We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$72
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Cornwall Park Motel(Masterton)(Great Value!)
US$71
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Acorn Estate Motel Masterton(Masterton)(Great Value!)
US$68
US$65
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$46
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
US$78
US$75
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Amble Inn Motel(Masterton)
US$70
US$68
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$86
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$74
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$37
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
Reviews (105)
Filter reviews
105 results
Traveller rating
76
23
3
1
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
76
23
3
1
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsheat pumpmain roadcomfortable bedcape palliserspa bathat short noticearrived latenice place to staystayed nightshome away from homewould definitely stay here againa wonderful stayclean tidytwo bedroom uniteasy accesscooking facilitiesother guests
Filter
Updating list...
16 - 21 of 105 reviews
Reviewed 13 August 2017 via mobile

Very friendly and helpful hosts. Room spotlessly clean with large comfy bed and well equipped kitchenette. Lovely breakfast!! Lots of choice and the owners happy to produce your own combo. Will definately stay again ☺☺

Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank AngeWilliam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pat-Dave H, Owner at South Park Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2017

Thank you kindly for your feedback. We aim to make our guests feel comfortable and enjoy their time here with us. Before buying this motel we had a cafe in Taupo and have brought our menu with us. If I've got it, you can have it! We look forward to seeing you next time you're in this area and once again we appreciate you taking the time to give us such positive feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2017

Great place to stay, nice rooms and bathrooms. Beds were comfy and room was well heated.
Kitchenette was well stocked and spotlessly clean.
Owners were very friendly and attentive. Even put extra key in the room to keep the heating going while we went out to dinner one night.

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Daryl L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pat-Dave H, Owner at South Park Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 June 2017

So happy you enjoyed your stay with us. It is important to us that you are comfortable and we try our best to achieve that. It is much nicer to enter a warm room rather than cold. We like to treat guest in the way that we would like to be treated. Thank you for your comments and will hopefully see you next time you're in this area.
Many thanks

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2017

We stayed here while visiting for a family wedding. Pat & Dave were extremely helpful and Dave's sense of humour always caught me off guard. They didn't mind at all when we had others to visit us and made everyone welcome. They helped me to do the washing and when my laptop appeared to break down they found me somewhere to get it fixed before we discovered that it was only the battery which had gone due to electricity being off when we left the room!
We had 2 breakfasts there which were both very nice and reasonably priced.
Although our room wasn't the smartest we have stayed in it was comfortable, clean and very good value.

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank patricia t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pat-Dave H, Owner at South Park Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 May 2017

Thank you so much for your kind comments. Our aim is to make people feel welcome and at ease during their stay with us. So glad that you enjoyed your stay and hope you will bear us in mind for your next visit to Masterton. We enjoyed meeting you and look forward to seeing you again.

Many thanks

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2017 via mobile

A colleague and I were on a road trip. We were late getting out of Wellington and so arrived late. The welcome was confusing stating they worried where we were. We had guaranteed the room with a cc. We were exhausted and with no consideration the interrogation continued .... do you support the farmers. This related to do we want milk. The charade cost them breakfast as we could not wait to get away. We felt they were unprofessional, over familiar and crossed the line several times. Not good hosts. An example is where they asked do we come to Masterton often. To contact them direct as we paid a bomb booking through the website. I will never return again.

Stayed: May 2017, travelled on business
Thank johnlD5659ZK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pat-Dave H, Owner at South Park Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 May 2017

It is disappointing that you felt confused by your welcome. Perhaps you were, as you say, exhausted and therefore not in a receptive mood. It is unfortunate that you did not appreciate our friendly nature and preferred to be treated in a 'strictly business' and impersonal manner that the larger corporate hotels offer. We are a small, friendly, owner-operated motel which many guests prefer. The majority of our reviews are positive and we are encouraged by their opinions and we will take comfort in them.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
4
Reviewed 14 April 2017 via mobile

MC friendly motel who laid out the welcome mat..(check in ya guns drugs helmets etc)..funny as..hosts with most..great room plenty o space...and the breakfast..omg..wot a feed...don't think we need to eat for a week now...Thanks Team. .Highly recommended

Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pat-Dave H, Owner at South Park Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 April 2017

Well, thank you so much for the feedback! We had a great weekend with you all and hope you did too. We do enjoy customers with a sense of humour! Makes life so much more interesting. Look forward to seeing you all again soon.

Many thanks

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews