We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Club Lyda Hotel(Kato Gouves)
US$128
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Free cancellation until 22/07
US$247
US$208
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$344
US$182
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$177
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$491
US$476
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hara Ilios Hotel(Kato Gouves)(Great Value!)
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Artemis Apartments(Kato Gouves)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Villa Marie Kelly(Kato Gouves)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
The Island Hotel(Kato Gouves)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (225)
Filter reviews
225 results
Traveller rating
94
59
40
18
14
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
94
59
40
18
14
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspool barair condifferent culturesdecent showertoastiesrooms are basicevening barmanminute walkhot dog sausagessaladbeach minsvery nice staycertain timesgreat holidaystudio apartmentthe pool area is cleanall inclusive food
Filter
Updating list...
34 - 39 of 225 reviews
Reviewed 11 October 2016

I agree with Gary A who wrote a review and all he says is true. We arrived late at night and were shown to our room by the barman and told to check in in the morning as reception is only open till 3pm. Room basic and dated. Original 70's shabby chic comes to mind. We had a family room that gave us plenty of space. Beds comfortable. Air con had no remote. Fridge iced up. Curtain pole fell off when we closed the curtains. Shower had a plastic curtain that fell outside of the 2 ft tray so was totally useless. Loo cistern broken and loo paper had to go in a bin not down the loo. This is normal for Greece. On the plus side we were left a bottle of wine as it was my husbands birthday. There were plenty of coat hangers and extra duvet and pillows. The restaurant is run by Maria who is a lovely lady. My husband is a vegetarian and every day a special meal was cooked for him and bought to the table. That was a lovely tough. Everyone else, including me had to get their own as its buffet style. We were all inclusive but the only spirits included were Raki, Ouzo and local brandy. None of which I like. The hotel is family run and every day the mother would have a walk round. Her daughter Maria was on reception. Gouves is on the flight path and every evening planes were coming in about every 5 minutes but you get used to them. We got woken daily by cocks crowing at dawn and dogs barking, traffic and the bin men. We asked for a picnic one day and it was sliced white bread (yuk) with processed ham and cheese, a chocolate croissant, an orange and water. Why don't they include a couple of the lovely cheese pastry's that are at breakfast or bread rolls .Don't hire a car from 'smart cars' down the road as he doesn't take cards. Cash only. Ask the barman . He knows a good car hire. Go to Spinalonga, its well worth the trip as is Rethymnon which is very pretty.

  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
3  Thank leegoffin54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2016

I will give a review based on a down to earth person with a lot of holiday experience. Firstly on arrival met by the bar man Rimi who was helpful and polite and turned out to be a top barmen who also worked hard as hotel handyman, shown to our room that on first view was just about basic, light out, no control over air con, shower with a clinging curtain and a floor that floods when you shower, 2 balcony doors that looked as though they had been forced open at some time and not secure, glass broken in door. The worrying thing was when we were told this was the best room.Check in with Lia who was great, what an energetic helpful receptionist, then Maria in the dining room again a wonderful cheerful lady also very helpful, pool a bit small but adequate the usual cold pool that once your in the pool is ok its just the getting in lol, plenty of sunbeds. there was no queues with getting a drink but then the hotel was on the quieter side although one evening we had to wait for a dining table to come free so not sure how this fairs in the busier months. The room backed on too the road with a lot of noise from cars and coaches so woken up from about 7.30am and noise to about 1am but i am a light sleeper also you are on a direct flight path so planes come in reasonably low and frequent within the time scale and can be heard in the rooms, Food.. breakfast usual cold meats, cheese, salad yogurt with peaches if you want hot this is a struggle toaster takes far to long to toast bread and the other choices are egg which will be either boiled or omelette, frankfurter sausage everyday, then one day beans next mushrooms and thats your lot, Lunch and dinner was ok but not of a good quality lots of fat on meat etc and items reused into something else, so if you like reasonable food on your holiday you will struggle to find it everyday. Beer, Raki.Ouzo, Brandy and wine was all inclusive drinks which was disappointing especially when you speak to bar owners and other hotel staff that tell you the all inclusive supplied beer is a much poorer quality to the bars and restaurants and you can tell its basically crap, location was ok for the beach and for the small town, Wembley bar was good for football, golf etc eat out on the sea front for a bit of quality Zorbas taverna was good with reasonable priced and tasty food, had a meal with friends at Pellas restaurant that was poor but they took the price of a meal off and gave a free drink so ok, town is quiet apart from when sport is on, Isla by the sea is a great place to spend time 8 euros for 2 sunlounger, 2 towels and ice cold bottle of water and a lovely bay for swimming, so on reflection the hotel is a standard greek hotel that the hotel management need to take a look at itself and spend money improving the rooms and food as they have wonderful staff that are very loyal and hard working and then should survive as a lot of hotels were closed down. There are a lot of loyal patrons to this hotel that may think this is a bit harsh but i could be more critical it was a bit of a roller coaster ride met some lovely people, made some good friends especially the mad barber from Deal in Kent, who could guess travel thousands of miles to meet someone 25 miles away what a small world, also people need to get out the hotel and spend some cash in the resorts.

Stayed: September 2016
2  Thank Gary A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KlioApartHotelGouves, Διευθυντής at Klio Apart Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 October 2016

Dear guests,
Thank you for your kind remarks on the personnel. I think they are excellent as they really care for our guests. As the management and owner I do practice self-criticism and recognize that there is always room for improvement but thank you for emphasizing. With regards some of the points you have made, I would like to clarify the following for future reference:
The remote of the air condition is not in the room when there is an extra charge for it. This is the result of mutual agreement, between the travel agent and the hotelier.
Pool water is fresh and we never advertised that the pool is heated.
The cuisine cooked in our restaurant is Greek. All food prepared in our hotel is based on Greek Cuisine and we always promote local delicatessen, enriched in many cases with olive-oil based sauces and fresh vegetables. Other nationalities and guests seem to enjoy it more than others. The raw materials are always fresh and the mechanisms to retain the correct food temperature comply with global food safety practices and maintained regularly. I am sorry if the toaster was taking longer than expected for you this can be easily rectified.
Beer is served throughout to all the guests of the hotel whether all-inclusive or not and is of fine quality. There is no discrimination among all-inclusive and non-all-inclusive guests in services or products being served in this hotel. I am sorry if you have this false impression.
With regards the drinks of all-inclusive please visit the following link to review it. If you still have any questions as a potential customer, I encourage you to contact the hotel via e-mail.
Regarding the room. The toilets and windows and doors are going to be renovated for Summer 2017. As soon as the project is over I will communicate the result online where appropriate.
Finally, if one is unhappy with the room or a service in the hotel one is encouraged and should contact the reception or any staff member as I and my staff fully support to resolve it as soon as possible, while you are still on holiday as there not much we can do after departure. One’s holidays are of great importance to us and we respect it. Therefore, if one comes with a complaint or a request we will within our power try to resolve it as soon as possible. To my surprise the guests who wrote this comment never expressed a request whilst in resort. There is no good coming out from complaining after you finished your holidays especially when things can be rectified while you on it and have a great time. The quality of your experience as a holiday maker is being compromised, and the hotel does not have a chance to rectify matters.
At the Klio we do care for our guests. We also recognize the fact that guests might have requests to be satisfied. If this is the case, please communicate it and seek for improvement whilst on holidays.
Kind regards,
Klio Management.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2016

Not bad. Enough clean, near to the sea, short walk about 500m. The staff is friendly and very helpful. We had a breakfast only. The offer is a little bit poor. Towels are changed every two days. Place is quiet.

  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tauzer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2016

Stayed at the Klio a few years ago and found the staff helpful the rooms are basic, but what the hell its only some where to sleep,short walk to a very sandy beach,this is a developing resort with many shops being built in the resort centre nearby,

Room Tip: We had a ground floor room that looked out onto car park and a garden of a nearby property,but it was very quiet,
  • Stayed: October 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank bigalbi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2016 via mobile

Klio apartments is a family run business in Gouves. It's only a short 5 minute 'flat' walk to the beach (so there's no stairs or steep inclines to encounter). You can choose an all inclusive package or self cater, there's even a mini market attached to the hotel stocked with a variety of items. Maria and Princess Lia are absolutely amazing, their customer service rates highly amongst the best we have ever come across!! Also Maria in the restaurant is brilliant and even though we only had one meal there, the food was delicious.
The accommodation is older style yet everything is kept immaculately clean and tidy.
Did we mention the incredible customer service from Maria and Lia, absolutely sensational.

Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
1  Thank SuiteAsOuzo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews