We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tempter expectations, so-so resort if priced right”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Royal Decameron Complex
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Bucerias
GreenLeadersGold level
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Tempter expectations, so-so resort if priced right”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 March 2012

Per all my reviews I rate a hotel based on the price. Hotel is good enough if you are not spending more than $80-100 day. The rooms are very average (think Best Western/Holiday Inn) and the food is less than very average. If you have a viable alternative I would go with that.

Staff was great and the shops right outside the entrance were a nice touch (internet cafe and small store to save money from the overpriced items in the hotel store).

Overall I would avoid however if the price is right hotel is okay. And prepare yourself for a lot of drunk Canadians with travel mugs.

Room Tip: I am sure the rooms at a newer, neighboring hotel are better!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank damieniz1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,825 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,706
    2,024
    678
    274
    143
See reviews for
1,208
1,769
102
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,207)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Thompson, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 March 2012

this was an outstanding place to relax and enjoy a week long holiday. the rooms are fairly basic but the king sized bed was very comfortable with feather pillows and lovely duvet. the sound of the waves crashing at night in the ocean view room was priceless. staff were AMAZING! place is kept emaculate by the hardworking, underpaid people who keep the place going. the dancers and hosts are outstanding (Jenny and Danny were our personal favorites who were very approachable and invited our group out after the show) any problems encountered were dealt with instantly and graciously. food was very good but by the end of the week you had seen it all. the live shows, dance lessons, activities and contests kept you busy enough if you wanted to be but the available tours are fantastic! We spent most of the week just relaxing or body surfing and had a unforgettable time. be sure to leave decent tips because they aren't paid anywhere near what they deserve here!

Room Tip: higher floors have better views but are noisier the closer you get to the bars. definitely splurge f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Caroline_0731
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cedar Rapids, Iowa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 March 2012

This was the third time my husband and I have traveled to Mexico in search of warm weather, comfortable accomodations, good drinks and good food. I have always relied on Trip Advisor reviews when making a decision about where to stay. The reviews were mixed, but seemed to be more good than bad, we decided to give it a try; goodness did we make a mistake.
We are from a small town in Iowa, needless to say we do not require over the top luxury. Obviously for the price we would be brainless to expect it, however we did expect a bit more that what we encountered.
We arrived on Sunday and by Monday morning my husband and I decided that we couldn't stay there another day and left the Royal Decameron.
Please don't waste your money, if you're like us you work hard to be able to go on vacation and relax and enjoy, this is not the place to do it.
Granted we were only there a sum total of a day, but it was enough to realize that the food was not going to get any better, the smell of raw sewage was going to be a constant in our room and no matter how many drinks we consumed the resort was no going to be someplace we could handle for a week.
When you go on vacation your expectation is to stay somewhere as nice and hopefully better than where you live, this is not one of those places.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
16 Thank CRIowagirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Squamish, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 March 2012

If it wasn't for the staff, this resort would be long gone. Also, I hope you like sleeping on a rock. The beds are cheap and the pillows are wafer thin. The bartenders and waiters are top notch people - very friendly. Also the taxi service associated with the resort, the drivers are very friendly as well. The food is not so great but it's not terrible. You will find that there is not much variety which leaves me to assume that there's no way to tell if you're eating yesterweeks left-overs. For me, the beds were so bad that I did not sleep for entire week. And if I did catch a couple hours sleep, I'd wake up and could barely move from being so sore - it was, for me, like sleeping on a rock.

Room Tip: An example for drinks: If you like Gin & Tonics, bring your own ingredients as their version tas...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Nacho F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prince Albert, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2012

Just arrived back from a two week stay at the Royal Decameron complex. We were there for two weeks. The room: started out in building 2 which was not good as it's an older block and in a noisier area and the room had two doubles . If you are going to party and don't care about the room; this is the block for you as it's near the party pool with lots of activity. We asked to move and were given a room in building 5 which was very nice and had a king size bed. Building 5 is at the "Quiet adult pool" which we liked a lot. It's a bit of a walk to the beach but a nice stroll and wasn't a problem for us at all. The bed was very comfortable with nice linens and a duvet. The rest of the room was simply but nicely decorated. Food - the buffet restaurants each feature something every night except Thursdays which is Mexican Fiesta night at all restaurants. The food overall was nicely cooked, good quality and a good variety. The al a carte restaurants - Mediterranean was excellent (and very popular), the Brazillian was fun (lots of meat on big skewers) and good, the Mexican was good (very spicy) the Thai was good too. Japanese (Jap Jap) had great sushi and miso soup. The remainder of the food was poor and resembled really bad chinese food. It was served out of bowls by the waiters "family style"...very disappointing and not recommended. The whole resort was VERY clean and all staff were VERY friendly. The grounds are beautifully kept. The beach goes on for miles both ways. We walked the entire beach and enjoyed it. The location was great for checking out Bucerias, easy to catch a bus to P.V. Would go to this place again.

Room Tip: If you are an adult without children and like peace and quiet ask for building 5.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Macooney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bucerias
1.1 km away
Villa del Palmar Flamingos
15.0 km away
Sunscape Puerto Vallarta Resort & Spa
Sunscape Puerto Vallarta Resort ...
#40 of 126 in Puerto Vallarta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,236 reviews
17.5 km away
Iberostar Playa Mita
Iberostar Playa Mita
#3 of 11 in Punta de Mita
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,711 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.1 km away
Grand Palladium Vallarta Resort & Spa
6.8 km away
Occidental Nuevo Vallarta
Occidental Nuevo Vallarta
#13 of 27 in Nuevo Vallarta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,734 reviews
16.4 km away
Now Amber Puerto Vallarta
Now Amber Puerto Vallarta
#17 of 126 in Puerto Vallarta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,696 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Decameron Complex? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Decameron Complex

Property: Royal Decameron Complex
Address: Lazaro Cardenas 150, Bucerias 63732, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Nayarit > Riviera Nayarit > Bucerias
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Bucerias
Price range (per night): $257 - $413
Hotel Class:3 star — Royal Decameron Complex 3*
Number of rooms: 620
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Royal Decameron Complex composed of three hotel units: Flamingos, Tropical and Royal, is located 20 minutes from Puerto Vallarta International Airport on the most exciting and extensive beach of the beautiful Bay of Banderas in the typical Mexican town of Bucerias in Riviera Nayarit. The colorful architecture of the Royal Decameron Complex offers 5 swimming pools, 4 of which are suitable for children, and long stretch of beach where you can enjoy different activities, non-motorized water sports and bar services. You can also enjoy a large number of buffet and a la carte options with specialized restaurants including: JAP JAP, Wok, MexicanoFusion, Piccolo and Steak House, among others. We also offer 6 bars along the beach and beside the swimming pools. The Royal Decameron Complex also has other installations like the Vallarta disco, 3 tennis courts, one soccer pitch and a fun Kids Club. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia and HotelQuickly so you can book your Royal Decameron Complex reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Decameron Vallarta
Royal Decameron Hotel
Royal Decameron Puerto Vallarta Bucerias
Royal Decameron Mexico
Royal Decameron Puerto Vallarta Mexico
Royal Decameron Complex Puerto Vallarta
Royal De Cameron
Royal Decameron Nuevo Vallarta
Royal Decameron Puerto Vallarta Hotel
Puerto Vallarta Royal Decameron

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing