We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Expensive ”
Review of Hove Place

Hove Place
Ranked #40 of 339 Restaurants in Hove
Price range: US$13 - US$26
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Hove Place is a stylish 'Bistro' pub, hidden at basement level at the top of First Avenue, just off Church Road. Renowned for a relaxed atmosphere Hove Place has earned a fantastic reputation for its excellent food and great service. The intriguing Bistro menu in particular is extremely popular with customers looking for a more restaurant style meal and for those prepared to try something a bit different. Hove Place is also at the forefront when it comes to the current trend of locally sourced produce with its Deli Board menu showcasing an array of meats and cheese (amongst other tasty bar snacks), with many of them coming from the Sussex area. Hugely popular in the summer months due to the fabulous large rear gardens the pub is also has a constant buzz throughout the year with customers enjoying the interesting dishes on offer as well as a top selection of wines and real ales.
Reviewed 2 August 2018 via mobile

Nice to sit outside but it is pricey but old school in style. Staff friendly and clean and decor very trad pub. Food available and service was reasonable. Nice with friends.

Date of visit: August 2018
Thank Ultimate007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gavin K, Manager at Hove Place, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2018

Thank you for taking the time to review Hove Place. We're glad you enjoyed your time and hope to see you again soon.


Thank you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (434)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

32 - 36 of 434 reviews

Reviewed 29 July 2018 via mobile

Arrived as a walk in with my partner & 2 dogs, staff were super friendly & accommodating.
Although it was busy inside and we hadn’t booked in advance, the staff found us a table & we ordered two roasts, I had the topside which is cooked how you choose which was delicious- but he had the wagyu beef which was insanely good - also cooked as you choose. Major beef envy on my part.
First time we’ve been in, and will definitely be back - the food we had was great and priced fairly.

Date of visit: July 2018
Thank mer2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gavin K, Manager at Hove Place, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2018

I'm so glad you enjoyed your experience at Hove place! It was a pleasure to have you and please come again soon.

Thank you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2018

First impressions were good - it looks nice from the outside and the pub and gardens are very pleasant. From then, not so good - it is clearly very understaffed: we had made a booking but noone knew about it (as previous reviewer experienced), and the waiting staff didn't exactly help (or have time to help?) so it was a DIY service - had to find our own table, get a menu from indoors, find cutlery outdoors etc.
The food sounded good and we both ordered 'artisanal' baguettes with an autumn salad (= lots of pumpkin seeds) for a tenner. The pork baguette was pronounced very good, but my smoked ham hock and cheddar with beer mustard, which sounded nice, was toasted so it was an unctuous mixture of mustard, cheese and ham (in order of quantity) - not really what I wanted on a very hot day. I think the artisanal part of it was the thick, wet, hot slices of cucumber that someone must have thought was a good idea to put in the baguette. Has anybody ever tried to push hot cucumber wedges in baguettes to the public before now? I think not. I did tell the waiter who took the plates that this was an unpleasant addition to the baguette but he told me noone else had complained about it. That's the level of service you can expect at Hove Place. It trades on a lovely garden and a hit and miss (and very pricey) menu, but don't expect helpful or friendly service - it isn't part of the deal.

Date of visit: July 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank RupertShortt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gavin K, Manager at Hove Place, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2018

Sorry to hear that your time at Hove Place was not up to scratch. We take pride if providing helpful and friendly service; we are sorry you didn't experience this during your visit the other day. Rest assorted we will speak to the staff and make sure this doesn't happen again. Thank you for taking the time to leave a review and hopefully we'll see you soon and change your mind about Hove Place.

Cheers

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2018

Visited with work. First time in Brighton I've seen a round of three beers and three wines being over £50. As nice as it is there, it is ridiculously expensive. £10 for wine. Either it is a rip-off or the staff are over-charging. Just check your bill or receipt each time to be sure.

Date of visit: July 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank stu_uk100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gavin K, Manager at Hove Place, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2018

Thank you for reviewing your time at Hove Place, We are sorry that the experience wasn't right on this day,We have looked at our menu, and there is no combination of 3 beers and 3 wines that would warrant a receipt over £45. If you still have your receipt, pop in and we will remedy this situation for you.

Hope to see you again soon,

Many thanks

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2018 via mobile

Was there with my partner and friend. All I can say they have one of the best gardens and amazing burgers. Only cheese was little too much, but still very nice.

Date of visit: June 2018
Thank kristine30nestecka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Hove Place also viewed

Brighton, Brighton and Hove
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
 
Hove, Brighton and Hove
Hove, Brighton and Hove
 
Hove, Brighton and Hove
Hove, Brighton and Hove
 

Been to Hove Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing