We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (4,676)
Filter reviews
4,676 results
Traveller rating
2,173
1,654
583
177
89
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,173
1,654
583
177
89
Show reviews that mention
All reviews animation team pool area shopping centre sea view bar staff lovely hotel evening shows half board plenty of sunbeds aqua gym plenty of choice fidelity card themed nights main restaurant courtesy room small shopping flight path
Filter
Updating list...
57 - 62 of 4,676 reviews
Reviewed 20 September 2018

This was my first trip to Fuerteventura, so we read a lot of reviews about lots of Hotels on the Island and eventually decided on Elba Carlota.

Hotel - Upon arriving at the Hotel, we got off the coach along with several other travelers, there were 3 people on Reception, so we managed to check in within 10 minutes.

Cold beverages were available right next to Reception for us (soft drink and alcohol). We checked in, got our room keys and given some general information about the Hotel. We booked and paid for the Safe in the room and was told that the Restaurant was still open if we wanted anything to eat.

We found our room very easily and noticed how clean the Hotel was on our way. We booked a standard room and found it to be perfect for our needs. Everything was clean, enough storage for our clothes/shoes/etc and plenty of hangers.

The bathroom was also clean and offered the usual shower gel, shampoo, comb, shower cap and spare toilet roll. Towels were clean and nice to use (not like sand paper as they sometimes can be).

There was a TV available but like some others have commented there isn’t many English speaking channels, but I wasn’t there to watch TV.

The balcony was small but enough for 2 chairs and an ‘airing’ stand. We were lucky and had a small sea view (to the right). There was a building opposite our room but was we were near the end of the corridor, we could also see the beach and sea.

Our room was cleaned every day from what I can recall and we left a small tip for the cleaners – who were very friendly.

The only issue we had with our room was that the shower ‘leaked’ when in use and so the floor would get absolutely soaked. No matter where you pointed the shower head, the floor got soaked, so we ended up having to have clean bath towels every day.

We found the staff in the Hotel to be friendly and helpful... those working behind the bars worked fairly quickly, but the Hotel was very very busy so there was queues nearly all the time at the Main bar and the Pool bars. Not a massive thing, but some people did get annoyed by this.

Entertainment - the Hotel had an entertainment team who were all really good. They spoke about 5 different languages between them all and would announce the daily entertainment around the pool. There was lots of activities for the kids to do during the day, mini discos, nightly shows/entertainment for kids and adults too. Some of the activities during the day were for kids and adults.... aqua aerobics, volley ball, etc.

Gym/Exercise - If you like to exercise when you are away, the Hotel has a locked gate (you can get back in using your room key) that leads you to the Beach and the path that leads you to the little Harbour. It takes about 40 minutes to jog to the small harbour and back and you’ll see many other joggers early morning (6am – 8am).
We were told that it is cloudy until around 11am and then the sun comes out – they were spot on. So I saw many people jogging/training up to around 9am – further up the beach they have training apparatus.

The gym at the Hotel was small and consisted of 2 x running machines, 2 x bikes, 2 x weights ‘machines’, free weights, Boso Ball, floor mats and medicine balls. It opens at 7am, at the most I saw 5 people in there early morning.

There was also aqua aerobics around midday in the smaller pool.

Food – overall the Restaurant was nice and clean. It is a really big Restaurant but only opens half of it most of the time. At really busy times, they opened the other half (they needed to). The staff were friendly and seemed to wait on their areas pretty well.
Once you sit down, the wait staff approach you for your drinks, soft drinks are available and so is wine. Spirits and beer are not available in the Restaurant.

It is a Buffet style restaurant and they had a different theme each evening. Indian, Mexican, Chinese, etc.... there was always a huge salad choice with different cold meats, cheeses and sauces. Always a Paella of some sort and a roast meat (such as lamb, leg or pork). Lots of vegetable choices and potatoes (mash, chips, roast).

Most nights there was chicken breast, steak and fish of some sort.

Breakfast – again there was lots of choice, some cereals, pastries, fruit, yogurts, fresh juices, cakes, omelettes, hot food (bacon, boiled egg, scrambled egg, beans, etc).

Lots of breads available and they were all fresh and plentiful.

During the evenings there was lots of choice with the desserts – but sometimes they looked nice than they tasted... the ice cream was fabulous and lots of ice cream sauces.

I personally found the choice of food to be really good, you can have something different all the time. I found the standard of the food to be really good BUT I found that not a lot of the food is that well seasoned... BUT please don’t let this put you off.

The Hotel is for families and my personal opinion is that there isn’t much seasoning because of the younger guests. You can add as much salt, pepper, hot peppers, sauces to your own food.

When the Hotel is busy you may find yourself queuing up for food – many of the dishes are being cooked there in front of you, so it’s worth the wait.

The pool bar served food from 12 until around 3pm I think.... there was salad, burgers, hot dogs, chips, cakes and other food. Then in the Main Bar they have trays of sandwiches, some cakes and pastries – I think these are served around 4pm – 6pm. Nothing fancy but enough for a light snack.

There was a Restaurant on site at the Hotel, I didn’t visit it but was told that it was nice and you paid for it separately.

If you don’t eat at the Hotel, right next door there is a small shopping centre with lots of shops, clothes shops, EuroSpa, Cinema, Bowling, several restaurants there and then a 20 minute walk to the little town nearby and there are lots of Bars and Restaurants there.

It is worth the 20 minute walk (either along the harbour path or the main road) as it is a lovely little town. Lots of different shops, restaurants, bars, Irish Bar (live music each night and food available), Karaoke Bar and an entertainment bar (where they have live bands and singers).

The all inclusive at the Hotel stops at 11pm but you can still buy drinks for the next hour.

The hotel also has 2 large pools and a kids pool, games room, 3 bars (including the pool bar), main restaurant, pay for Restaurant, big room with a stage for some of the entertainment, gym, lovely gardens, small shop and a ‘casino’ (lots of slot machines).

  • Stayed: August 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank SCSNAX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ELBACARLOTA, Director General at Elba Carlota Beach and Convention Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear SCSNAX,

Thank you very much for your score and for your detailed feedback about your experience with us.

We really appreciate that you have enjoyed your stay among us and the fact of pointing out the issue with the shower. It helps us to improve and get better day by day.

It will be a pleasure to see you here again in the future sharing your time with us in Fuerteventura.


Receive our best regards,


Miguel Ángel Sánchez
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2018

  • Stayed: August 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Jet2holidays
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
ELBACARLOTA, Director General at Elba Carlota Beach and Convention Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 26 September 2018

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 19 September 2018

The hotel itself is very nice. Clean and comfortable rooms. Location was a bit away from the main town, but walkable. Hotel is close to a shopping centre and MacDonalds. Service was mainly good, although sometimes slow with quite lengthy queues in the evenings. Although food was plentiful, it was all very samey, and got quite boring. Breakfast was the best meal of the day. Hubby had full English, which he enjoyed, and there were plenty of English sauces. We went to the Italian a la carte one evening and that was ok.

Room Tip: Try to get a room overlooking the pools
  • Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Holmzy27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ELBACARLOTA, Director General at Elba Carlota Beach and Convention Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 19 September 2018

Dear Holmzy27,

Thank you very much for your comments and score.

We are pleased to know you have enjoyed your stay among us and we have reached your expectations with our job and service.

We take note about some issues as one of our interests is receive the feed back from our guests in order to improve and get better day by day.

I really thank you for your comments and we are looking forward to seeing you soon once again. Receive pur best regards.

Miguel Angel Sánchez
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2018

We have just returned from a 2 week holiday at the Elba Carlota, I went with my husband, my sister & her husband from 28th Aug - 12th Sept.

I honestly don't know how this hotel has such good reviews, I can only guess that people who left reviews haven't been to many 4* hotels and have nothing to compare with, I honestly don't mean that to be disrespectful but this hotel does not even compare to the 4* hotel that we went to in Turkey last year, it was the Sentido Zeynep resort in Antalya.

First of all there is nowhere near enough staff to run a hotel of this size and it definitely shows with the quality and the cleanliness of the surroundings, I think Mr Sanchez needs to seriously look at this problem and sort it out.

Firstly, the good - the food in the main restaurant was amazing, no complaints at all, all the chefs and the waiting on staff were lovely, however, the food in the poolside snack bar was really poor, flies everywhere, the burgers and bread buns were so dry you couldn't eat them and the actual building that the very small buffet was in was only big enough for 2 or 3 people at any time, it was so small, not nice at all.

Now for the bad, unfortunately there's a lot more bad than good! :

● The hotel needs a towel station, if you advertise pool towels then give your guests lovely clean pool towels every day, your guests should not have to fight to get clean pool towels twice a week! and don't give your guests towels with holes in them!
● Our bed linen was changed on day 8 of our two week holiday and this was the only time it was changed in the whole 2 weeks! disgusting! should be at least twice per week.
● Towels in our room and the pool towels were threadbare (see attached pics) and some even had holes in them! Words fail me!
● Fridge in the room but no water, surely a basic requirement to give your all iclusive guests at least a drink of water, we have paid for it after all!
● Pool bar does not open until 10.30am and the breakfast buffet only provide water in glass bottles, so even more reason why there should be water in the guest rooms, your guests should be able to have a drink around the pool area before 10am.
● Why do all inclusive guests have to pay for the safe in the room? This is a basic item that should be included in the all inclusive package.
● Tile grout around the shower in our room was full of mould, tiles were cracked, the shower in our room did work but the knob would come off each time we used it, the walls in our room were really dusty and dirty with scuff marks all over the place, I appreciate that this is an all year round resort but you need to keep on top of the maintenance and ensure the guest rooms and the surrounding areas are kept clean and fresh for every guest who uses them, but again this is down to the lack of staff and it really shows!
● Lobby bar - the rule of only 2 drinks per person?? I don't understand this rule and no matter how many times we asked no-one could explain this rule to us, what you need to understand is that we have already paid for all our food and drink within the cost of our holiday so whether we have 2 or 22 drinks per person it shouldn't make any difference, this is a really silly rule and only the bar manager ever enforced it (he has a grey goatee beard, sorry I don't know his name) I think he was a bit 'power drunk', he wanted to show the guests that he was in charge, none of other bar staff ever enforced this rules they didn't mind if we got 4 drinks, this only inconvenienced your guests, you should be doing everything possible to ensure your guests have a pleasant experience, we have saved up all year for this holiday and we want great service, enforcing rules onto your guests is not a pleasant experience.
● Animation team - even though we didn't have any kids with us, we still enjoyed the animation team, they worked so hard and produced some amazing shows in the evening, the daytime activities were really good too, they were all really friendly and polite, I do have to say that the 'chief' animator Vincenzo really needs to chill out though! every time he spoke to us or to any other guests he was banging on about going onto Facebook and leaving a good review for them, he needs to relax, the team are good! People will leave feedback anyway and he just needs to chill.

Overall we would not go back to this hotel, there are much, much better hotels elsewhere, where they put guest experience first and foremost, it's a shame because it could be an amazing place stay.

Room Tip: Pool or sea view are good, make sure you take your own pool towels!
  • Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
4  Thank Claire F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ELBACARLOTA, Director General at Elba Carlota Beach and Convention Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 19 September 2018

Dear Claire F,

Thank you very much for your comments and score.

We are happy to know that the food was to your liking and we appreciate the recognition of the efforts of the animation staff.

As for the lack of personnel, as you say, this might seem a problem since in the month of August the occupation is much higher, but it is simply an impression.

We regret very much not having met your expectations, but in most cases we can only say that it is the policy of the hotel.
In other cases, we must learn from our mistakes in order to improve day by day and achieve excellence in our services.

For this reason we thank you very much for the time deposited in this feedback and we commit ourselves to improve each negative point mentioned.

Receive a warm greeting,


Miguel Ángel Sánchez
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2018 via mobile

Visited this hotel in march and was looking forward to staying there after reading all the reviews.

We were very dissappinted to say the least, rooms were very shabby and dirty, flies splatted on walls, rusty bin and chrome attachments in bathroom.view was of a supermarket and delivery entrance, which we were woken up every morning by annoying reverse alarms on vehicles.

Staff very miserable, except on front desk who were very helpful. Everthing from an iron etc needed a deposit.

Food was disgusting, fish and pork every day and breakfast food was cold or luke warm.

Pool area was dirty with cracked tiles and chunks out of the plastic vents, which could easily have injured a child or adult.

This is not 4 star nor never will be unless they clean up their act. They also need to educate their staff to put a smile on their faces once in a while, the only ones that did have a smile were the ones that must have had wind.

Would i return to this hotel? Definately not worst 4star hotel i have ever visited, people who review this as a 4 star have never experienced proper 4 star quality.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
3  Thank stuart w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ELBACARLOTA, Director General at Elba Carlota Beach and Convention Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 19 September 2018

Dear stuart w,

Thank you very much for your comments and score.

First of all, I would like to tell you that the staff is one of the most valued points for all the clients that visit us. I do not think any staff member is "miserable" as you say.

On the other hand, I'm sorry that you did not like anything about our food.

We take note of your comments in order to help us improve day after day.

Receive a warm greeting.

Miguel Angel Sánchez
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews