We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Taylor-Made B&B
Nearby Hotels
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
MellowOut B&B(Lion's Head)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Fitz Hostel(Lion's Head)
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Reviews (207)
Filter reviews
207 results
Traveller rating
194
12
0
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
194
12
0
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswaffleshot tubbreadbruce trailat homebed and breakfastsitting roomhome madecommon roomstayed nightsperfect hostsgluten freeyour choicestrawberries and whipped creamamazing breakfastother guestscan't wait to go back
Filter
Updating list...
10 - 15 of 207 reviews
Reviewed 23 July 2017

Doug and Diana were extremely kind and welcoming. They were very knowledgeable about the area, giving suggestions for things to do; they helped plan our trips to the Grotto and Flowerpot Island, and suggested some trails in Lion's Head itself. The room was neat and clean, and breakfast was wonderful! Diana was able to accommodate our dietary restrictions (myself vegan and my friend, gluten-free), even making us muffins each morning, in addition to a breakfast of waffles, fruits, and coconut yoghourt. Doug and Diana's kindness was truly beyond what I would expect from a Bed and Breakfast. Overall this was an amazing place to stay and I would recommend this place to anyone visiting the Peninsula.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Shraddha R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doug K, Owner at Taylor-Made B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2017

Hi S. and J.,

You are more than welcome! We pride ourselves on being able to accommodate dietary restrictions. We love to hear feedback on suggestions we have given on things to do on the Bruce, it isn't just about visiting the Grotto. Hope to see you both again!

Warm regards,

Doug and Diana

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2017

My husband and I stayed here recently for 4 nights. The B&B is clean, comfortable and met all our needs and more. Doug and Diana are extremely kind and helpful people and have a good knowledge of the area, which was ready useful to us to help plan our days. Also, Diana's breakfasts were awesome! The homemade yogurt is a must try (I came home with the recipe) I would book here again.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank alison a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doug K, Owner at Taylor-Made B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 20 July 2017

Hi M. and A.,

Thanks for staying with us! Glad you got to enjoy many of the beautiful things to see and do on the Bruce. Hope the rest of your trip has gone well ( Hope the fish were biting on the Mattawa! :) Take care, and hope to see you again soon!

Warm regards,

Doug and Diana

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2017

Doug & Diana are so kind & welcoming, and make the perfect hosts for a getaway to the Bruce Peninsula. The breakfast spread was always great with endless options each morning (choice of pancakes, waffles, or any type of egg; plus daily homemade breads & homemade yogurt). Doug was better than having a guide book - all of his advice on hiking trails and things to do was a 10. We'll definitely be back for another visit.

Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank laurenalana11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doug K, Owner at Taylor-Made B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 20 July 2017

Hi L. and B.,

Very happy you enjoyed your stay. For a relatively small area, there is so much to see and do! You did a lot of the favorite things we like to do! Looking forward to seeing you both again!!!

Warm regards,

Doug and Diana

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2017

This is a jewel of a space- very clean and everything you need is here. The pictures that Doug & Diana has uploaded show the place as it is. While booking we communicated on emails and Doug answered it immediately. We found the place quiet and safe yet close to the harbour & restaurants. Doug & Diana greeted us as soon as we arrived. The provision of milk, coffee, and fruits was a thoughtful and welcome gesture. Doug had suggestions for good hikes along the bruce trail close to light house and also informed us which restaurants are best to dine. From entering the bright hallway of the tastefully decorated house to the delicious breakfast prepared and served by the hosts a most enjoyable experience. Breakfast was served in the dining room and was easily as good as going to a nice hotel for a multi course breakfast. Thanks to Diana for the awesome breakfast, home made bread, jam ,yogurt, cheese omelette with bacon & sausages were heavenly delight. One must visit this place for tasting Diana’s home made cookies and muffins. !! Doug helped us in planning our next day trip to Grotto & suggested us which trail to take and what time to reach there for getting parking slots which worked out perfectly for us.

We would definitely stay here again. Thank you Doug & Di for the great hospitality and wonderful stay.

Cheers
Shardul & Priyanka

Room Tip: Room#5 is Best
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Shardul99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doug K, Owner at Taylor-Made B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 24 June 2017

Thank you S. and P. so much for your kind words, we really enjoyed having you stay with us! Very happy you got into see the Grotto, and other beautiful parts of our local area.
We love to have guests from other parts of the world tell us how much they enjoyed exploring the Bruce Peninsula, it is truly very beautiful here.

Really looking forward to seeing you both again, you were wonderful guests!

Warm regards,

Doug and Di

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2017

I and my son did a road trip in Canada on may 2017 and the stay in Taylor-Made B&B was the best place ever even if during our trip we stay in very famous hotels like Marriot and sheraton.
Doug and Diana are incredible hosts and Diana cooks so well everything you want for your breakfast.
The location is great : a lot of things to do around and it is very closed to Tobermory.
Thanks for all of that !

Room Tip: our room was at ground level and was great but I think every room is nice
  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank AnneFParis_France
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doug K, Owner at Taylor-Made B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2017

Thank you A. and L. for your nice words...we really enjoyed having you stay with us, and very happy you got to enjoy the beautiful sites on the Bruce Peninsula.
It was especially nice to chat about Paris, where you live, and the time I have spent there...it brought back great memories!
Wish you all the best, and we will see each other again, whether here or in Paris!!

Warm regards,

Doug and Diana

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews