We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Exceptional accomodation and location”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Cart Lodge Breaks

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
18 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cabin -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Hepworth, Bury St. Edmunds, Suffolk, East Anglia, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 18 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Phil C
Daventry, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Exceptional accomodation and location”
Reviewed 4 March 2019 for a stay in February 2019
2
people found this review helpful

Beautiful surroundings, plenty of woodland walks in close proximity if you're the outdoor type. Great hot tub and clear star gazing skies. Drew (the owner) is very helpful. Plan to come back in the summer. Highly recommended.

Date of stay: February 2019
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Explorer2...
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely pet friendly cottage”
Reviewed 21 October 2018 for a stay in October 2018
1
person found this review helpful

Lovely comfortable pet friendly cottage. Hot tub a great bonus. Quiet area very picturesque. Well planned and well equipped.

Date of stay: October 2018
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Chris-JoG
Ramsgate, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“A beautiful place for rest and relaxation. ”
Reviewed 24 February 2018 for a stay in February 2018
2
people found this review helpful

Myself and my wife recently stayed at the Cart Lodge with our dog Charlie. We choose the Cart Lodge because we'd always wanted to visit Norfolk/Suffolk and the Cart Lodge offered us the amenities we were looking for. The idea of our week break was rest and relaxation and to get away from the stress of everyday life and the Cart Lodge certainly delivered. The Hot Tub, Log Burner and being Dog friendly were the main pluses for us and the beauty of the property also appealed. We made daily use of the hot tub and enjoyed many a night under the stars with a drink or two. The log burner and the under floor heating downstairs made for cosy nights snuggled up watching tv or playing a board game. The property was well equipped and had most of what we needed. The rooms were comfy and the beds were adequate. Do be warned if your a light sleeper the upstairs bedroom has a skylight window right above the bed so this does let a lot of light in, although laying on the bed at night you do get to see the stars at night. The room upstairs was also cold when we stayed not sure if that was the heating or us. The kitchen was well equipped and we didn't have any trouble cooking meals etc. The added bonus of sky tv with movies and sports was great. The pictures provided really don't do this property justice it really is stunning and will totally make you feel at home. The local area is beautiful and there are plenty of walks for dogs or those who like to get out and explore the countryside. Do be advised that the Cart Lodge is very rural and street lights are off a minimum. My wife and I arrived on our first day in the evening and we found the Cart Lodge very hard to find and once you get to the property it is quite dark. Drew if you could put a sign outside that would be great and maybe some lighting failing that bring a torch. Thank you for an amazing week away though and the hamper it was a lovely touch on our first day. We would both highly recommend the Cart Lodge and will return one day soon.

Date of stay: February 2018
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
LoraLeopa...
Brentwood, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“An excellent hub for a luxury, pet-friendly getaway”
Reviewed 15 March 2017 for a stay in March 2017
3
people found this review helpful

We stayed here for a long weekend at the beginning of March; we tend to take 1-2 short UK breaks a year with our rescue dog, and this lodging came up just as we were deciding where to go.

The lodge itself is fantastic – the master bedroom is definitely a standout feature with its huge beamed ceiling and double bed in the middle of the room. The hot tub is also a fantastic addition and it’s wonderful to unwind after a long walk with a glass (or bottle!) of wine.

In terms of amenities, we felt that we had everything that we needed – a log fire is available to use, and a number of logs/fire lighting equipment is provided free of charge. You also have a television available with Sky movies/on demand incorporated – this was fantastic for us as we had a quite a few late-night binge sessions on The Walking Dead!

We managed to navigate the local area to find some excellent dog walking routes – but be aware, the only way to get to open fields that have a public right of way is to walk a little way along the grass of the main road. It’s not a massive issue, but I can imagine it being quite treacherous when wet!

We also noticed that, at night, we could hear the owners going upstairs and getting themselves ready for bed. This wasn’t a massive issue for us, but did make us more aware of our own movements during the weekend.

Overall the lodge is wonderfully equipped for a long weekend, and we would look to book here again in the future.

Date of stay: March 2017
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Alison555...
Level 6 Contributor
90 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Mrs ”
Reviewed 28 December 2016 for a stay in December 2016
3
people found this review helpful

Perfect just perfect , we have stayed in many holiday accommodations over the years but The Cart Lodge has to be by far the best . In respect of repeating what other guests have said about the lodge and it's excellence , I thought I would mention a few different things . We stayed the week over Christmas it was a perfect spot to spend Christmas Day with the romance of the beamed cottage , the huge log burner , the Christmas tree and of course the private hot tub overlooking the pond and the meadow behind . The owner Drew has included many extras to The Cart Lodge that are not expected but were very much appreciated and make it that little Bit more special, for example the food hamper that greeted us including presecco , the fairy lights that surround the decking area and hot tub , the huge and very soft towels included , the large and very comfortable beds and abundance of luxury pillows , under floor heating and tasteful decor.
The cottage is dog friendly which is part of the reason we were attracted to the cottage in the first place ( we try not to go anywhere without our Cockerpoo Tilly ) however if you are not bringing a dog with you to stay please do not be put off , due to
the cottage having oak flooring or tiles throughout it makes the cottage extremely hygienic and clean , the cottage was spotless throughout, throws are included on the sofas to protect them from muddy paws .
The location is idilic with Thetford Forest , Rendalsham forest a short drive away and Kneetlesham Heath a couple of miles away by car .
At the moment the cottage is the best kept secret as it has only been a holiday home since July but when word gets about this cottage will be a sell out all year round , thanks Drew and Tilly for a truly wonderful Christmas stay , look forward to seeing you again soon x

Date of stay: December 2016
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, Tripadvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
© 2023 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Singapore. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.