We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotels.com
Booking.com
eDreams
Priceline
FindHotel
Etrip
View all 12 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (211)
Filter reviews
211 results
Traveller rating
135
64
6
3
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
135
64
6
3
3
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 211 reviews
Reviewed 13 July 2019

The food was excellent
It was fullly booked but they found a way to find a table with. 10minutes at the bar

We had steak and burger
For each plate they propose a specific wine. Excellent selection

The dessert ‘go for chocolate ‘ was sublime....

Thanks

Date of stay: July 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Location
    • Service
Thank VincentBE5
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 17 May 2019

Never expect it to happen but here it is. 5 out of 5.
We stayed with our family (3 rooms) in the hotel and enjoyed breakfast, lunch dinner and pleasefull drinks.
All was good but in summary:
- New large comfy rooms with great shower
- Fantastic breakfast served at your table with sufficient variety to enjoy breakfast
- Lunch, dinner was of same quality
All served with a genuine smile by yhe entire staff.

Thanks for making our family weekend a terific event

Room tip: At street side some extra noise can be expected but not to an extend that it becomes bothersome
Date of stay: May 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank AdB43
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 16 September 2018 via mobile

Our first time on Texel and we picked De Smulpot for our 4 night's stay. Couldn't have been better. It's a restaurant with about 8 beautiful new rooms on top. Entrance is at the back of the restaurant, and as we arrived quite late, it was a bit odd to squeeze through that very busy place with our luggage. But no-one cared and it seemed normal. We had a room on the 2nd floor, and once you've passed the 2 flights of stairs, you enter your sanctuary. We had a lovely, beautiful modern room, great bathroom, all generous size, and spotlessly clean. Our friend's room looked very similar. There is a mini bar with water and a bottle of wine for free, tee/coffee making facility and a safe. We had the windows to the church side, and yes, some days the bells ring even at night, but we slept so well in our huge comfy bed, it didn't bother us. We ate twice at De Smulpot restaurant and the foid was excellent. Breakfast is awe some here: it's all presented on the table for each group or couple, so as we were 4, we had a big table and heaps of food. They bring freshly made fried eggs or ham and egg cooked in a muffin mould, freshly squeezed orange juice, smoothie and yoghurt with berries and a fruit skewer. Staff is awesome and super friendly and the location is perfect in the middle of Den Burg. We parked our car near the tennis place, 5min away on foot. That's free parking and we had the e-vignette anyway. We will come back here. Texel is beautiful and De Smulpot is great

Date of stay: September 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Ikat58
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 16 August 2017

The 7 bedrooms are accessed via a door at the back of the pub which was not ideal but fine. The pub food was excellent and we would have eaten there more often but after we had eaten the only two vegetarian meals we just felt the need for a change. BUT these are the only negatives - the room was a brilliant size, modern clean and well designed,(the bed, a super-king, was very comfortable) and the air conditioning unit worked, the staff were very efficient, friendly, and very helpful and during our stay we couldn't fault the staff or the way they had organised everything. Position of hotel was brilliant for exploring Texel and Den Burg itself has a good selection of shops and restaurants and bars.

Room tip: Rooms at the back of the hotel have a less nice view but are further away from the church bell at the front!
Date of stay: August 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank 920sallyr
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 11 August 2017 via mobile

This was our first time on Texel and we went to celebrate my birthday. We both loved the hotel and Dave the manager was friendly and very helpful. It's a lovely small hotel, the bedrooms are clean and spacious. The restaurant was very good. We are only knocking a star off because of the church bells ! Not the hotel's fault BUT they did chime throughout the night ! And it's right opposite . Next time we visit we will bring earplugs . Apart from that it was a lovely 3 night break . Den Burg is a lovely town with great character and atmosphere. Thank you to Dave and all his staff for a brilliant stay . Look forward to our return !

Date of stay: July 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank 460kevinp
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews