We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (83)
Filter reviews
83 results
Traveller rating
48
26
4
4
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
48
26
4
4
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews dachstein glacier owners and staff summer card course dinner recommend this hotel vegetarian playroom gondola
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 83 reviews
Reviewed 12 August 2019

It is always scary to return to a hotel you have stayed in earlier and liked - what if it becomes a disappointment? Luckily not so with Wanderhotel Matschner in Ramsau.
My wife and I stayed there six years ago and were very satisfied. This hot summer in Austria, we fled to the mountains to escape the heat. First we chose another hotel for a few days, then we went back to Matschner. So - what`s so special about it? I am not quite sure: The rooms are very comfortable, the half board dinners very good, the breakfast is very good - everything is very good - but what maked our stay so relaxing, has to do with the whole atmosphaere: The owners and the staff are all so welcoming and relaxed - you feel at home (sorry tho use that cliche) but it`s a fact. (The hotel is big enough though to hide in, if you prefer solitude.) But please do not miss the free afternoon coffe/tea with cakes and cream;) Ramsau is very popular in winter (cross country skiing), but is also a beautiful destination for summer and autumn. Staying in the hotel, you can ride for free with the cable lift, which takes you up to the glacier at approx. 2400 meter. Do go!

Room tip: Ask for a room on the back side (not the road)
Date of stay: July 2019
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Camalot1
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 21 March 2019 via mobile


This is not a small hotel but it has the feel of a small family run establishment.
Great tea time snacks including some savoury; we didn’t bother with lunch out most of the time, good dinner dishes generally and some good table wine choices available.
However, it’s really all about the cross country skiing and snowshoeing available immediately outside of the hotel. In our week we had some excellent snow shoe guiding from the ever affable Jurgens which made our holiday.

Date of stay: March 2019
Trip type: Travelled with friends
2  Thank NicholasG342
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 7 March 2019 via mobile

We were here for a short holiday. All the time they all behaved perfectly. The jet and the cleanliness at a great level.
then we have become something terrible. My father had a heart attack ... everyone in the hotel from the guest to the personal helped. I would like to thank everybody who helped save his life. But then I really care for the people who helped the family. I must have never seen such an insolent behavior. I thank the receptionist and the clerk for finding the necessary information.Now is he in critical condition In a hospital ..but he stay alife.
With love,
Kulhánkovi from Czech Republic!

Date of stay: March 2019
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank NikolaK304
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 18 February 2019

There are few times in life when you go on holiday and everything, and I mean everything, is just right. This hotel is one of the best we've ever visited. The staff, the rooms, the food, the ambience - all are superb. From the moment we arrived, we were greeted with a smile and it just got better from there. The restaurant has many tables for two and your table is the same for the whole holiday. Breakfasts were excellent with freshly-cooked eggs to order and a great selection of options.Dinners were also marvellous with excellent options including vegetarian. Would we go back?
In an instant!

Date of stay: January 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Roger13
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 13 February 2019 via mobile

Great location behind the xc-stadium. Excellent breakfast, coffee in the afternoon and dinner. Nice swimming pool and sauna department. Clean, but little old-fashioned Rooma. Poor wifi. Kind and helpoilta service.

Date of stay: February 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank MinnaL384
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews