We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
US$139
View deal
Booking.com
Hotels.com
Orbitz.com
Expedia.comUS$139
Priceline
View all 11 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Reviews (1,324)
Filter reviews
1,324 results
Traveller rating
580
445
174
75
50
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
580
445
174
75
50
Show reviews that mention
All reviews main building four poster bed afternoon tea stratford upon avon coach house salford hall steeped in history old building lovely old hotel scones bar menu full english steak lovely setting bar area both nights very pleasant stay
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
9 - 14 of 1,324 reviews
Reviewed 12 May 2022 via mobile

Me and my Husband had our wedding reception at Salford hall and it went brilliantly, all staff were friendly and wanting to help. 10/10 would recommend having your wedding reception here as you won’t be disappointed! absolutely gorgeous hotel.

Date of stay: May 2022
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank X8530WNmorganB
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karma Odyssey, Owner at Karma Salford Hall, responded to this reviewResponded 17 May 2022

Dear X8530WNmorganB,
Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback and for choosing our retreat to host your wedding reception - it was our pleasure!
We're delighted your day was memorable and special, please come back soon for an Evesham escape.
Kind regards,
Karma Salford Hall team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2022

Booked two nights, through Secret Escapes.

Most of the staff, were very pleasant (particularly the receptionists and the smaller/more rounded man in the breakfast area.

The property has some interesting history and the complimentary brochure that was handed to us upon arrival, was excellent!

Evening meal Friday night, was disappointing. I had the ribeye which was poor value for £32. My wife had the Plaice which was full of bones.
Nobody asked us if everything was ok?

Saturday night we were placed in the conservatory (my request due to a wedding function) and the food was very, very good.

We were asked if all was ok and we responded in the affirmative.

Ambience was sadly ruined by some children (wedding) running in and out of the building.

They certainly had a great time (I was young once, so I swallowed it without making a fuss)

Breakfast on Saturday morning was exceptional, on Sunday it was just OK.

The Superior room provided (courtyard) had an excellent view of the main building, but was incredibly stuffy on Friday night.
However, importantly, it was clean and quiet.

Walls of the room very thin and even though our neighbours were very respectful when they got in on Saturday night, you could hear all of their conversations.

Annoying observations-
Only one normal tea bag on Friday night (two green tea bags were an option) , we had two on the Saturday after the room had been cleaned.

A number of biscuits/nuts etc were placed by the TV but these were all chargeable.

10% service charge applied to food bill.

Music too loud in the restaurant.

This could be a fantastic place, as the scenery/countryside nearby was very good.

Would we return, sadly No, as we did not feel that we got value for our money.

Date of stay: May 2022
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TheAssessor
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karma Odyssey, Owner at Karma Salford Hall, responded to this reviewResponded 10 May 2022

Dear 'The Assessor',
Thank you for taking the time to provide a thorough review. We're sorry to hear that your stay didn't reach certain expectations, our hotel and head chef are in fact voted in The Food Awards England 2022 for the 'Hotel Restaurant of the Year' category!
Your concerns are well noted and will be reviewed with management, unfortunately, certain aspects like the 'thin walls' can't be changed in our 700-year-old building without ruining history.
We hope you change your mind and decide to visit again so we can show you a 5-star experience.
Kind regards,
Karma Salford Hall team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2022

We booked this stay to meet up with old friends we had not seen for nearly five years. We took up the offer to upgrade our rooms to the superior rooms in the courtyard and were very pleased with the accommodation. The rooms were clean, the bed linen excellent quality, as were the towels and bath robes. Just a small point-there was no toilet brush in the bathroom, which is rather odd.

Our room adjoined our friends' and we did find the walls rather thin! Conversation and general sounds could easily be heard. We accept it is a very old property, which has great charm and an interesting history.

We found all the staff friendly, helpful and efficient.

Dinner on both nights was good-some things exceptional, others acceptable, so we were quite happy. The service was excellent as was the ambience.

Breakfast was good, with the same level of good service.

Reception were always polite and helpful, which is why I cannot understand what happened when we returned home. This is the reason for my review title.....

Within a short time of arriving back home, I received an e mail which went as follows:

We hope you enjoyed your stay at Karma Salford Hall.

Furthermore, just to let you know we have been made aware that you consumed some snacks from the basket in your room (totalling £3.50) and asking me to get in touch.

This made me feel like an absolute criminal. Yes, we had consumed those snacks and hadn't noticed they were not included in the final bill-two biscuits and a packet of peanuts. On telephoning reception, they said that housekeeping had forgotten to record this. I explained how the tone of the e mail had made me feel and insisted on paying the £3.50 by credit card.This is poor customer service and should never have happened.

Quite honestly, I have never come across a good hotel that provides tea and and coffee making facilities and no complementary biscuits anyway!

What had been a lovely two days away with old friends was totally ruined.

Date of stay: May 2022
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Royalblue50
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karma Odyssey, Owner at Karma Salford Hall, responded to this reviewResponded 6 May 2022

Hi 'Royalblue50',
Thank you for taking the time to provide thorough feedback, we're pleased you enjoyed your stay up until receiving the email.
We're sincerely sorry that you felt that way and can assure you it wasn't our intention to cause such a disappointment. This is our normal procedure as a hotelier to charge for additional food and beverage available in the bedrooms, on the occasion that a guest hasn't paid we do have to follow it up with them directly, regardless of the amount. However, your concerns are well-noted with management and will be taken into consideration going forward.
Kind regards,
Karma Salford Hall team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2022

We stayed at Karma Salford Hall over Christmas and New Year. What a time we had!
The atmosphere in the hotel is amazing, with stone fireplaces, priest holes, 15th century murals, antique furniture, wood panelled walls, beams in the ceiling and creaky floors. The rooms in the main house are all different, some with 4 poster beds. They are all very comfortable, but some are larger than others.
The staff are very helpful and friendly and organise events for guests such as a quiz night every Sunday. We joined a cocktail making masterclass.
The restaurant serves delicious, fine dining meals & you'll want to sample everything on the menu.
The hotel has a library which includes records, a hifi system and a jukebox. There is also a games room with a full size snooker table, dart board, table football and many other games.
The hotel has dog friendly rooms and is in a great location for country walks and access to the lovely Cotswold towns and villages.

Date of stay: December 2021
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John W
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karma Odyssey, Owner at Karma Salford Hall, responded to this reviewResponded 10 May 2022

Dear John W,
What a quintessential Christmas it sounded, we're pleased we could host you at such a special time of year!
Your feedback is greatly appreciated and we hope to welcome you back again for more Evesham fun, perhaps this time whilst the sun is shining?
Kind regards,
Karma Salford Hall team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2022

The staff are very willing. Their attitude was great and they appeared hard working, specifically front of house in the restaurant. The grounds are very picturesque and money appears to be being spent on upgrades to them (tennis court currently out of action). However, we had a few items which didn't work for us.

We stayed in a superior room in the historic courtyard buildings. These have low ceilings and paper thin walls (conversations can be heard, and dog barking in adjacent rooms is clear). The historic features are lovely but come with modern compromises such as the height of the shower. The room was clean but the shower taps had missing buttons (snapped off?), the floor tiles were cracked and the vanity unit doors chipped. Those weren't historic features.

In the restaurant we were treated to "Come on Eileen" and other upbeat music over breakfast. It was an odd and often loud playlist. The food was fine but not worth a trip in our opinion. For example, our poached eggs were hard and the asparagus was very overcooked. I didn't have the heart to complain because the staff were trying so hard.

Date of stay: April 2022
Thank clairegeorge01
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General Manager Karma Salford Hall, General Manager at Karma Salford Hall, responded to this reviewResponded 27 April 2022

Dear Ms George,

Thank you so much for your feedback regarding your stay at Karma Salford Hall. While we do strive for perfection we appreciate that there are times when this is not 100% achieved.
I will be personally addressing all the concerns that you have raised above and assure you that where possible this will be rectified.
I do want to thank you for the kind words regarding the staff.

Kind Regards
Adrian WIllmers

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews