We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very relaxing”
Review of ILUNION Islantilla

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
ILUNION Islantilla
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in Islantilla
Reviewed 16 June 2017

Stayed here with friends at the beginning of June as part of a fleet way all inclusive package, having read previous reviews we were somewhat worried as to what we would find, needless to say this was not the case.As a party of 4 ladies we were collected from Faro airport by a very smart young man & shown to a Mercedes estate with welcomed Air conditioning & free WiFi , no sweaty resort coach !
We made the 1 hour journey in cool comfort a great start to our break
Arriving at illunion we were shown into a beautiful modern reception with cocktail bar & piano, now make know mistake this is a Spanish hotel in a very Spanish resort & so English is not the first language but this all adds to the experience.
If you want English bacon & draught bitter this is not the place for you !
Our rooms on the 3rd floor were clean, airy and with a balcony & sea view as requested oh & spacious bathroom.
So to our first culinary experience which as per previous reviews worried us....... But no need ....yes it is noisy & not the place for a romantic meal adieu
It is a Jasper Conran inspired dining room, light, airy , functional and spotlessly kept clean by the superb staff.
More importantly the food was superb with lots of choice from spectacular salad bar to delicious meats & fish not forgetting the dessert selection of various gelato`s , cakes, fresh fruit & cheeses .Breakfast was in a similar vein.
Lager, wine , sangria, wAter and hot drinks are available to
The pool area is superb with plentiful sun beds and large swimming pool with separate children's pool. The pool bar has plenty if tables inside and out.
As the only 4 English people during 4 days of our stay it made the evening entertainment a little challenging as Spanish Mr & Mrs was a little hard to follow !
However on our last evening a large party of fellow tourists arrived and so the evenings entertainment was in English & Spanish.
There are bars in the shopping complex next door to the hotel which are reasonably priced and the Islantilla promenade is beautiful for a stroll.
This hotel is predominantly Spanish but this makes for a peaceful holiday as it would not attract the "lager louts" associated with some Spanish resorts.
I would return to this hotel as would my friends & feel the previous critiques are a little unfair.

Room Tip: Excellent disabled facilities every where
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sarah b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ilunion H, Director de Relaciones Públicas at ILUNION Islantilla, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2017

Dear Sarah,

You can not imagine how proud we feel after reading your review. Honestly, there is not better reward for us that our guests´s satisfaction. That is the only one reason we are working for.

Thank you so much for sharing your honest review and experience with anothers trip advisor users who maybe are thinking about booking in our Hotel. We are sure this review will be very helpfull.

Always at your disposal,

Helena Gómez
Guest Experience

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,509)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

5 - 9 of 1,509 reviews

Reviewed 10 November 2016

We booked this hotel as part of an all inclusive package with Fleetway travel, advertised as a 4 star beach-side hotel. We needed a break to relax from stress at home. We have stayed at 4 star beach hotels in Spain before so we thought we knew what to expect. How wrong we were! We arrived late - too late for dinner - and were greeted by a swarthy man who needed a shave. His curt and dismissive replies to questions were probably due to his lack of English. Our room was on the top floor as we had paid extra for a sea view, but the balcony at this level was small and narrow - about the width of a metal framed chair. The bed was comfortable and the room had aircon. The bathroom was clean, if a little dated. When we opened the double glazed balcony door a long strip of rubber seal came away from the door, which we pushed back on. The room safe didn't work as its battery had run flat. The main problem with the hotel is the catering. The restaurant was like a works canteen, only the food and service was worse! All cooked food was served tepid at every meal, probably because that's how the Spanish like it. There are a couple of microwaves in the canteen and, if like a previous reviewer, you think it is no hardship to microwave every meal for a week, then you may be happy. If we'd been on a self catering holiday that would've been fine. Most folk expect a 4 star hotel to serve food at the right temperature. There was a choice of main course - one meat dish and one fish dish. My partner doesn't eat fish or pork so on most nights she just ate a plate of luke-warm chips. All the food was just piled up on platters - no presentaion points here! Clearly the staff didn't care. There was some lasagne one evening but by the time we got there the Spanish had wolfed it all down. The hotel even ran out of baked beans one breakfast. The noise in the canteen was worse than in a school. The Spanish all seem to shout at each other - maybe they're all deaf. We didn't go in the hotel pool but if you want to swim, a towel will cost you a refundable deposit of EUR10 - it's that kind of place where the guests can't be trusted with towels! One positive was that we didn't have to do battle with the Germans over the best sun-loungers. There were no Germans staying here. They wouldn't be seen dead in a dump like this, and nor should any right-thinking Brits!

  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank alland50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ilunion H, Director Hotel at ILUNION Islantilla, responded to this reviewResponded 7 December 2016

Dear Customer
We are sorry that you did not find the hotel as expected, we appreciate your comments that we will take as an opportunity to improve the hotel.
Remaining at your disposal,
Yours sincerely,
Luis Martin
Hotel Address

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2016 via mobile

This is a Spanish hotel catering for the Spanish and definitely not for the British! At best the food can only be described as very average with all flavour removed. During our stay the 'canteen' (restaurant) had a seafood dinner theme to which a few coaches unloaded a couple of hundred feral and pensionable spaniards (who obviously hadn't seen food for a week) and who attacked the food like a horde of locusts - at the expense of residents. At normal mealtimes the food was bland, lukewarm and mostly tasteless. Rose wine was unavailable throughout the hotel bars - only red or white! The pool bar was open to the elements and was part aviary judging by the amount of bird sh.t on the tables and the drink selection was very poor. Only one lounge bar with uncomfortable cast iron chairs was open, and if you had half an hour to spare you'd eventually get served by surly staff who only got drinks for those who shouted the loudest - in Spanish. The main lounge with attractive comfortable seating remained closed during our stay. No waiter service at all, anywhere - even the disabled had to queue. It was apparent that the majority of the staff didn't like their jobs as they were unsmiling and uncaring. All areas are fairly clean but litter remained in the corridors for a whole week. A large percentage of sunbeds were broken and never tidied, grassed sunbathing areas cut around you at midday. Seagulls used the pool as a toilet without fear of being chased away, because there wasn't anyone there to scare them off! The so called A la Carte restaurant was closed all the time, which if it was served by the same kitchen as the 'canteen' was a blessing. Don't forget to get a soup bowl if you want soup - they're on a counter about 30 metres away from the soup!! Swimming caps are compulsory if using the indoor pool - but not made available. As a luxury hotel it left much to be desired and in terms of food, service, entertainment and comfort it's got two stars too many! If cast iron lounge seating, cold scrambled eggs, noisy restaurant, no service, long queues for drinks and being out on a limb is your thing - then this is the place for you.

Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
3  Thank stoptree789
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ilunion H, Direccion Hotel at ILUNION Islantilla, responded to this reviewResponded 7 December 2016

Dear Customer
We are sorry that you did not find the hotel as expected, we appreciate your comments that we will take as an opportunity to improve the hotel.
Remaining at your disposal,
Yours sincerely,
Luis Martin
Hotel Address

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2016

Our first impressions of the hotel were good, we arrived late at night and found the check in staff to be helpful, although they spoke very little English.
Our room was OK, nice big and clean, but our sleep was disturbed each night to groups of loud drunken thoughtless people returning to their rooms late at night.
Eating was a terrible experience. The queues to get into the restaurant were very long and slow moving, when you finally got inside it was like being in a badly run works canteen/school dinner hall.The noise was deafening with lots of rude vociferous Spanish people charging around all over the place just pushing in as they saw fit.The selection of food was quite good at times, but in all our time there we never found any that was hot.
Inside the hotel there was nightly entertainment going on in a bar near reception. This consisted of a terrible singer and pianist with a lot of elderly Spaniards dancing.
One good thing about the hotel, is that it's ideally situated with the beach being just a short walk away.
We hired bikes from reception one day, which due to the language barrier (International Hotel?? I think not!) ended up as a complete farce when we attempted to get a pump to blow the tyres up properly.
Do yourself a favour and give this place a wide berth.

Room Tip: Get a room in another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Fife-on-a-bike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ilunion H, Direccion Hotel at ILUNION Islantilla, responded to this reviewResponded 7 December 2016

.Dear Customer
We are sorry that you did not find the hotel as expected, we appreciate your comments that we will take as an opportunity to improve the hotel.
Remaining at your disposal,
Yours sincerely,
Luis Martin
Hotel Address

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2016

We have just returned from a week at the Ilunion. We got a good deal on travelzoo but after reading the reviews I was a little nervous to say the least!. Talk of 2 hours transfers - we had a nice new mini bus all to our selves there and back and it took 1 hour.
Some points that are true....
* It can be noisy in the restaurant - but we went for breakfast late and luch and dinner early.... never once queued to get in. It isn't the warmest but how hard it it to microwave something if you need to!!
*The 4th (top) floor has been refurbished and I read the best rooms were on the outside not true in our opinion ours was looking straight out to sea. The balconys are smaller at the top but that didn't bother us either.
*The staff on reception were always helpful even without great English. but you are going to Spain!
*Be aware of pick up times we were caught out by the time difference and waited an hour to early!!

This is a really pleasant location we enjoyed hiring the hotel bikes and exploring. We also went on a bus trip to Seville (its worth paying extra for the cultural tour over the shopping) However I would say its certainly a place to relax..... not an awful lot to do and it felt a little bit like it had shut up shop in the local area ie end of season!!

One review commented on Spanish families coming over the weekend that's also true!!

I have really enjoyed the chance to relax and do feel some of the reviews were worse than it actually is!!!

Room Tip: Pay that little bit extra for a sea view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lee-ann T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ilunion H, Direccion Hotel at ILUNION Islantilla, responded to this reviewResponded 7 December 2016

Dear Customer,
Thank you very much for your comments, we are pleased that you enjoyed with us. We will pass your comments on to our co-workers.
While waiting to see you again,
a greeting
Luis Martin
Hotel Address

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Islantilla
1.1 km away
Islantilla Golf Resort Hotel
0.7 km away
Tui Family Life Islantilla
Tui Family Life Islantilla
#2 of 8 in Islantilla
901 reviews
0.4 km away
Puerto Antilla Grand Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.8 km away
Precise Resort El Rompido - The Apartments
0.5 km away
Ohtels Islantilla
Ohtels Islantilla
#4 of 8 in Islantilla
608 reviews
12.9 km away
Barcelo Isla Canela
Barcelo Isla Canela
#2 of 6 in Isla Canela
1,171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ILUNION Islantilla? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ILUNION Islantilla

Address: Avenida Islantilla s/n, 21449 Islantilla, Spain
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Costa de la Luz > Islantilla
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in Islantilla
Price Range: $96 - $537 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — ILUNION Islantilla 3.5*
Number of rooms: 344
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
ILUNION Islantilla is situated on the sea front, next to the Islantilla golf course. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your ILUNION Islantilla reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Confortel Islantilla Hotel Islantilla
Confortel Hotel Islantilla
Islantilla Confortel Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing