We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
Travelocity
Booking.com
Orbitz.com
eDreams
View all 14 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (943)
Filter reviews
944 results
Traveller rating
519
220
106
58
41
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
519
220
106
58
41
Show reviews that mention
All reviews gallery restaurant afternoon tea garden room scones chatsworth estate standard room main restaurant coach house this lovely hotel course dinner without exception a real treat fine dining front of house cooked breakfast birthday treat our wedding anniversary
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
10 - 15 of 944 reviews
Reviewed 10 August 2021 via mobile

We booked the Gallery Restaurant today… lovely setting for our anniversary meal. The food was out of this world… vivid flavours and quality produce! The staff were so friendly… our waitress was great… polite and very attentive. The service was quick without being hurried! The views of the Chatsworth estate were amazing.. we will be back for another meal… complements to the chef and our waitress!

Date of stay: August 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank U831PYmarkh
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 August 2021

We stayed here Sunday night. The first time we have stayed. It was fantastic. The staff were amazing and couldn’t have done more. The room was in the inn. It was spacious and comfortable. There were Chatsworth chocolates and biscuits in the room. There was fresh milk in the fridge for coffee and tea. Our evening meal was beautifully cooked and presented. It was a first class experience and we will e back. We left our car in the morning and walked to Chatsworth it was lovely. This was a belated birthday present due to Covid and there was a card in the room wishing me a happy birthday. Thank you to all at the Cavendish

Room tip: A good room overlooking the field over to Chatsworth
Date of stay: August 2021
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jenny C
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 23 July 2021

It is such a shame that a ‘jobsworth’ mentality spoils your experience of having a ‘special’ time at this hotel. The location is brilliant; you can walk into the park of Chatsworth House direct from the hotel, the amenities of the room are good, although the traffic noise is horrendous - rooms have no air-conditioning (or the ones in the Coach House don’t) so you need the windows open. Now for the inability to be flexible; arriving back in an afternoon (temperature 29c) all we wanted was a nice cold drink on the terrace in the shade - alas this proved problematic for the staff, there are only 10 tables on the terrace and these were all taken, no problem as they have a large shaded area that is used for the Champagne & Seafood terrace which was not being used - but this was a problem, we were told that we could not take our drinks and sit in the shade as they didn’t have the staff to service the area (no more than 15 feet from small terrace that was full) and other guest would also want to sit there! We said we were happy to get the drinks ourself from the bar, but no, we could have them in the lounge which does not have a view and is not air conditioned but not on the terrace. This was madness - we were staying at the hotel and this large area was unused and there were no other seats in the gardens. Not only does it leave a bad taste for us, it doesn’t make economic sense, in glorious weather utilise whatever you have outside as surely you want your guest to return from being out and spend money at the hotel, not going to have a drink elsewhere. Just put a sign up saying non-serviced area!

Date of stay: July 2021
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Daffodil90
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philip Joseph, General Manager at Cavendish Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2021

Thank you for your feedback.
Regrettably, none of our 28 bedrooms have air-conditioning, which for a variety of reasons is not viable, not least of which is planning permission within a conservation area such as the Peak National Park, which we discovered to our disappointment when we converted the Coach House from a private dwelling to more guest bedrooms. We were unable to install double glazing for exactly the same reason (madness in my view) which would have gone some way to supressing the road noise - the remaining 24 bedrooms are all on the Estate side of the building and do not overlook the roadside, hence no traffic noise.

Inflexibility is not intended with regards to the Champagne and Seafood Terrace, but it is exactly what it is, a Champagne and Seafood Terrace. Were we to simply extend its use to another drinking area, we then devalue the offering. We would also risk allowing customers to have a drinks only service one day, then refuse the next day because of high demand for tables being required for food the next day.
I am sorry that we were unable to accommodate your request at the time, and am sorry if this appears to demonstrate inflexibility, but we are attempting to be consistent with what we can do.
Many thanks for your comments, I really appreciate the feedback, which is always most useful to me.
Kind regards

Philip Joseph

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2021 via mobile

Visited the champagne and seafood terrace for lunch and have to say the location is superb. The open sided marquee gives an amazing view of the Derbyshire countryside and is comfortable and smart. If visiting on an evening it would probably be advisable to take something with sleeves as it could get a little chilly. Limited menu but a reasonable selection with most of the options coming in a starter or main course size. No issue when asking for dairy free version of starter and main course for myself, thank you. Very well presented and tasty but starter was a very small portion and whilst the main course size was ok for myself it was a little small for my husband. My husband said dessert was delicious but I was unable to order one as they did not come in a dairy free option. Perhaps you could offer a fruit salad or something simple along these lines. Service was good, staff efficient and friendly and we enjoyed been able to see the chef prepare the meal. Overall an enjoyable experience and we will be visiting again

Date of stay: July 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Chesterfield53
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philip Joseph, General Manager at Cavendish Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2021

Many thanks for visiting the Champagne and Seafood Terrace, I am glad you enjoyed the experience.
We do try our best to accommodate most dietary requirements, some we may say we cannot, but it is always best to enquire at the time of booking in order that we can at least try to accommodate.

Many thanks for taking the time and trouble to let us know your comments.

Kind regards

Philip Joseph

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2021 via mobile

Minute food portions & ultra-slow service at the champagne and seafood terrace. Really unfortunate because this is a classy venue that knows how to deliver both fantastic food & service. The main courses we’re small starters. I have been fortunate enough to eat in some wonderful restaurants & so this isn’t a burger eater experiencing fine food for the first time. Not normally one to complain but at nearly £500 it just wasn’t good enough.

Room tip: Avoid the champagne and seafood terrace. My other experiences of this venue have been excellent.
Date of stay: June 2021
Trip type: Travelled with family
2  Thank Dr_SJB_75
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philip Joseph, General Manager at Cavendish Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2021

Dear Dr SJB

Thank you for your comments, which I have taken on board. All the dishes on the menu have been subject to review and I am confident that with the adjustments made, we are offering a good level of customer value.
I would be very pleased to discuss your visit personally, should you wish to give me a call.

Kind regards

Philip Joseph

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews