We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dont Stay Here”
Review of Klio Apart Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Klio Apart Hotel
Ranked #15 of 36 Hotels in Kato Gouves
Reviewed 18 November 2016

Stayed here for 10days. Knew within ten minutes it was going to be bad. It was the longest holiday ever. Never had such an expensive holiday. Paid for all inclusive but had to eat out everyday as the food was appalling. So on top of paying for the holiday as we had to pay to eat out we did not dare to use any money to go on trips. At breakfast you only had the choice of 3 cooked items, 1 choice of egg, beans or sausages then this would vary the next day. You could have cake with flies all over it or ham and cheese. Lunch was about the same but a few more hot dishes which you had no idea what they were, not even if you tasted it. Dinner was the same. At least the cats liked the food. All inclusive should definitely have been advertised as a "Light Package". The owners of this place should visit "Mitsis Grand" in Rhodes to learn how "All Inclusive" is done. You only get the choice of 5 alcoholic drinks which ends at 10pm. It was lovely to meet "Rimmi" He is an asset to the place and without him it would have been 10 times worse, he works really hard. The room was basic. The cleaners left the patio door open when they tidied the room which let all the mosquitos in and valuables at risk as you cant fit everything in the safe. In the 10 days our bedding never got changed once. We knew this as the sheet had a mark on it. The pillows were covered in stains This was mentioned to staff. To be honest l do not know what the cleaners actually get paid for. There is no entertainment what so ever as they said they could not afford it . On the last day your all inclusive band gets cut off at 12(not that its worth having anyway). We did not complain while we were there as nothing would have changed. I wanted to moan and get a rep there after 10 minutes but didn't know how.(read the small print) but if I did and nothing was done we would have been stuck there and would have been awkward. In hindsight we should have demanded to be moved. The worst place we have ever stayed and we are fairly well travelled. The only thing that made it great were friends that we made. We ate out with them everyday and went to the beach which is lovely. Great food and service there as was the other eateries that done really well out of us four. Oh also the girl behind the reception is called Leia and she asks you to call her princess. The first time I ever wanted to come home after one day and will never go to Crete ever again because of this holiday hell. Thank god for great friends, good food out and great weather. Oh and by the way princess Leia, may the force be with you because your gonna need it to make this hell hole right. People who have added good reviews to this hotel obviously have never been to a real all inclusive hotel before. We read reviews before our holiday but thought you always get good and bad. We wish we had taken notice of all the bad. Please do not waste your money here, IT IS TERRIBLE! Please see photos attached.

Room Tip: Please Do Not Stay Here
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank smandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (215)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

25 - 29 of 215 reviews

Reviewed 14 October 2016

We arrived after the restaurant had closed but we weren't expecting a meal anyway. The staff - Maria the dining room manager and the cook - insisted they would feed us anyway and bought us two huge plates of moussaka and chips and rice and salad and a big plate of watermelon and some very odd looking pastries with an unknown taste - I discovered later they were baklavas (LOL). We were stuffed!
We wandered about a bit, unpacked and went to bed.
We loved the apartments and enjoyed having that extra room as well as just the bedroom. Yes, there were a couple of issues - we did laugh at the way the shower curtain didn't fit the shower tray and we have a daily competition to see who could leave the 'wet room' the driest after their shower. I often failed.
The television only showed one English language station and that was Russia Today with its very anti-British news reporting! There was an episode of Poirot dubbed into Greek which was amusing but hey, we didn't travel 4 hours to Crete t watch the telly!
The pool and poolside are was great.
The food was - erm - unusual but tasty. It's odd having hotdog sausages and salad for breakfast but evidently a lot healthier than a Full English! Maria was wonderful!
Lia on reception was also exceptionally welcoming, friendly and helpful.
Thank you to both these ladies.
Loved the grounds, loved all the cats wandering around!
Wasn't bothered about the planes coming in to land - it's a boy thing (even at 54): I loved looking up and imagining who was coming in for their holidays.
Gouves was a great place from which to ravel: We went to Heraklion twice on the bus and to Agios Nicolaus. Don't bother with a 25 euros each bus tour to Knossos, just get the bus from the end of the road (5 minute walk) at 2.80 pp and then get another bus to Knossos. You'll save 50 euros that way and you'll travel with real live Cretans.

If there was one complaint it was a small one - the wifi outside the hotel itself and the pool area is not good. In fact, inside the apartment block we were in ' C - (we were apartment 14) the wifi is non existent because the walls are a foot thick. We could only get wifi if we stood at the kitchen window which aced the dining area across the garden. Never mind, it kept me off Facebook for much if the time!

Traffic noise - a bit.
Some music from the hotel across the road - a bit loud, but that was no problem for me.

We really liked it here and didn't want to leave.

Our pick up time was 6.05 in the evening so we had a all day to kill. We just wanted to stay by the pool but of course we couldn't just get on the bus and sit for hours on a plane without freshening-up. There is a courtesy room in the basement, near the toilets downstairs from reception; here we were able to get changed and have a shower in the late afternoon so we were fresh and ready to be picked up. What a lovely facility (don't expect it to be a luxury room though - it was as basic as you can imagine but it was a great help to us.

  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
4  Thank mudfrog62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2016

Room was poor if we had been staying longer than a week would have complained.We felt as though we were in the basement.Outlook was a brick wall.Food was average.and not always very hot.The. staff were what made the difference particularly Gina in the pool bar,Maria in the restaurant and Leah on reception.We found a really good taverna on the main street called Floxenia the food was really good and the service and ambience excellent.Another good night was the Greek night at the Alveria taverna where Mike and his staff were wonderful
.Back to the hotel which just seemed to lack any feeling of Greece hospitality and could have been anywhere.It was as they say on school reports 'could have done better!!

Room Tip: Make sure you are not in room 22.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank annken2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2016

I agree with Gary A who wrote a review and all he says is true. We arrived late at night and were shown to our room by the barman and told to check in in the morning as reception is only open till 3pm. Room basic and dated. Original 70's shabby chic comes to mind. We had a family room that gave us plenty of space. Beds comfortable. Air con had no remote. Fridge iced up. Curtain pole fell off when we closed the curtains. Shower had a plastic curtain that fell outside of the 2 ft tray so was totally useless. Loo cistern broken and loo paper had to go in a bin not down the loo. This is normal for Greece. On the plus side we were left a bottle of wine as it was my husbands birthday. There were plenty of coat hangers and extra duvet and pillows. The restaurant is run by Maria who is a lovely lady. My husband is a vegetarian and every day a special meal was cooked for him and bought to the table. That was a lovely tough. Everyone else, including me had to get their own as its buffet style. We were all inclusive but the only spirits included were Raki, Ouzo and local brandy. None of which I like. The hotel is family run and every day the mother would have a walk round. Her daughter Maria was on reception. Gouves is on the flight path and every evening planes were coming in about every 5 minutes but you get used to them. We got woken daily by cocks crowing at dawn and dogs barking, traffic and the bin men. We asked for a picnic one day and it was sliced white bread (yuk) with processed ham and cheese, a chocolate croissant, an orange and water. Why don't they include a couple of the lovely cheese pastry's that are at breakfast or bread rolls .Don't hire a car from 'smart cars' down the road as he doesn't take cards. Cash only. Ask the barman . He knows a good car hire. Go to Spinalonga, its well worth the trip as is Rethymnon which is very pretty.

  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
3  Thank leegoffin54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2016

I will give a review based on a down to earth person with a lot of holiday experience. Firstly on arrival met by the bar man Rimi who was helpful and polite and turned out to be a top barmen who also worked hard as hotel handyman, shown to our room that on first view was just about basic, light out, no control over air con, shower with a clinging curtain and a floor that floods when you shower, 2 balcony doors that looked as though they had been forced open at some time and not secure, glass broken in door. The worrying thing was when we were told this was the best room.Check in with Lia who was great, what an energetic helpful receptionist, then Maria in the dining room again a wonderful cheerful lady also very helpful, pool a bit small but adequate the usual cold pool that once your in the pool is ok its just the getting in lol, plenty of sunbeds. there was no queues with getting a drink but then the hotel was on the quieter side although one evening we had to wait for a dining table to come free so not sure how this fairs in the busier months. The room backed on too the road with a lot of noise from cars and coaches so woken up from about 7.30am and noise to about 1am but i am a light sleeper also you are on a direct flight path so planes come in reasonably low and frequent within the time scale and can be heard in the rooms, Food.. breakfast usual cold meats, cheese, salad yogurt with peaches if you want hot this is a struggle toaster takes far to long to toast bread and the other choices are egg which will be either boiled or omelette, frankfurter sausage everyday, then one day beans next mushrooms and thats your lot, Lunch and dinner was ok but not of a good quality lots of fat on meat etc and items reused into something else, so if you like reasonable food on your holiday you will struggle to find it everyday. Beer, Raki.Ouzo, Brandy and wine was all inclusive drinks which was disappointing especially when you speak to bar owners and other hotel staff that tell you the all inclusive supplied beer is a much poorer quality to the bars and restaurants and you can tell its basically crap, location was ok for the beach and for the small town, Wembley bar was good for football, golf etc eat out on the sea front for a bit of quality Zorbas taverna was good with reasonable priced and tasty food, had a meal with friends at Pellas restaurant that was poor but they took the price of a meal off and gave a free drink so ok, town is quiet apart from when sport is on, Isla by the sea is a great place to spend time 8 euros for 2 sunlounger, 2 towels and ice cold bottle of water and a lovely bay for swimming, so on reflection the hotel is a standard greek hotel that the hotel management need to take a look at itself and spend money improving the rooms and food as they have wonderful staff that are very loyal and hard working and then should survive as a lot of hotels were closed down. There are a lot of loyal patrons to this hotel that may think this is a bit harsh but i could be more critical it was a bit of a roller coaster ride met some lovely people, made some good friends especially the mad barber from Deal in Kent, who could guess travel thousands of miles to meet someone 25 miles away what a small world, also people need to get out the hotel and spend some cash in the resorts.

Stayed: September 2016
2  Thank Gary A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KlioApartHotelGouves, Διευθυντής at Klio Apart Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 October 2016

Dear guests,
Thank you for your kind remarks on the personnel. I think they are excellent as they really care for our guests. As the management and owner I do practice self-criticism and recognize that there is always room for improvement but thank you for emphasizing. With regards some of the points you have made, I would like to clarify the following for future reference:
The remote of the air condition is not in the room when there is an extra charge for it. This is the result of mutual agreement, between the travel agent and the hotelier.
Pool water is fresh and we never advertised that the pool is heated.
The cuisine cooked in our restaurant is Greek. All food prepared in our hotel is based on Greek Cuisine and we always promote local delicatessen, enriched in many cases with olive-oil based sauces and fresh vegetables. Other nationalities and guests seem to enjoy it more than others. The raw materials are always fresh and the mechanisms to retain the correct food temperature comply with global food safety practices and maintained regularly. I am sorry if the toaster was taking longer than expected for you this can be easily rectified.
Beer is served throughout to all the guests of the hotel whether all-inclusive or not and is of fine quality. There is no discrimination among all-inclusive and non-all-inclusive guests in services or products being served in this hotel. I am sorry if you have this false impression.
With regards the drinks of all-inclusive please visit the following link to review it. If you still have any questions as a potential customer, I encourage you to contact the hotel via e-mail.
Regarding the room. The toilets and windows and doors are going to be renovated for Summer 2017. As soon as the project is over I will communicate the result online where appropriate.
Finally, if one is unhappy with the room or a service in the hotel one is encouraged and should contact the reception or any staff member as I and my staff fully support to resolve it as soon as possible, while you are still on holiday as there not much we can do after departure. One’s holidays are of great importance to us and we respect it. Therefore, if one comes with a complaint or a request we will within our power try to resolve it as soon as possible. To my surprise the guests who wrote this comment never expressed a request whilst in resort. There is no good coming out from complaining after you finished your holidays especially when things can be rectified while you on it and have a great time. The quality of your experience as a holiday maker is being compromised, and the hotel does not have a chance to rectify matters.
At the Klio we do care for our guests. We also recognize the fact that guests might have requests to be satisfied. If this is the case, please communicate it and seek for improvement whilst on holidays.
Kind regards,
Klio Management.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kato Gouves
1.5 km away
Hara Ilios Hotel
Hara Ilios Hotel
#3 of 36 in Kato Gouves
509 reviews
1.7 km away
Blue Aegean Hotel & Suites
Blue Aegean Hotel & Suites
#5 of 36 in Kato Gouves
457 reviews
0.4 km away
Lavris Hotel Bungalows
Lavris Hotel Bungalows
#14 of 36 in Kato Gouves
221 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 km away
Despina Apartments
Despina Apartments
#21 of 36 in Kato Gouves
98 reviews
1.7 km away
St. Constantin Hotel
St. Constantin Hotel
#9 of 36 in Kato Gouves
897 reviews
11.4 km away
Semiramis Village
Semiramis Village
#128 of 174 in Hersonissos
413 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Klio Apart Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Klio Apart Hotel

Address: Kato Gouves, Gouves, Crete 70014, Greece
Region: Greece > Crete > Heraklion Prefecture > Gouves > Kato Gouves
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Luxury Hotel in Kato Gouves
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Kato Gouves
Price Range: $37 - $227 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Klio Apart Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 46
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Klio Apart Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Klio Apartments Gouves
Klio Apartments Hotel Gouves
Klio Apart Hotel Kato Gouves, Crete

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing