We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A 'bucket list' must!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Hermitage Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Hermitage Hotel
North Island
Level Contributor
59 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“A 'bucket list' must!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2012

A spectacular location with views of Mount Cook that can't be beaten. We stayed here for 3 days which was long enough for us in summer but for people interested in walking and outdoor adventure longer might be required.
Our first night was in a motel unit which was very nice and free shuttle to the hotel & back on request which worked superbly.
The following 2 nights were in the main Hotel and in a Premium Room on the 9th floor with fantastic views.
The premium Restaurant 'Panorama' was outstanding as was the service with prices reasonably modest considering the location.
The other Restaurant offers a very reasonable $62 smorgasbord with a glass of wine or beer. The food quality was very good and plenty variety.
The Cafe is another great place with quality food at very reasonable prices and a nice balcony to sit and watch the world go by.

Room Tip: Pay for a premium room if you can its worth the extra, the higher up the better views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 3shepherds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,841 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    578
    664
    403
    139
    57
See reviews for
363
1,084
73
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (464)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Yorktown, Virginia
Level Contributor
171 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2012

We selected this property for our 3 week New Zealand vacation based upon Trip Advisor reviews and price—trying to find the “sweet spot”. We held all our reviews until the end of the trip in hopes of reasonable comparisons across the country, factoring in the standards we found typical in New Zealand (for example, free, unlimited internet is not the norm as it generally is in the US).

We stayed in the “motel” which is physically about 1km from the main hotel. The room was just fine; on par with most of the family owned motels we stayed in during 3 weeks in NZ. Room is well equipped and clean. No internet service in room, yet it is available in the hotel lobby, and both bars.

The room has a partial view of the mountain, if the weather cooperates. Something to bear in mind in deciding on lodging—Mt. Cook is 12,000 ft and makes it’s own weather. It is also obscured much of the year by cloud cover (all the snow that feeds those glaciers comes from somewhere…). Consistent with our NZ trip, it rained over an inch in the 24 hours we had at Mt. Cook and we never saw the mountain. The alternatives are Twizzel, which looked pretty grim from the road, Omarma which looked slightly better, or points even further away.

This room costs about $50NZD more than a comparable room in other resort areas, so make your own value decision. We think in great weather it might be worth the premium, and most assuredly is not if the weather is poor.

Room Tip: The Hermitage knows what they are selling. Room quality varies substantially and is priced accordin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FJVLS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
edinburgh
Level Contributor
297 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 183 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2012

You pay for the view here but when the mist lifts over mount cook it is definetly worth it. The rooms are more than adequate but not what you would expect for the price. We ate in the Panoramic restaurant and although the service was a bit slow the food was wonderful and well worth the wait. Excellent choice and fine dining at its best. Also the wine was no more expensive that other hotels in NZ. Their was an excellent selection at breakfast although try to time it to avoid the crowds. Try too to make time to pop into the Edmund Hilary exhibition as very interesting.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank katie26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wilmslow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2012

We stayed in the motel because we are a family of 5 and that option suited us. The motel unit was a little 'tired', needed a paint and some new furniture, then it would have been perfect. But it was clean and did the the job. We enjoyed the evening buffet at the hotel, even if it is over priced. Mount Cook was covered with cloud when we arrived, but the next morning the sky was clear bright blue. So eating breakfast was even more of a pleasure, as the view of the mountain was stunning. We all when went on the Glacier Explorers boat trip on the terminal lake of the Tasman Glacier. Load of icebergs. The kids loved it. It was amazing. A must do trip.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cinderella6565
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
50 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2012

This hotel is beautifully sited, has very expensive bars and restaurants, and one not cheap but bearable cafeteria. Front desk staff seemed undertrained, and most of the energy of the staff in this hotel goes towards large groups of foreign tourists.

The hotel is very near, but not particularly networked with, the Old Mountaineer's Cafe a short walk away. A bruising business battle between these two establishments seems to have helped the latter but not chastened the former.

Good laundry room, four Internet computers (for a fee) in the lobby.

Room Tip: Ask for a view. Some rooms are more reasonably priced than others. We booked only two days in adva...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LindaGCalais_Vermont
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hermitage_GM, Manager at The Hermitage Hotel, responded to this review, 28 February 2012
Dear valuable guest,

We appreciate that you have taken the time to post your feedback on TripAdvisor.com.
As you will understand, operating a hotel in a National Park in a rural location such as Mount Cook where the nearest small town is 64km away comes with high operational costs. For example every item what we require to comfort our guests and provide them with the level of service they can expect from a hotel of our class has to be road transported to us which is a few hours journey. Being a business we are unable to absorb those costs and have to pass them on to our guests.
At this time of the year we are fortunate enough to offer many guests from all over the world the opportunity to travel to the Hermitage Hotel and visit Aoraki Mount Cook. Regardless if they travel on their own or as a group, our service professionals are trained to ensure that all our guests are well looked after. Once again thank you for your feedback and I hope we will be able to welcome you back to the Hermitage Hotel Aoraki Mount Cook in the future.

Best regards,

Alexander Tschampel
Operations Manager
The Hermitage Hotel
Aoraki Mount Cook
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mt. Cook Village
39.3 km away
Te Waonui Forest Retreat
Te Waonui Forest Retreat
#3 of 14 in Franz Josef
4.5 of 5 bubbles 643 reviews
39.6 km away
Aspen Court Franz Josef
Aspen Court Franz Josef
#1 of 14 in Franz Josef
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,086 reviews
39.3 km away
Scenic Hotel Franz Josef Glacier Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
30.3 km away
Ivory Towers Backpackers Lodge
0.7 km away
Aoraki Court Aoraki/Mt Cook Village
0.6 km away
Mt Cook Lodge and Motels
Mt Cook Lodge and Motels
#4 of 4 in Mt. Cook Village
3.5 of 5 bubbles 319 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hermitage Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hermitage Hotel

Property: The Hermitage Hotel
Address: 89 Terrace Road | Alpine Village, Mt. Cook Village, Aoraki Mount Cook National Park (Te Wahipounamu) 7999, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Mackenzie District > Aoraki Mount Cook National Park (Te Wahipounamu) > Mt. Cook Village
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Mt. Cook Village
Price range (per night): $172 - $523
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Hermitage Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 164
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
From an intrepid journey through glacial valleys to a mouth-watering culinary dining adventure, The Hermitage Hotel is the perfect 'base camp' to discover your Peak Experience. Choose from premium hotel rooms, motel units or cozy chalets. Add world-class activities such as Glacier Explorers, Tasman Valley 4WD and Argo Tours, Big Sky Stargazing, Encounter Day Walks, scenic flights or the visual extravaganza of the Sir Edmund Hillary Alpine Centre and you have a unique, year-round alpine adventure perfect for the family holiday or your next romantic getaway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your The Hermitage Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hermitage Hotel Mt Cook Village
Hermitage New Zealand
The Hermitage Hotel New Zealand/Mt. Cook Village

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing