We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (52)
Filter reviews
52 results
Traveller rating
21
21
7
2
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
21
21
7
2
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslamb shankpub mealsaturday marchchristchurchaccommodation
Filter
Updating list...
33 - 38 of 52 reviews
Reviewed 28 July 2015

We hadn't booked ahead so chose this hotel as it was right in the centre of town. The room had two single beds and a reasonable sized bathroom. Most importantly for us, it was really warm! Double glazed windows meant it retained the heat through the night. We didn't eat at the restaurant, so can't comment on the food or service. The place was quiet (it was a Friday night) - the only noise issue was having a room next to the main doors into the accommodation area - we could hear it creaking open and closed, but luckily it was only a few times and at reasonable hours.

  • Stayed: July 2015, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bruce_Oh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2015

Stayed here for just the one night with my 2 daughters. Very clean, quiet and secure. We had a hearty dinner in the downstairs restaurant, room and meals all at a very reasonable price. Good service for a busy Saturday night. Excellent atmosphere in the resto.

Only thing to fault was lack of wifi, or more correctly, staff could not provide the password. Perhaps the management have their reasons?

Dave

  • Stayed: July 2015, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank saigondave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2015

We have tried time and again to eat at this hotel as it's handy walking distance from the campground. But there is an elderly lady behind the bar who doubles as the waitress that is consistently terrible. She can't remember orders, repeatedly gets them wrong and on our latest visit argued with us when we told her all the drinks we ordered were flat. The couple of times we've been that she hasn't been there and we were looked after by someone else were great. Can't understand why she still has a job!

  • Stayed: April 2015, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AngelaTNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2015

We stumbled across this hotel while walking to find somewhere for dinner. A classic old hotel but a very warm welcome and lovely food at very reasonable prices. Can recommend the lambs fry and bacon was very yum.

  • Stayed: March 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Service
1  Thank pkmathis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2015

Our sports team found the Heritage Hotel to be good value for money. The refurbished rooms were of good size with an ensuite and comfortable beds. The men had good hearty breakfasts before their full day of South Island Woodchopping Championships. We had our team dinner in the dining room which is in keeping with the style of the hotel. The meal was good portions of down-to-earth fare which the men appreciated. We were offered a lock up area for the woodchopping equipment if needed. An added bonus was the hotel being just across the street from where the competition was being held. The staff were always available and their hospitality was excellent. We would be sure to stay again when the competition is held in Geraldine.

Room Tip: Some rooms were quieter than others. I always take ear-plugs just incase!
  • Stayed: March 2015, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ShirleyHocquard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews