We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (53)
Filter reviews
53 results
Traveller rating
16
17
5
3
12
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
16
17
5
3
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsachill islandbrilliant musicbeautiful beachviewsdoorstep
Filter
Updating list...
15 - 20 of 53 reviews
Reviewed 7 January 2015

Myself and my elderly parents decided to stay in this hotel for a few days for new year and we had a great time! When we arrived on new years eve we got a great welcome from the manager Victor and offered a well needed drink by the open fire which was blazing on a nasty wet and cold day outside so after a 320 km drive from Dublin this was what was needed to rest the weary bones.
After a rest we went to our rooms which were spotless clean and a nice bed and bedding and always usefull a kettle for tea and coffee,bathroom was fine with clean towels and plenty of hot water,best thing of all was the view from the room which was stunning overlooking the beach and village.
when we came back down things were getting busy for the new years celebrations which were going to take place that night ,despite being run off their feet getting everything ready for the party buffet the kitchen still had time to get us a meal which went down very well and helped get us ready for the night of beer and craic ahead,the bar that night was full with tourists and locals alike and everybody was very friendly and had a good time tapping along to the live band,so all in all a great night!
The strand hotel is not a 4-5 star hotel its a family run hotel where the guests are made feel part of the family and if your very fussy maybe you can look elsewhere for decor etc but for charm and being made feel at home by a wonderfull host Victor and his wife Shiela well this is the place for you!

  • Stayed: January 2015, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank johnyturk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2014

A big thanks to my local butcher who told me about this hotel.A room with a view, and a hotel run by Vic and his team,who clearly know the business.
The welcome was great, as was the food
Pointlessly clean
A great place to stay in a beautiful spot

Room Tip: Get a sea view
  • Stayed: September 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank nigel p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2014 via mobile

Stayed for one night whilst visiting Achill Island and this is a lovely location.

Hotel is a little past its prime but the view the welcome and food makes up for it. Rooms are clean smaller rooms at the front have great views of the beach

We were the only guests that night and we were well looked after food was good and good value.

Owners terrier Peppy gave us a great welcome and came for a walk on the beach with us

Stayed: September 2014, travelled as a couple
3  Thank edwmagee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2014

We happened upon the Strand one evening and were immediately made to feel at home. Victor became our guide for the evening, happily engaging us in conversation, sharing stories about Achill and telling us about upcoming events and also making us aware that we had arrived in time for the Heinrich Boll Memorial Weekend. We had no idea who Mr Boll was but Victor not only educated us he invited us along to the launch the following night.

The following night we made our way to the sleepy Strand hotel again. We were shocked. The sleepy relaxed gem had been transformed into quite a social gathering and launch. The hotel was bursting at the seams. Standing too. Only and not one but two trad bands playing simultaneously in the same space, each playing their own different styles whilst guests set danced haphazardly whilst fresh sea food was served to all and sundry.

It was absolutely brilliant. Again Victor, although rushed off his feet in an Oscar winning performance as the worlds most amazing host, made time to say hello and ensure we were catered for.

It might seem like a sleepy places but you won't find warmer on the island.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
3  Thank helenam8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2014

We visited the strand hotel in Mid September and would definitely make a return visit. The food we had during our stay was excellent and the hotel was spotlessly clean. One night we had live music from a band of local musicians , the craic was good and there was a roaring peat fire even though it was still mild outside. The bar is frequented by the locals which is always a good sign and the staff were attentive.

Room Tip: A room with a view over Silver Strand beach will add to your enjoyment
  • Stayed: September 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Glenn H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews