We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (3,936)
Filter reviews
3,936 results
Traveller rating
2,212
970
421
203
130
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,212
970
421
203
130
Show reviews that mention
All reviews dreams las mareas beautiful resort preferred club seaside grill pura vida world cafe el patio swim up bar liberia airport zip lining italian restaurant our honeymoon all inclusive resort seafood ocean view an excursion recommend this resort
Filter
Updating list...
1,863 - 1,868 of 3,936 reviews
Reviewed 24 April 2016 via mobile

My husband and I stayed here mid-April for 5 nights, 6 days. Overall, we cannot WAIT to come back someday. Here are our thoughts:

Yes, it is about 1 hour and 45 min from Liberia airport. The extremely negative reviews about the bumpy road are over-dramatic. If you do your homework before you book this trip, you'll know what to expect. We knew there would be an off-beaten path for a short period. I timed it and it was only 10 min of driving on the rocks and gravel. It was bumpy but I honestly was expecting worse. I get car sick easily and had no issues. Our driver was amazing and talked a lot of the time about the history and culture.

The resort itself is beautiful. Monkeys are everywhere. We stayed in a mountain-view room (building 5) and even in the dry season when things weren't lush, it was still beautiful. We had monkeys and birds on our balcony daily. Monkeys were most active between 7-9am since it gets so hot. I actually preferred to stay where we did instead of ocean or pool view because it was quiet and the animals were everywhere in the trees! Building 5 was great because we were close to all the food. Quite a walk to adult pool and beach but worth it. We've seen many negative reviews about all the walking but didn't think it was bad compared to other resorts we've stayed at.

Food was good, what we've experienced at other all-inclusives (aside from Sandals). Breakfast and lunch buffet was good (their waffles are amazing!) Went there for dinner our last night and it was bad. Not much selection at all. Couldn't complain at any other restaurants...all was good. Yes, portion sizes were small at times but by the time we had the 4th or 5th course, it was enough. We are spoiled in America... Room service is great, too...make sure to order breakfast at least once.

Staff was wonderful, always getting us and saying "it's a pleasure!"

Housekeeping had our rooms cleaned every day while we were out and did turn-down service nightly. They did a wonderful job. Everything in fridge was restocked daily, too. We called for extra pillows our first night there and they brought them up within 10 min.

We did the 9am nature hike the hotel offers for free as a daily activity. Our guide, Christian, who also is one of the head entertainment coordinators, was super knowledgeable. The trail they take you on is pretty flat and it's definitely something you can do on your own if you are really wanting to spend time taking in different animals. We saw lots of different birds, howler monkeys and white-faced capuchin monkeys. The white-faced monkeys were just dying for water and our group had a bunch so we poured some in hollowed-out gourds and set our GoPro right in front of the gourd on the ground and they came right up and drank from it. It was pretty neat to see. They encouraged us not to feed the monkeys we saw but to give them water because it's so unbelievably dry and water is hard to find for them. At the resort then, we put water out in a dish on our balcony and that day had 6 of them up there drinking...

We booked our excursion with Alex on the Beach. I did some reading on here before we left and knew that his was the company to book through, not the hotel. Hotel is wayyyy overpriced. We did the Mega Combo excursion (waterfall, horseback ride up to zip lining, authentic Costa Rican lunch, volcanic mud bath and hot springs) and it was pretty awesome. Definitely worth the money and fairly priced in comparison to other excursions we've done in other countries. Juan Carlos was our tour guide that day and we couldn't have had anyone better. Most enthusiastic, knowledgable and helpful guide! He had my camera most of the day and was taking photos for us! If you get him for a tour, you're in for a real treat. Make sure to bring water shoes, tennis shoes, and a towel! Randy and Carlos were the two we booked the tour through on the beach and they were great! We got a 60-min massage on the beach from Randy's wife and her friend ($60/person) and they did an amazing job. We referred a bunch of other people that were in our excursion group the day prior and they said the same! I want to say the 60-min massage at the Spa at the resort was $199/person....absolutely ridiculous. We spoke with a couple who did the resort massage last year and the beach massage w/Randy's wife this year and the beach massage was 10x better. We also rented a jet ski for 30 min through Alex on the beach...we were the only ones in the ocean. Carlos even let us use his GoPro floatation stick while we were out there! Can't say enough about their customer service. Spread the word!

Definitely take a walk down the beach on the left and on the rocks. Take water shoes! So many crabs, mollusks, fish in the little tide pools! We got pretty close to a spider monkey in the trees at the end of the beach one morning, too. Ocean was cool, temperature-wise and we heard daily that people were getting stung by jellyfish and sting-rays. We love to snorkel but didn't attempt this trip-didn't want to get stung and we heard from many that it's not that great in that part of the Pacific. The beach itself is not "ugly" like some other reviewers say. The sand is dark in color making the water appear dark when it's actually clear if you look straight down into it. It's not your typical white sand beach but it's sure beautiful in it's own way!
Nightly sunsets are to die for. Many many picture opportunities.

For those worried about Zika Virus and mosquitoes: My parents wanted us to cancel our trip because they were so worried for us. We went near the end of the dry season and did not see 1 mosquito or get bit at all. Media is blowing it out of proportion in my opinion. We did bring lots of Deet but didn't even end up using it much once we realized they weren't around. Other people said the same thing....hadn't seen one. Not even on our excursion. My mom had a friend who was in Costa Rica a month before us and she got eaten alive. The resort must be taking some extreme measures to avoid mosquitos! That being said, rainy season is starting...

In closing, our trip was awesome and we can't wait to go back during the green season to experience even more abundant life! If you are someone who loves nature and life, wants to make great family memories and have awesome photo opportunities, this place is for you. As we've learned, if you do your homework before you book a trip, you know what to expect and what NOT to expect. Why would you book a trip like this without checking how far of a drive it is from the airport and then get upset when it's long and bumpy at times? Make sure you know if your trip is during their dry or wet season and plan accordingly. Always prepare ahead of time. Thank you Costa Rica, we can't wait to visit again! Pura Vida!

Stayed: April 2016, travelled as a couple
18  Thank Jenna M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Drelm E, E-Concierge at Dreams Las Mareas Costa Rica, responded to this reviewResponded 1 May 2016

Dear guest,

Greetings from Dreams Las Mareas!

On behalf of the staff and Management of our resort we would like to thank you for taking the time to post a review of your experience with us. It was a pleasure being your hosts during your recent gateway to Costa Rica.

Please feel free to come back at any time.

Best regards,

Maripaz Martínez
E-Concierge & Social Media Coordinator
econcierge.drelm@dreamsresorts.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2016

I recently traveled to this resort with my husband and parents for our annual vacation. My husband and I got married at the Dreams in Punta Cana last year so we already knew we liked this brand of resorts.

Before booking we read numerous reviews on Tripadvisor, many of which mentioned the dirt road up the hotel. This is actually not uncommon in Costa Rica. A lot of the municipal roads are not paved, only the main highways which are maintained by the government. It's about 30-40 minutes of unpaved road up to the hotel, as well as the same any time you leave/come back from a tour. It really isn't that bad, anyone who has visited the country side in Canada or the US would have some point driven on the same.

Rooms: All the rooms are brand new and well appointed. All the necesseties were available in the room, including blow dryer, mini fridge, television, safe, wardrobe, and an alarm clock with an iphone charger. The shower has a rain shower head and is stocked with shampoo, conditioner and body wash (replenished as needed).

Food: All the restaurants were good, however overall we preferred the food in Punta Cana.
-The World Cafe has a great pasta station and lunch and dinner (chefs Edgar at lunch and Daniel at dinner, both were great and so friendly!). Breakfast offers multiple egg/omelet stations (which keeps the lines down), a crepe and waffle station, smoothie station, and multiple buffet options.
-El Patio was my husband and father's favourite. Pro tip: order multiples...the serving sizes are small so the men both wanted seconds...and thirds...
-Portofino had many unique pasta dishes. Best desserts of all the restaurants.
-Seaside Grill we went to multiple times, great food and staff, Jimmy was our favourite server here and he doesn't like to say 'no'....so if you're not sure you'll like something, tell the staff and they'll modify it for you.
-Himitsu was ok. Show was nice, food wasn't our favourite, however we have a seafood allergy and the staff went above and beyond to make sure it was accomadated for.

Beach: All the beaches in Costa Rica are public, so Dreams does not have real control over what happens on the beach by the resort. There are many salespeople that hang out by the path down, however a simple 'No, Gracias' is all it takes for them to move on. The beach is more of a hard packed sand, however the walk into the water is clear of rocks and debris so going in barefoot is not a concern.
There are 4 dogs that hang out down on the beach, all super friendly and so happy to get a pet, snack, or sip of water. They even went on a hike with us around the point and back. Very sweet.

Pools: Pools are beautiful with multiple infinity pool edges. The entertainment staff keep everyone occupied with activities. Ronald and Marianne played pool volleyball with us daily, they were so great. No issues getting drinks at the bar. Jonathan at the Manatee swim up bar made the best drinks, I would just tell him what I feel like (ie chocolate) and he'd whip up something delicious.

Activities: We did kayaking and SUP boards in the ocean, shuffle board, and music trivia. The gym was very clean and well equipped.

Spa: Extremely overpriced. First time our group has ever not used the spa at an all inclusive. We were very disappointed. For example, a 50 minute swedish massage would have been approx $250 Canadian. Almost triple what we would pay at home.

Excursions: We did 4 excursions, the Pure Adrenaline Tour, Sensoria, ATV'ing and the Nicaragua Tour. I would highly recommend the first 3 (see my other reviews). I would NOT recommend going to Nicaragua on a day trip. The border currently is being held up by immigrants from Africa and/or Cuba. The Nicaraguan police and military are present in full riot gear, row upon row of them. Our bus wasn't allowed to pass thru so we had to walk on foot right past all of them. Overall travel took over 6 hours that day. Not worth it. Go on a separate trip instead to see the beautiful volcanoes and culture.

Monkeys:
They hang out by the pool during the day........BUT if you get a room in building 3,4 or 5, every morning between sunrise and 730 am....they hang out on the balconies of the rooms hoping to get some fruit from the early risers! Staff do discourage feeding them though...

Overall we had an excellent trip and would highly recommend others visit Costa Rica. It's a beautiful country and the people are all very friendly.

  • Stayed: April 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank Becky S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Drelm E, E-Concierge at Dreams Las Mareas Costa Rica, responded to this reviewResponded 1 May 2016

Dear guest,

Greetings from Dreams Las Mareas!

On behalf of the staff and Management of our resort we would like to thank you for taking the time to post a review of your experience with us. It was a pleasure being your hosts during your recent gateway to Costa Rica.

Please feel free to come back at any time.

Best regards,

Maripaz Martínez
E-Concierge & Social Media Coordinator
econcierge.drelm@dreamsresorts.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2016

We really enjoyed this all inclusive for our honeymoon. The grounds are very well kept, the staff is nice, and our room was excellent. We had the preferred experience so we had private check in and got to take advantage of the VIP lounge. Both were nice.

What is NOT so nice --as soon as you check in someone sits you down and tries to sell you on a vacation club. We only accepted to go to the meeting after being promised a certificate for two free nights. We got it but you have to go through a two hour sales pitch one on one with an agent. Once you say no they pass you off to someone else who makes a last ditch effort to get you to buy. If you are good at saying no and don't mind wasting a little time out of your vacation for some spa credits or a discounted room rate go for it.

Once we made it to our room we saw that it had been decorated for our honeymoon which was very nice. The room was HUGE. We also had a HUGE patio with swim out access. Ours was twice the size of any of our neighbors so I believe we got upgraded.

Housekeeping was great and kept the fridge stocked with soda, beer and juices. They even left liquor and snacks in the room. Anytime we had a request it was fulfilled in a very timely manner.

The grounds were well maintained and the pools were clean. The beach was OK. I understand it is not Caribbean blue water with white sand beaches but for some reason I expected to be a LITTLE more impressed with the beach. I think what took me by surprise is that the beach is public so as soon as you walk off the resort you have people trying to sell you things. It takes away from the relaxation aspect.

**ON A SIDE NOTE: About the sales people on the beach...Although initially I was put off and sketched out about all the random people, here is a bit of advice for excursions. You will find some men on the beach who work for a company called Alex on the Beach. GIVE THEM A CHANCE if you want to go on excursions. They offer the same excursions as the resort, most ANY DAY at amazing rates. I really wanted to go to Nicaragua while I was there. The resort only offers the tour Tuesdays and Thursdays (both days we were in route and could't go). The resort said they could arrange a private tour for 900 something dollars. We talked to Alex on the Beach and he set up an all day private tour that included more activities than the resort for $180 a person. We were driven to the border, went through and met our English speaking guide on the other side. Rodolfo (Nicaraguan tour guide) was incredible. This excursion was the highlight of our ENTIRE honeymoon (and our honeymoon was an amazing trip) and I am glad we did it. The resort tries to scare you away from smaller tour companies. Don't let them.**

The restaurants were all good. Our favorite was the hibachi. We had a wonderful chef and performer. We were disappointed that most everything shut down at 10. I understand dreams is for families but I was really surprised how everything we dark after 10.

Spa: Facilities were nice such as as the pools and relaxation areas. The wet sauna was pretty bad. The massage was probably the worst I've had. Would not recommend.

All in all the resort was great . I give 4 stars and not 5 because the beach is not private, they had annoying sales people trying to sell us stuff 5 minutes after check in, and the food was very good but not always 5 star and the spa was blah.

  • Stayed: April 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Laura E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Drelm E, E-Concierge at Dreams Las Mareas Costa Rica, responded to this reviewResponded 1 May 2016

Dear guest,

Greetings from Dreams Las Mareas!

On behalf of the staff and Management of our resort we would like to thank you for taking the time to post a review of your experience with us. It was a pleasure being your hosts during your recent gateway to Costa Rica.

Please feel free to come back at any time.

Best regards,

Maripaz Martínez
E-Concierge & Social Media Coordinator
econcierge.drelm@dreamsresorts.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2016

We had a great family holiday here. The room was lovely and clean, although the downside is there is only a full length curtain that separates the bedroom and bathroom and the toilet door is frosted glass, so you better know your fellow roomates well. The pool area is lovely and well maintained. Jimmy the pool waiter was fabulous at keeping us well hydrated. All staff here are polite and friendly. I took the advice from another reviewer and we regularly tipped $1 to the pool staff and room cleaners. As with most all inclusive hotels when you're there for any length of time the food becomes a little repetitive, however the breakfast choice was fantastic and we particularly enjoyed the Italian and Asian restaurants.

Stayed: March 2016, travelled with family
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank dylbobs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Drelm E, E-Concierge at Dreams Las Mareas Costa Rica, responded to this reviewResponded 1 May 2016

Dear guest,

Greetings from Dreams Las Mareas!

On behalf of the staff and Management of our resort we would like to thank you for taking the time to post a review of your experience with us. It was a pleasure being your hosts during your recent gateway to Costa Rica.

Please feel free to come back at any time.

Best regards,

Maripaz Martínez
E-Concierge & Social Media Coordinator
econcierge.drelm@dreamsresorts.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2016 via mobile

This place was beautiful and the staff was wonderful. Our beach was quaint and private. We were given a tour of the area and we met the most amazing guy, Ronald Wuchte. He was such an amazing young man. He brought us to a restaurant on outskirts and took extra special care of us. He made our stay very special. The food was great at the lower restaurants and I loved the breakfast. It's a great place to enjoy the spa as well. Recommend: Chocolate massage. ❤️

Stayed: March 2016, travelled on business
Thank Emilina J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Drelm E, E-Concierge at Dreams Las Mareas Costa Rica, responded to this reviewResponded 1 May 2016

Dear guest,

Greetings from Dreams Las Mareas!

On behalf of the staff and Management of our resort we would like to thank you for taking the time to post a review of your experience with us. It was a pleasure being your hosts during your recent gateway to Costa Rica.

Please feel free to come back at any time.

Best regards,

Maripaz Martínez
E-Concierge & Social Media Coordinator
econcierge.drelm@dreamsresorts.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews