We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing Christmas Day food”
Review of The Trent Lock

The Trent Lock
Ranked #17 of 59 Restaurants in Long Eaton
Price range: US$6 - US$26
Cuisines: British
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Reviewed 2 January 2018

We went to the lock for Christmas Day 2016 and it was lovely but this Christmas Day 2017 was a big disappointment. We dont know if its a different chef but not a patch on last years. My husband's soup was only luke warm, my salmon tart was horrible. Our Turkey dinner - the veg was too hard, the stuffing horrible (Clementine, fig & tarragon) sounds nice but it was'nt, the gravy which i think makes the meal was greasy. My sons venison wasnt cooked properly it was too chewy. Such a shame as last years was really good.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank James T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General Manager A, Manager at The Trent Lock, responded to this reviewResponded 5 January 2018

James , we regret to hear that you had this experience with us. Please contact us at 01159 25159 when you have an opportunity, and we will be more than happy to try and turn your experience around.

Regards Dan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (791)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

141 - 145 of 791 reviews

Reviewed 29 December 2017 via mobile

I recently attended Trent Lock with friends for our Christmas get together meal. We chose this venue as we had attended on numerous ocasions and had good experiences.

Sadly this was not, I had ordered the pate starter that had to be returned because it was mostly fat, but in fairness it was done without any objection.

Our full Christmas dinner was then presented but sadly missing the stuffing which from the description on the menu sounded lovely. I called the waiter over and pointed this out to him. His response was that stuffing was not included with the meal to which we were able to prove to the contary. He left the tsble saying he would speak with the kitchen staff. He returned shortly to inform us that they had run out. ( No apology received) I found this incredible as our booking was for 12.30 and there were only 5 other diners in the restaurant, non of whom had the Christmas meal.

We ordered a bottle of wine which was duly brought to the table, plonked in the middle unopened and the waiter left. The bottle was neither pro-offered for us to confirm it was the wine we ordered or poured for us. This was left to ourselves to do.

All in all the food and service that day was very poor and I will not be confident again of taking any of our guests there.

1  Thank ladiesUttoxeter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General Manager A, Manager at The Trent Lock, responded to this reviewResponded 31 December 2017

We appreciate your honest review. We set a high standard for ourselves, so we are disappointed to hear that your experience with us was not a positive one. Here at The Trent Lock, we are always looking for ways to improve; we appreciate your input. If you would be willing, we would like to have you contact our manager 25159 to discuss ways we can better serve you in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 December 2017

We booked in October for Boxing day, filled in our menu options on the booking form and paid a deposit. However on our arrival, there was no record of our booking. We were put into a dark corner at the back of the restaurant and the table hadnt been set properly with no cutlery or napkins. When we booked there was a deal of a free glass of prosecco as we'd booked before a certain date but this was not offered to us. We ordered a bottle of wine and the waiter just plonked it down on the table and ran off without pouring the glasses etc. Our prawn and lobster cocktail starters didn't have any lobster in it at all, just prawns. My nut roast main course didn't come with any gravy or sauce which I thought was strange and it was extremely dry.. My husband had to get up from the table to find a waiter to ask for gravy as no one was around and no one had come to ask if everything was ok. And then it took so long for the gravy to arrive that the food was cold. This was such a disappointing experience. We had booked this as a Christmas treat but the whole thing was such a let down.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Ruth M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General Manager A, Manager at The Trent Lock, responded to this reviewResponded 31 December 2017

Ruth M, thank you for bringing this matter to our attention. We regret that you had a negative experience, and will use this as an opportunity to improve. Please contact us at 25159 when you have an opportunity, and we will be more than happy to try and turn your experience around.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 December 2017

We had walked around West Park in the snow and fancied something to eat. Walking from the park to Trent Lock down the canal was a great way to build up an appetite and get a view of some of the surrounding landscape.

The pub was heaving, not surprising for a Sunday afternoon. We found the only free table and soon found that it was the most wonky table we have ever encountered. Levelling the base only exposed the fact that the post itself was loose. Luckily we moved pretty quickly to another table and were able to eat without fear of getting seasick.

We ordered four starters between us tapas style which were all excellent. Each dish was done well and there wasn't anything that we didn't like.

Great food and worth a visit just check your table first

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank C16VEH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General Manager A, Manager at The Trent Lock, responded to this reviewResponded 31 December 2017

Thank you; we appreciate your feedback! We hope to see you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 December 2017

We went for a long walk along the canal. Great views and great for walking the dog. The Trent Lock was very welcoming. The staff were great and couldn't do enough for us. Had a wonderful lunch that was really delicious. Service was excellent. What a wonderful place. Will be visiting again very soon.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank 54Chris769
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General Manager A, Manager at The Trent Lock, responded to this reviewResponded 15 December 2017

Thank you so much for the positive review! We look forward to your next visit! Take care!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Trent Lock also viewed

Long Eaton, Derbyshire
Long Eaton, Derbyshire
 
Nottingham, Nottinghamshire
 

Been to The Trent Lock? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing