We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (11)
Filter reviews
11 results
Traveller rating
6
5
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
6
5
0
0
0
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 11 reviews
Reviewed 9 September 2013

Francita is a very hard working and friendly host who went a very long way in helping our stay on Texel to be as charming as it was, which was very charming indeed! Strooppot is a lovely old farmhouse that has been very tastefully modernised. There is even an old folk tale attached!! Ask Francita about it ;-). All the rooms are a good size and we especially liked ours (in the loft). It is a 7 minute cycle ride into Den Burg and 13 from Paal 17 beach (recommended). We rented our bikes at the Texel ferry terminal and it took us 30 minutes to cycle there. It is a great base to explore the whole island. The breakfast is substantial and our stay was very good value, if we came back to Texel we would stay here.

Date of stay: September 2013
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shermer75
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 7 September 2013

De Strooppot is an old farmhouse about 2km outside Den Burg, the principal town on Texel in the centre of the island. The owner (Francita Bruin) welcomed us with when we arrived with tea in the garden. The rooms are clean and comfortable. We stored our bicycles in the barn. Francita briefed us on what to do for our 2 days on Texel and had plenty of maps and information. Breakfast was very good with boiled eggs, bread, ham, cheese etc. The house is extremely quiet. We thoroughly enjoyed our time at De Strooppot and Texel.

Room tip: Francita has three rooms - all are good. One has it's own bathroom, the others share one.
Date of stay: August 2013
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Englishmanonholiday
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 June 2013

We stayed two nights in The Stroopot and had an extremely relaxing and enjoyable stay. We, ourselves, run a B & B in England and found a generally lower standard of room facilities ithroughout Holland. This is reflected in the price, though, which tended to be lower than in the UK. That said, The Stroopot had the best we encountered on our cycle tour. The room was large and the bed firm and very comfortable. The bathroom had a shower and a large bath, with plenty of hot water, perfect for relaxing in after a day on the saddle. Mrs Brown was very helpful and informative and provided a very tasty and generous breakfast. She even supplied us with bags to pack the uneaten rolls for a picnic lunch.

One slight drawback might be the distance from the town centre, only five minutes or so on a bike, but a fair old walk to the nearest restaurant.

The Stroopot proved to be an ideal base for exploring the beautiful island of Texel, and we would not hesitate to stay there again.

The history and Saga of The Stroopot was fascinating and worth a read on Google.

Try it.

Date of stay: May 2013
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cliffey
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 10 February 2010

We experienced a very friendly and helpful service. The room was simple, spacious and clean. The location is well suited if you are looking to explore Texel. It is close to the main bus link from the Texel Ferry which is 5 minutes walk away at zijstraat 12. Having said that probably the best way to get around the island is by bike, but the only close by (within walking distance) bike rental place gave us a different service in contrast to our accommodation. We were maybe partly to blame as we pre-emailed and stated that we would pick up our bikes at 10.30. We were delayed and only showed up at 13.00. However, we did not realise that this would be a problem until we arrived. The proprietor told us that he was too busy to assist us and we would need to wait for at least half an hour. We were the only clients in the place and the sign on the rental building clearly stated "open till 18.00." We decided not to hire the bikes in the end. We would advise you to consider this when planning your trip.

Date of stay: February 2010
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VayeniTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 30 June 2009

Full disclosure -- we wrote the first review for the Strooppot from summer 2008. We returned this year with our two young children and with their grandmother and aunt. This time we (the six of us) stayed in two rooms in the main house with a shared bath (each room had its own sink, though). These rooms are cozy and positively immaculate, and Francita's hospitality simply cannot be beat. She made us feel so welcome in the home and garden, and provided ample breakfast with rolls, eggs, cheese, meats, coffee, juice, breads, etc. The Strooppot is not the place to go if you insist on typical US amenities like cable TV but it is a _wonderful_ place to go if you wish to just enjoy the peaceful coastal atmosphere. A great place to unwind. She was also simply lovely with the children. (There were a number there that weekend). She can also provide nice recommendations for restaurants and activities on Texel.

Date of stay: May 2009
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank blue_kazoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews