We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Aurocher(Oukaimeden)
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (80)
Filter reviews
81 results
Traveller rating
24
23
7
5
22
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
24
23
7
5
22
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
16 - 21 of 81 reviews
Reviewed 23 February 2012

We had planned on going to Oukaimeden earlier in the day, but we were late because of a flat tire that we had to change. We arrived in Oukaimeden just before 1AM. That's late, but not unreasonably late for a hotel arrival. We tried to call ahead to make a reservation at this hotel and at three other hotels in the area, but the phone numbers on the signs at the bottom of the mountain didn't work. The phone number for Hotel Chez Juju seemed to be off the hook. We tried several times and nobody would answer.

When we arrived at the village, we went to Juju first. We tried to approach the hotel, but dogs attacked us. We ran back to the car and went to other hotels in town. NOBODY would help us. Some places we heard people moving, but nobody came to the door. Other places they came to the door but they did not want to help us. I was willing to pay extra . . . we just needed a place to sleep! We returned to Juju and approached from the other side. We knocked on the door and heard people move around. They never came to the door.

From there we went to the police station (Gerendarmes) and knocked. After knocking we yelled for help. They turned on a light, but then never came out.

We were on the top of the mountain and NOBODY would help us. We drove down the mountain and found a hotel closer to Marrakesh.

I have traveled all over Morocco and North Africa, and I have never found a village so inhospitable as Oukaimeden. I will never go back. I advise everyone to stay away. If you have trouble you will not get help from anyone.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Jacob A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2012

We called at 9:00AM on a Sunday to make a reservation for 11 people at 1:30PM outside. They could take us at 1:00PM. Driving from Marrakech took longer then expected and we arrived a bit late. At 12:45PM one person from our party checked on our table. They allowed him to sit and order the wine. The remaining 10 people sat at about 1:15PM. We were warmly greeted and not rushed at all. Our table was outside as requested. It was the perfect day and we loved sitting outside looking at the mountain with the sun in our face to warm us. Staff is very friendly, accommodating and efficient. Surprising for us, given we weren't expecting much. Menu is fine with a mix of typical mountain fare and Moroccan. A children’s menu is also offered. Salads are fine with fresh ingredients, but presentation is quite simple. During salads the waiter brought a complimentary ham quiche as an appetizer. It was such as nice surprise and delicious! Entrees all quite good, our group all had either the beef bourguignon and the cassoulet. Presentation is fine, again just very simple. Cassoulet seemed to be the favorite at our table. The children plates of chicken were good and the children loved it. Dessert of apple tartin and chocolate fondant macaroon enjoyed by everyone. Coffee served after dessert. Lunch with 2 bottles of wine and 3 beers for 11 people (6 adults and 5 children) was 2,080 dhm. We will definitely return.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Enzodamico11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 December 2011

Me and my boyfriend stayed here for two nights whilst on a Moroccan road trip. We just couldn't resist the randomness of skiiing in the high Atlas so left the beach and headed for the mountains!

From what I can tell Oukaimeden is very low on hotels so Chez Juju really does have the monopoly on the area. Location wise it is without doubt tops but the service we received for the price we paid was abysmal. Firstly the owner who I think is Canadian is sour faced to say the least and made no effort to converse with us even though the staff spoke no English whatsoever making meal times and the ordering of anything very trying. Evening meal is included in the price but watch out as more like school dinners, and breakfast is a basket of bread and jam, not really the best for 130 euro a night.

Pricey and rooms are small, but all being said the view from you window is something you wont forget in a hurry. This place is great for novelty value, but Chez Juju really does have the luxury of no competition, and I'm sure all it would take is for one half decent place to open up next door for them to loose a lot of custom. I know there are always people who are never pleased, but really out of all the places we stayed on our trip this is the only negative review I am writing and it's a shame but we wont be returning in a hurry.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank AntoniaZara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2011

A bit expensive, and rooms are small. But it includes breakfast, a very good dinner and excellent service from those working there.So it's worth it. The best thing about the hotel is the the sunny terrace where you can enjoy a fantastic view towards the great mountain Angour, or the ski slopes. Probably the only place in Oukaimeden where they have a open bar!

Read more at:
http://www.phlog.biz/2011/02/oukaimeden-skiing-holiday-in-africa.html

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jorneriksson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 December 2010

Chez Juju is for me the best hotel and restaurant in Oukaimeden.
My husband and i live in Marrakech and we are really fan of chez Juju.
The staff is very nice ,the owners and their daughters adorable! so the place is just perfect!

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hindayada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews