We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Evening meal”

The Crown Inn - Restaurant
Ranked #6 of 23 Restaurants in Rhayader
Certificate of Excellence
Restaurant details
Reviewed 26 August 2018 via mobile

We enjoyed a lovely meal, my husband had the belly pork and I had the pulled pork and steak burger. Both cooked well . The reason for a 4x instead of a five is that a family were sat on the next table with the child playing his games on a I pad with the volume turned up . This consequently put us off and prompted an early departure . I think maybe a house rule should be no sound on hand held games ! Parents please take note we don't all want to hear it !

Thank Paula M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ty M, Manager at The Crown Inn - Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2018

Thank you for your review, we are glad you enjoyed your meals with us, we are disappointed that you wouldn't give us a 5 all because of a table next to you we are sorry we are a family pub and we welcome everyone.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (128)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

16 - 20 of 128 reviews

Reviewed 22 August 2018 via mobile

Enjoyed our food in this little pub, they also had a vegan shepherds pie which was very tasty. Staff were nice . Pub does seem unloved and uncared for, tabled and chairs look well past their best . All needs a tasteful refurb, then place wouldn’t let food down.

Thank Getaway671839
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LucySrhayader, Manager at The Crown Inn - Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2018

Thank you for your review. The pub is due a refurb later on this year which we are looking forward too. Please call in later on in the year and you will be able to see it :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2018 via mobile

This amazing pub in the heart of Rhayader was exactly what we were looking for! i ordered the Chilli and my girlfriend ordered the Lamb Pot Pie and both were huge portions. The atmosphere was brilliant and the ale (Rev James Gold) was perfect too. Would recommend to anyone visting Rhayader or the surrounding area looking for a great meal and a great atmosphere.

Thank Theo W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ty M, General Manager at The Crown Inn - Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2018

Thank you for your review with us, we hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2018 via mobile

Stayed at the hotel and ate and drank here all through our stay.
Food was gorgeous...well presented and if anything too much on our plates but nothing was left. Do not miss out on the Lamb Shank...yum yum....thank you Steve and team...keep up the great job your doing....see you in the winter.

Thank CarolAnnAstley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ty M, General Manager at The Crown Inn - Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2018

Thank you for your review with us, i will personally pass this onto Steve our head chef. We hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2018

We had gone away for a weekend "off grid" and decided to venture into civilisation for something to eat on the Sunday and went to Rhayader. We decided to try this little pub for some food and we weren't disappointed. Good portions and tasted great.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank bearskinBirmingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ty M, General Manager at The Crown Inn - Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2018

Thank you for your review with us, we hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Crown Inn - Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to The Crown Inn - Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing