We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
PricelineUS$241
Vio.comUS$240
eDreamsUS$241
Agoda.comUS$240
EtripUS$240
TripadvisorUS$241
View all 8 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (438)
Filter reviews
438 results
Traveller rating
338
56
25
8
11
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
338
56
25
8
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviews murray family whisky room family run whisky snug lovely hotel spey valley tasting menu first class high standard venison burger food was fantastic top quality both nights dining room whisky tour hidden gem breakfast and dinner
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
9 - 14 of 438 reviews
Reviewed 2 May 2022

Sadly due to covid we weren’t able to attend the whiskey festival afternoon tea .

For £70 this is what we were offered as a take away
(Two versions of this and a pot of syrup ! )

Some sort of whiskey decanted into a gin bottle - my friends into a vodka bottle - no idea what it was ?

And what on earth are the marshmallows about ???

Feeling completely robbed
Embarrassing - last time I hand over money to this hotel . Very disappointing

Date of stay: May 2022
Trip type: Travelled with friends
2  Thank UkDarcie
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 28 April 2022 via mobile

Another outstanding stay in this family run hotel,the Murray family & their excellent staff know
How to look after you!
The place has excellent food,helpful & knowledgeable staff,situated quietly off the main road,with beautiful views & excellent garden area also!
If you can stay here while in speyside then do so!

Date of stay: April 2022
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank petercC7948GW
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 25 April 2022

We loved our overnight visit at the Dowans Hotel in Aberlour. Wish it could have been longer than just one night. The 1888 vintage hotel was wonderfully renovated by the owners--a talented husband and wife team. The room was very nicely outfitted with a very modern bathroom. Great view of the glen from the top floor.

Our dinner was sea bass and prepared with gourmet talents. The bar/lounge was fun as Saturday night guests had their before-dinner drinks as their tables were being prepared.

The hidden gem was the whisky room, with at least 250 different labels of whisky available for sampling. So many whiskys, so little time...

Highly recommended!

Room tip: Our room overlooking the main road to the northwest was perfectly quiet.
Date of stay: April 2022
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank classic1903
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 6 April 2022 via mobile

A beautiful family-run boutique hotel that sets a lot of high benchmarks. We stayed for 2 nights as Aberlour is a great base to tour the areas Whisky distilleries and found this hotel was a real gem.

The hotel is perfectly situated on a hill overlooking the Spey valley and the town, both of which are within a short walking distance. It’s set back from the road, has plenty of parking for guests and is beautifully furnished in a modern style that is also in keeping with the age of the building. The beds were comfy, the bar very well stocked and the restaurant offered a delicious range of locally-sourced, hearty dishes.

What sets this hotel apart from most others is it’s hospitality. Lauren and Steph really made us feel at home, from top-notch cocktails and banter through to incredible breakfasts and help with our holiday plans. This hotel felt genuinely unique; we relaxed in luxurious surroundings, laughed and enjoyed the hospitality and in the end we didn’t want to leave.

Can’t recommend this place enough. We will certainly be back.

Room tip: Stay for dinner. The fare is excellent and well priced against the limited alternatives in Aberlour
Date of stay: April 2022
Trip type: Travelled with friends
1  Thank Kettlechippers
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 17 March 2022

Just had the pleasure of staying at Dowans for 3 nights as part of a Speyside whisky tour. The room was comfortable, the food was great, service levels and attentiveness was of the highest order. Will be returning.

Room tip: Look for a view over the Spey valley
Date of stay: March 2022
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank donorris
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
View more reviews