We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
South Park Motel
Nearby Hotels
US$65
US$57
Official Site
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 30% below average rates

The price you found is 30% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$82/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Amble Inn Motel(Masterton)
US$73
US$71
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$89
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$39
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
Masterton Motor Lodge(Masterton)(Great Value!)
US$78
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$82
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Summit Lodge(Masterton)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Highwayman Motel(Masterton)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (104)
Filter reviews
104 results
Traveller rating
75
23
3
1
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
75
23
3
1
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsheat pumpcomfortable bedstayed a couple of nightsfamily weddingarrived latecape palliserat short noticespa bathmain roadnice place to stayhome away from homegreat hostsshort walkclean tidya wonderful staygreat showereasy access
Filter
Updating list...
14 - 19 of 104 reviews
Reviewed 18 August 2017

We had the two bedroom unit. Clean, spacious, quiet, a perfect place for 4 on a brief overnight stay. Kitchen is versatile and a good size too. Nothing negative to say.
Staff are friendly and helpful. The room heating was turned on for us as we had a late return.
Would definitely stay again and recommend to others.

Stayed: August 2017
Thank Dee2856
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pat-Dave H, Owner at South Park Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2017

Thank you for your positive comments. Our aim it to make your stay as comfortable and as easy as we can. We often turn the heating on for guests so they don't come back to a cold room! We look forward to seeing you next time you're in this area. Many thanks Pat and Dave

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2017 via mobile

Very friendly and helpful hosts. Room spotlessly clean with large comfy bed and well equipped kitchenette. Lovely breakfast!! Lots of choice and the owners happy to produce your own combo. Will definately stay again ☺☺

Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank AngeWilliam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pat-Dave H, Owner at South Park Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2017

Thank you kindly for your feedback. We aim to make our guests feel comfortable and enjoy their time here with us. Before buying this motel we had a cafe in Taupo and have brought our menu with us. If I've got it, you can have it! We look forward to seeing you next time you're in this area and once again we appreciate you taking the time to give us such positive feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2017

Great place to stay, nice rooms and bathrooms. Beds were comfy and room was well heated.
Kitchenette was well stocked and spotlessly clean.
Owners were very friendly and attentive. Even put extra key in the room to keep the heating going while we went out to dinner one night.

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Daryl L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pat-Dave H, Owner at South Park Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 June 2017

So happy you enjoyed your stay with us. It is important to us that you are comfortable and we try our best to achieve that. It is much nicer to enter a warm room rather than cold. We like to treat guest in the way that we would like to be treated. Thank you for your comments and will hopefully see you next time you're in this area.
Many thanks

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2017

We stayed here while visiting for a family wedding. Pat & Dave were extremely helpful and Dave's sense of humour always caught me off guard. They didn't mind at all when we had others to visit us and made everyone welcome. They helped me to do the washing and when my laptop appeared to break down they found me somewhere to get it fixed before we discovered that it was only the battery which had gone due to electricity being off when we left the room!
We had 2 breakfasts there which were both very nice and reasonably priced.
Although our room wasn't the smartest we have stayed in it was comfortable, clean and very good value.

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank patricia t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pat-Dave H, Owner at South Park Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 May 2017

Thank you so much for your kind comments. Our aim is to make people feel welcome and at ease during their stay with us. So glad that you enjoyed your stay and hope you will bear us in mind for your next visit to Masterton. We enjoyed meeting you and look forward to seeing you again.

Many thanks

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2017 via mobile

A colleague and I were on a road trip. We were late getting out of Wellington and so arrived late. The welcome was confusing stating they worried where we were. We had guaranteed the room with a cc. We were exhausted and with no consideration the interrogation continued .... do you support the farmers. This related to do we want milk. The charade cost them breakfast as we could not wait to get away. We felt they were unprofessional, over familiar and crossed the line several times. Not good hosts. An example is where they asked do we come to Masterton often. To contact them direct as we paid a bomb booking through the website. I will never return again.

Stayed: May 2017, travelled on business
Thank johnlD5659ZK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pat-Dave H, Owner at South Park Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 May 2017

It is disappointing that you felt confused by your welcome. Perhaps you were, as you say, exhausted and therefore not in a receptive mood. It is unfortunate that you did not appreciate our friendly nature and preferred to be treated in a 'strictly business' and impersonal manner that the larger corporate hotels offer. We are a small, friendly, owner-operated motel which many guests prefer. The majority of our reviews are positive and we are encouraged by their opinions and we will take comfort in them.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews