We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hurb
Destinia.com
StayForLong
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
View all 14 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (307)
Filter reviews
307 results
Traveller rating
216
75
10
2
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
216
75
10
2
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviews archie the dog drawing room cinnamon toast huge bathroom tree lined drive stately home quiet surroundings star of the show dining room great shower enjoyed our stay minute drive wonderful stay warm welcome food was fantastic three nights aviemore area
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 307 reviews
Reviewed 10 October 2021

I stayed at the Dalrachney Lodge together with 4 other members of a foto group hunting for photos in East Scotland. We enjoyed one week in big, every clean rooms, very satisfying breakfast selections and the two great hosts Trixie and Gordon, and - not to forget - Archie, the Dog. I felt very welcome in the lodge.

Date of stay: October 2021
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank UlrikeReich
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 16 August 2021 via mobile

Very traditional and special, with very lovely and accommodating staff. Nothing was too much trouble and we were made to feel so welcome.
There was one glitch, we booked a room with a bath via booking.com and we arrived to a smaller room with a shower. We were immediately moved to a larger room with gorgeous views, a HUGE bathroom with a stunning Victorian style bath and river views (room 9 - highly recommend!)
We were chilly on arrival after three nights of wild camping and were brought a heater. The bed was enormous and so comfortable and the breakfast was fantastic.
Though there was no evening meal available we were recommended the Cairn Hotel, just 5 mins walk and had the loveliest food and drinks. Highly recommend the Haggis Lasagne!
There is only one small thing I think could be improved, a little bit of music in the dining room and bar area. I appreciate it isn’t a party place, but complete silence can feel a bit formal. Even just the local radio on quietly during breakfast would make for a slightly more relaxed environment. But that’s no great shakes! Love the place, will definitely be back and will recommend to friends and family.
I would advise calling and booking directly with the lovely owners rather than through booking.com

Date of stay: August 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank mrsmears-reynolds
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 11 August 2021

Last minute booking and hadn’t really carried out research as just happy to find a place to stay.

Happily no need to.Beautiful place,with all requirements met.

Owners are lovely and couldn’t do enough for us.

Will definitely return.

Breakfast will meet all your expectations.

Date of stay: August 2021
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Martin G
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 31 July 2021 via mobile

My friend and I arrived at the Dalrachney as part of our ‘Scottish Staycation’ for 4 nights and our stay couldn’t have been more wonderful. We had a bad experience at a hotel in the Boat of Garten due to an issue with our room and will be forever grateful to the Dalrachney Lodge for coming to our rescue! What a jewel in Carrbridge’s crown!

We were greeted on arrived by Gordon who owns the hotel and the hotel dog Archie, a delightful spaniel who loves nothing more than a belly rub and being made a fuss over! We were introduced to Gordon’s wife Trixie and given a run down of essential topics such as breakfast, housekeeping, keys to the front door etc. We actually felt like we were staying with friends as opposed to being customers as Gordon & Trixie are so warm and friendly and love a chat. All covid procedures were adhered to with mask wearing and hand sanitising and we were given the option of having our room serviced or not (our room had a quick ‘tidy up’ with fresh sheets mid way during the week). The front door is locked around 9/10pm so you have a key or a pass code to allow yourselves back in if you arrive after this time.

Our room was absolutely immaculate - so clean and the bed was the most comfortable thing ever…much appreciated after a busy day of outdoor activities! The bathroom was beautiful with a brilliant shower and we loved all the individual toiletries. The Dalrachney doesn’t provide dinner but Gordon recommended the Cairn Pub in the village which is a 3 minute walk along the road (they don’t take bookings just now but we got in no problem) - the food was fantastic and we loved it so much that we went twice during our visit. The Dalrachney is a 10 minute drive from Aviemore and is also super handy for Landmark Adventure Park although I believe they don’t take children under 8 which is understandable to keep things peaceful and quiet.

For breakfast a menu option list with preferred breakfast times is left in your room each day which you hand into reception. The fruit selection of strawberries, blueberries, raspberries and blackberries fresh from a farm in Nairn is absolutely to die for! I especially loved the scrambled eggs and smoked salmon whilst my friend raved about the cinnamon toast, bacon and maple syrup. A good selection of cereals and yoghurt are available as well as toast, juices, tea & coffee and a cooked breakfast to order if you wished. We were fed for the day for sure!

The lodge is set in beautiful grounds along a gravel lined drive next to the river with large gardens out the back. There is also some outdoor seating with a table and 4 chairs if the weather obliges! The lodge has a beautiful traditional drawing room with books and magazines to relax in as well as a range of Scottish guidebooks & maps which we made use of during our stay to plan our week. Thanks to Gordon and Trixie for their great tips for our day trip to Inverness! There is also a bar if you wish to have some drinks.

The wi fi wasn’t brilliant but to be honest we’ve come to accept that this seems to be a regular feature throughout the Highlands and we weren’t bothered by it as we enjoyed the digital detox! We loved how traditional the lodge is with the tartan carpets, wooden staircase and historical wall art…lots of character in abundance!

Of course before we left we just had to get a photo with Archie - the star of the show! I’m not really a dog or animal person but trust me, this wee dog will win your heart. So well trained, affectionate & intelligent. He was lying by the staircase every morning to greet us before breakfast, a lovely touch. We were amazed by his self discipline of not wandering into the dining room every morning during breakfast as those delicious food smells must be tempting for a wee dog!

We were sad to leave as we loved every minute of our stay - will be returning on our next trip to the Highlands for sure! Gordon & Trixie absolutely excel themselves and should be very proud of the service they provide…this is hospitality done right! So treat yourselves the next time you are visiting the Aviemore area and book into the Dalrachney Lodge for a lovely relaxing time away - you won’t be disappointed! Grateful thanks for a superb stay and it hopefully won’t be long before we see you again :)

Room tip: Parking in large drive way Key/passcode for main door Friendly hotel dog! Fantastic breakfast 5 minutes from Landmark
Date of stay: July 2021
Trip type: Travelled with friends
2  Thank ClaireBear1869
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 7 June 2021

This is such a relaxing place to stay with a touch of grandeur. The tree lined drive, the gurgling river or the sun streaming across the lawns at the back in the early morning all add to the effect. The rooms are fitted out to a very high standard and as for the lounge, it was like sitting in a National Trust property but much more comfortable.
The breakfasts were excellent and Gordon and Trixie were very welcoming and attentive. Even Archie the dog mans the reception sometimes (better than a bell). Highly recommended but if you fancy a stay, do book soon because the owners are hoping to relocate south, nearer family.

Date of stay: June 2021
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank chrcooper
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews