUNION Islantilla, responded to this reviewResponded 7 December 2016

Dear Customer,
Thank you very much for your comments, we are pleased that you enjoyed with us. We will pass your comments on to our co-workers.
While waiting to see you again,
a greeting
Luis Martin
Hotel Address

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2016

Well first impressions very nice reception area pleasant staff although not much English spoken but along with our pigeon Spanish we got along just fine.
Up to our room (2nd floor sea view ) rather basic to say the least and a shortage of electric plugs only one mirror (except for bathroom) no plug near so made it difficult to dry hair (I always take my own dryer as don't like the hotel ones in bathrooms) The bedding and towels were clean but could have done with a good dust and sweep. It is worth pointing out that as the hotel is built to represent a cruise ship the higher the floor the smaller the balcony.
Next stop dinner well don't know were to start people just milling around however there were no accidents I do not know the food was luke warm and the noise horrendous. There was only one restaurant open so no way to escape the noise. After dinner off to the bar in reception for drinks ( lovely barmaid Sandra) Salsa night with live band not enough seating and very loud, it was the same every night of our stay so we used to sit outside in the smoking area with the exception of one when we went to the pool bar lovely till 10.30pm when Spanish bingo started!!

Our stay was Tuesday to Tuesday so we witnessed Spanish style Saga type holidays change to Butlins family weekend. Friday afternoon saw the arrival of the families the noise was worse than ever impossible to sit by the pool as for the restaurant kids riding around on scooters, bikes one girl even riding a hover board Saturday lunch time I had to leave after 10 minutes as the noise was just too much ( we do have 5 grandchildren so are used to noise and are not anti child) needless to say we spent the rest of the weekend away from the hotel despite being in an all inclusive tariff.
Monday saw the return of the older generation still so much noise I know the Spanish do tend to shout as have visited many areas of Spain but this was exceptional. So we continued eating out plus it meant we got hot food.The reception bar closed so entertainment was now at the pool bar followed by dancing in a large room opposite the canteen Arghh!! Was glad to come home for some peace and quiet.
Perhaps also worth saying if using A2B transfers from Faro your return pick up is given in Portuguese time we were ready and waiting for 6.15 a.am. the taxi did not arrive till 7.15 due to the time difference

  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Gatoruby2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ilunion H, direccion hotel at ILUNION Islantilla, responded to this reviewResponded 5 October 2016
Google Translation


Estimado Cliente
Sentimos que no haya encontrado el hotel tal y como esperaba, agradecemos sus comentarios que tomaremos como oportunidad de mejora del hotel.
Quedando a su entera disposición,
Reciba un cordial saludo,
Luis Martín
Dirección Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews