We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Rurikoh
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ryokan 
Yuzankaku(Kaga)
View Hotel
Ryokan 
Hatori(Kaga)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ryokan 
Wakatsuki(Awara)
View Hotel
Ryokan 
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ryokan 
View Hotel
Ryokan 
View Hotel
Ryokan 
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Koshiso(Kaga)
View Hotel
Reviews (183)
Filter reviews
183 results
Traveller rating
69
69
30
10
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
69
69
30
10
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsprivate tubbeautiful viewpublic onsenonsen hoteljapanese stylesaunashuttlemountainsbalconybathsstationdinnerryokanexperience
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 183 reviews
Reviewed 8 November 2017 via mobile

This was our first stay in a Ryokan. And I was impressed. The staff went to great lengths to support us. The hot springs were fun after you hit used to the routine. Our room was traditional. Very quiet and interesting.

Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Lawrence2300
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
瑠璃光, Reservation clerk at Rurikoh, responded to this reviewResponded 14 November 2017

We really appreciate the time you have taken to share a praising review of Rurikoh.
Among many other ryokan to choose from, thank you for making Rurokoh the place for the first stay in a ryokan.
We are incredibly honored that you could enjoy Japanese ryokan culture with the hot springs, room, banquet meals, and the staff's reception.
Looking forward to welcoming you back to the city in the near future and hope that Rurikoh remains your paramount choice when travelling.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2017

The hotel was cosy and staff were friendly. The onsen, indoor and outdoor, was relaxing. There was also a free foot bath in the small garden outside the hotel lobby. They set up tables in a function room for dinner. The food was tasty but the variety was a bit less than what we had in other traditional Japanese hotels. The breakfast buffet was quite good with specialties from the region. The drum show in the lobby in the evening was entertaining. The hotel offered free wifi but the connection was not particularly good.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank chanalice18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
瑠璃光, Reservation clerk at Rurikoh, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2017

We really appreciate the time you have taken to share a praising review of Rurikoh.
We're very pleased that you were able to fully enjoy the rooms, meals and onsen during your stay.
Your opinion will help us improve our services.
Thank you again for your feedback and we are more than happy to welcome you back if you wish to choose our excellent service again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2017 via mobile

We stayed here based on the good reviews but found it quite disappointing overall. It was clearly out of high season for them so lots of things were closed or didn't run including the nighttime entertainment which was part of our reasoning in booking it. It's not a traditional ryokan, more of a large hotel with traditional rooms. The public baths were very good and a great place to relax. We also had a room with a private onsen which was very nice. The room was excellent and very big with a very comfy futon! Dinning was a disappointment as it turns out you need to book a dinner package (we didn't when booking as we couldn't see what the food would be so decided to order when we got there). When we arrived it turns out everyone was having dinner but us and as we hadn't pre booked then they couldn't accommodate us! We ended up having to wait until 8pm to eat from the snack menu of an empty bar which was a poor experience and the hotel did nothing to help. I had also contacted them in advance about dinning options and was told there were 'lots available' which was rubbish. Breakfast was better and a nice buffet mix including many local specialities which were nice to try. Whilst we had a quiet and relaxed stay here, given the price we paid, we didn't get the experience advertised on their website (Expedia who we booked with should also take responsibility as you shouldn't be able to book a package that doesn't include food). I would advise going for a proper ryokan rather than a large converted hotel type one like this.

Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Jamsimsafc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
瑠璃光, Reservation Clerk at Rurikoh, responded to this reviewResponded 13 July 2017

Thank you for taking the time to share your opinion with other travelers on TripAdvisor.
We are incredibly honored that you could enjoy Japanese ryokan culture with the rooms’ hot springs.
And we are very sorry that our staff did not perform to your expectations and it gave you an unpleasant experience.
We are making improvements with our information of the meals and we appreciate your feedback on this areas.
Once again, we thank you for your valuable feedback and we look forward to see you in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2017

We stayed 3 nights in a Japanese style Deluxe room with open-air bath. It was perfect ending to our 21 day trip visiting 11 cities from Tokyo all the way down to Kogoshima. Our room was huge and the open air bath so relaxing and refreshing. The staff and shuttle drivers were very helpful and kind.

Room Tip: Choose the Japanese style deluxe room with open-air bath
  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TheOjiisan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
瑠璃光, Reservation Clerk at Rurikoh, responded to this reviewResponded 17 May 2017

We really appreciate the time you have taken to share a praising review of Rurikoh.
It was truly pleasing to read that you have enjoyed your stay at Rurikoh and that your expectations were exceeded.
Did you enjoy the free sweet and taiko drum show during your stay?
Your kind comments are so much appreciated and we look forward to welcoming you back again hopefully in the not too distant future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2017

My wife and I visited for our honeymoon during the last few days in the area. Our visit was during the week so at times it felt like we had the whole place to ourselves. I really can't complain about that. We were super impressed by the room we got. It was beautiful, spacious and had a private tub on the balcony where you can catch a glimpse of the mountains. Lucky for us we also caught some snowfall so our view was really breathtaking. It was extremely romantic.

The public baths in the ryokan were beautiful, clean and fairly large. Both the men's and woman's spas had one large indoor bath and one smaller but still fairly large outdoor bath + and sauna. The body products that they had to offer at the baths were also great. It's not often that Shiseido products are just up for grabs

The breakfast buffett was nothing too impressive but was a good addition to our stay.

  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Terry S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
瑠璃光, Reservation clerk at Rurikoh, responded to this reviewResponded 30 January 2017

Among many other ryokan to choose from, thank you for making Rurokoh the place to celebrate your honeymoon.
And thank you for taking time out to share this delightful review.
We are glad you have wonderful memories from your experience with us.
Did you have a good time to relax?
Your kind comments are so much appreciated and we look forward to welcoming you and your wife back again hopefully in the not too distant future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews