We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (89)
Filter reviews
89 results
Traveller rating
27
38
20
3
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
27
38
20
3
1
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 89 reviews
Reviewed 25 October 2017 via mobile

Traveling with a group of 33. Had a formal dinner. They presentation was fantastic. Really enjoyed emerging in Japanese culture, relaxation and food. It was only a brief overnight stay so I can't provide much other detsil. Place is very clean. Sleeping in a traditional style room with Tatami mats, portable mattress and bed cover very comfortable.

Date of stay: October 2017
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank Mike G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
瑠璃光, Reservation clerk at Hatori, responded to this reviewResponded 29 October 2017

Among many other ryokan to choose from, thank you for making Hatori the place.
We are glad you have wonderful memories from your experience with us.
We are incredibly honored that you could enjoy Japanese ryokan culture with the room (sleeping on tatami), banquet meals, and the staff's reception.
We do hope to welcome you back in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2017

It is a boutique onsen hotel. There are not many rooms, but the rooms are well maintained and equipped.
The breakfast and dinner are both good. There are two onsen areas in the hotel, but what a pity that there is no outdoor one. The one claimed to be outdoor is all covered. It is very different from the other outdoor hot spring bath I tried before.
The hotel located close to the main street of Yamashiro Onsen, but there is not much to see and a lot of shops are closed at around four.
During the stay there, we drove to Tojinbo which has got fantastic coastal features. It is only around one hour’s drive from Hatori.

Date of stay: August 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TWHK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
瑠璃光, Reservation clerk at Hatori, responded to this reviewResponded 26 September 2017

Thank you for leaving this review of your recent visit to Rurikoh.We're very pleased that you were able to fully enjoy the rooms and meals and during your stay. We are sincerely sorry that our open air onsen could not satisfy you.Your opinion will help us improve our services.
However we are glad you have wonderful memories from your experience at Tojinbo.
Once again, we thank you for your valuable feedback and we look forward to the opportunity to be of service to you in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2017

The hotel was a lovely place to stay. The front desk staff were great for tourist information. The proximity to restaurants of all types and costs was good. The walk along the gorge and bridges was very tranquil and easy to reach with a bus stop near the hotel.

Room tip: The superior Japanese room was lovely
Date of stay: March 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BruceJ726
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
瑠璃光, Reservation clerk at Hatori, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2017

Thank you for taking time out to share this delightful review.
We are glad you have wonderful memories from your experience with us.
We're very pleased that you were able to fully enjoy the sightseeing around our hotel.
Did you have a good time to relax?
Once again, we thank you for your valuable feedback and we look forward to the opportunity to be of service to you in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2017

We need to have a place to sleep arriving in Kaga at 8pm from Nagoya airport, found this hotel on the internet which looks decent.
Our hotel was a tatami room with three futon beds. Bathroom was small and we had to use the public bathing area which so had cypress beams and tubs. The onsen water was good quality and very well known in the area.
The shocking fact for a room staying only guests was the hotel had no restaurant facility for non full board guests...what? wait a minute, no dinner nor breakfast available to purchase and this is supposed to be one of the 250 five stars hotels in Japan.. can't be.
We were not too happy so we were driven to their sister hotel Rurikoh down the street the next day for breakfasts. At 2000 yen per guests, the breakfast was just average after all that fuss. Not many choices as the entire street was only hotels and hotels and no apparent eatery. Something one has to think about when going to this area.
The hotel is on the old side..need refurbishing badly if it wants to stay competitive, IMHO

Room tip: Go to the sister hotel Rurikoh down the street
Date of stay: December 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank EELSM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
瑠璃光, 予約部 at Hatori, responded to this reviewResponded 9 January 2017

We would like to thank you for your valuable feedback and I am extremely sorry to hear about your disappointment during your recent experience.
We sincerely apologize that your stay did not meet your expectation.
In our hotel, the restaurant is for customers with reservations only. Thank you for your understanding.
However, your opinion will help us improve our services.
We sincerely hope that you will grant us another opportunity in
the future to extend you a better stay experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2016

The hotel is located on a very quiet street in Kagaonsen about 20 minutes drive from the train station. Hotel provides shuttle service to pick up their guests at the station which needs to be arranged in advance. There doesn't seem to have much to do or see outside the hotel but the hotel itself is very nice and huge. There's a club room where guests could enjoy free shows, 2 spas are also free to use. Guest rooms are spacious with Japanese style decor. Overall a very relaxing place to stay.

Date of stay: November 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Mei S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
瑠璃光, Reservation Clerk at Hatori, responded to this reviewResponded 29 November 2016

Thank you for taking time out to share this delightful review.
We are glad you have wonderful memories from your experience with us.
We're very pleased that you were able to fully enjoy the rooms, meals, free shows and onsen during your stay.
Did you enjoy the free gelato and taiko drum show during your stay?
Your kind comments are so much appreciated and we look forward to welcoming you back again hopefully in the not too distant future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews