We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Condescendence is not good in hospitality”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Star Gold Coast
Ranked #8 of 21 Hotels in Broadbeach
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Condescendence is not good in hospitality”
Reviewed 28 September 2013 via mobile

We stayed at Jupiters casino last night and I was appalled at the level of service at check in and check out. On both occasions I was made to feel as though I was causing an inconvenience for the front desk clerk by checking in and out, with the check in process taking more than 20min with the clerk more concerned about whether I'd stayed there before than if this check ins details were correct. Unhelpful, unfriendly with an air of arrogance about themselves is how I would describe the front desk clerks of Jupiters Casino. It put a damper on the whole visit and sadly it's not the first time I've experienced this at Jupiters, but it will definitely be the last time. I will never be staying there again and if asked will strongly advise others not to either!

Stayed September 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Paul D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alison O, Manager at The Star Gold Coast, responded to this review, 8 October 2013
Dear Paul D

Thank you for taking the time to provide a review on your stay with us at Jupiters Hotel & Casino.

It is very disheartening to receive this kind of feedback with regards to our Front Office Agents, please be assured I have forwarded your comments onto our Front Office Manager to followup with her team, please accept my apologies.

Again, thank you for taking the time to let us know Paul.

Kind regards

Jan Kalendra
Sales Manager - Leisure
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,727 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    498
    662
    333
    134
    100
See reviews for
267
726
70
359
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (462)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
South Australia, Australia
Level Contributor
1,027 reviews
148 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 630 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 September 2013

We went and stayed overnight to see the show Cabernet de Paris which was very good. But as accommodation I would look to stay at the newer hotels like the Hilton or even the Marriott
We were in room 1212 which is a corner room balcony king on 12th floor
The Decor is 80s sliding door needs replacing and shower bath 80s retro very small and bad lighting
Even the ironing board and iron was rubbish and old
I really cannot recommend a stay here for any reason unless you want to gamble in an old shabby casino that even smells like the 80s
One huge criticism is the food service during the day. The Prince Albert pub does no food till 4pm a curious thing given its huge kitchen, so you have to go to spinners which is just a fast turnaround expensive no atmosphere junk food mixed with blue rinse porkies players
As a person staying there the only other option is the casino cafe which is rubbish buffet and blue rinse porkies players again
He'll jupiters get your act together! people actually want choice and food during the day. open the Prince Albert to lunch burgers and bar food

Room Tip: High up on north side have views and away from noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tim J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alison O, Manager at The Star Gold Coast, responded to this review, 8 October 2013
Dear Tim J

Thank you for coming to stay with us here at Jupters Hotel & Casino, and for posting your review on TripAdvisor on our Hotel.

Whilst it is disheartening to receive this kind of feedback, we believe it is the most important way to identify our strengths and weaknesses and ensures our ongoing commitment to a higher level of service excellence. Please be assured your comments have been forwarded onto the appropriate Managers for their review.

Again, thank you for taking the time to let us know and we do hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to Jupiters again.

Kind regards

Jan Kalendra
Sales Manager - Leisure
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
56 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2013

Stayed here for a work conference at the adjoining Gold Coast Convention and Exhibition Centre, which is connected by elevated walkway.

The hotel & casino form an impressive landmark on the highway a block back from the beach on a private island, warranting the need for the elevated walkway and monorail for pedestrian connection to the surrounding areas.

Given that reception is on the floor above the lobby, I was happy that concierge offered to take my bags to my room. Check in was fairly simple, with in-room wifi arranged as a part of the conference package rate.
The rooms are part of the tallest portion of the building, with corridors overlooking the lobby and night club via heavy windows which keep the sound down.
The room I was allocated was comfortably furnished with two double beds but cozy. I imagine the more expensive rooms are more spacious. There was a little wear and tear evident but nothing worth complaining about.

For some reason the in-room air-con was set to 28 degrees, a little puzzling but I was quite happy as I like it warm.

Unfortunately I didn't have the time to check out the pool up close or the hotel dining.

My only complaints would be that the alarm clock was 7 minutes late, causing morning frustration (quite possibly a previous guest had changed it?) and the monorail was closed the day I tried to use it (I needed the walk anyway).

I'll definitely consider staying here again.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tropicalpenguin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alison O, Manager at The Star Gold Coast, responded to this review, 2 October 2013
Dear tropicalpenguin

Thank you for providing such a positive review via Tripadvisor on your recent stay at Jupiters!

Your feedback is extremely important to us and is an essential tool in ensuring we are not only able to meet but continually improve our service and overall customer experience.

I was delighted to read that our high standards have been met and you enjoyed your overall experience with us again.

Thank you for providing your feedback and we look forward to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to Jupiters again soon.

Warm regards
Jan Kalendra
Sales Manager Leisure
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2013

I tagged along with my partner during their convention week.
The convention center is just 3 min walk from the hotel and 5-8 min walk to Broadbeach center (due to major road construction).
Next to the hotel is also a 4 min walk to a big Pacific Fair Shopping Center and the Dracula's Cabaret Restaurant.
Though my partner was all day at the convention, I never had a boring time exploring broadbeach the malls including the Surfers Paradise.
The bus stop to major destinations is just right across from main entrance.
It was very convenient just to hop in and hop off if you decide to go to Currumbin wildpark, Surfers Paradise, and other major attractions.
I love the Pacific Fair mall! It has an indoor foodcourt and outdoor too with plenty of choices.
Coles and Kmart are also in the center.
I was lucky to find this outlet store close to the Cinemas that didn't look special at all from the outside.
I bought 2 San Francisco Tshirts with a very good quality of cotton made from India for $3.00 each clearance price.
There was an Ice Cream Parlor close to the garden that had an excellent quality.
Honestly, I found all the prices in this mall way way cheaper than in Melbourne.
As for the Surfers Paradise, it's an easy ride from the hotel to the center, cost $4.80 each way.
Or you can choose to walk from Broadbeach'beach to Surfer's beach for about 30-40 min walk.
It's also very nice to watch either the Sunset or Sunrise.
Our usual morning was to walk to get coffee outside and walk towards the water.
The swimming pool in the hotel was very very nice as it was huge and very well kept.
They had plenty of umbrellas and sun lounges.
Be aware of the Eastern Water Dragon but i think they are harmless.
Our room was on the first level overlooking the casino and the restaurant from the room lobby.
It was very nice.
The breakfast from this hotel was fantastic! Excellent, I would say!
They had live band across from the casino entrance on the lobby and i found it really amusing.
They also played various shows every evening.
Overall, We did enjoy staying in this hotel.
It is very easy access to everything including entertainments and shoppings.
We will be back again.

Room Tip: Explore other attractions by taking the bus right in front of the hotel. To kill some time, you can...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 5745edelweiss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alison O, Manager at The Star Gold Coast, responded to this review, 2 October 2013
Dear 5745edelweiss

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your recent visit to the Gold Coast and stay with us at Jupiters Hotel & Casino. We are delighted to hear your recent stay with us was so enjoyable.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Jupiters Hotel & Casino and the Gold Coast in the near future.

Warm regards

Jan Kalendra
Sales Manager - Leisure
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geelong, Australia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2013

We have stayed at a number of Hotel Casinos around Australia and Jupiter’s on the Gold Coast overall is the best by a long way!! We are from Victoria and Jupiter’s could certainly teach The Crown Casinos and Hotels in Melbourne what it takes to make Guests feel very welcome, a feeling that they want you there staying at their Hotel and how to go about making the holiday and the experience absolutely superb.. All the staff we meet from the gentleman at the front door on arrival, to the ladies who delivered us breakfast each morning in the room, as well the staff who delivered us cold drinks and snacks beside the pool were all extremely helpful and friendly making a big difference to our stay and holiday that you do not get at too many other Resort hotels.. We are not interested in Gambling but we love staying at these types of resorts because everything is under one roof from several different Bars, Heaps of different Restaurants, Health Spa, Gym and massive resort style pool with so much room to relax it always felt like we were there by ourselves.. Plus it has the convenience of a shop that is open 24 hours a day.. But if you felt like or wanted to go somewhere else it’s so easy jump on the monorail right out the front of the Hotel and before you know it you are in the massive shopping and Restaurant precinct of Broad Beach with so many shops to look at and heaps of restaurants and food places to choose from and when you have had your fill just roll back onto the monorail and its back to the Hotel… We picked a corner superior room with balcony a great chose, the room was a great size very well appointed, good storage space, big king size bed which was very comfortable, had a living area with table and chairs, sensational views up to the Gold Coast from the room and from the balcony where we sipped many a cold drinks the views were spectacular.. The bathroom was the only let down, still very well appointed and very clean like the room and the rest of the hotel but it was bit small and was very old hat with a shower over bath.. But if ever l was ever going to travel to the Gold Coast again I would only stay at Jupiter’s…

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rowan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alison O, Manager at The Star Gold Coast, responded to this review, 26 September 2013
Dear Rowan M

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your recent visit to the Gold Coast and stay with us at Jupiters Hotel & Casino.

It is always lovely to hear when our guests are happy and have had a great stay at our Hotel and it is of course pleasing to hear that they would consider staying with us again.

We do hope to see you again should you ever be back visiting the beautiful Gold Coast.

Warm regards
Jan Kalendra
Sales Manager - Leisure
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Broadbeach
0.3 km away
Meriton Suites Broadbeach
Meriton Suites Broadbeach
#1 of 21 in Broadbeach
7,395 reviews
0.5 km away
Peppers Broadbeach
Peppers Broadbeach
#2 of 21 in Broadbeach
2,740 reviews
0.4 km away
Sofitel Gold Coast Broadbeach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 km away
QT Gold Coast
QT Gold Coast
#4 of 32 in Surfers Paradise
2,633 reviews
1.6 km away
Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise
Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise
#7 of 32 in Surfers Paradise
1,175 reviews
3.4 km away
Peppers Soul
Peppers Soul
#1 of 32 in Surfers Paradise
2,047 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Star Gold Coast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Star Gold Coast

Property: The Star Gold Coast
Address: Cnr Gold Coast Highway & TE Peters Drive | Broadbeach Island, Broadbeach, Gold Coast, Queensland 4218, Australia (Formerly Jupiters Hotel & Casino Gold Coast)
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Queensland > Gold Coast > Broadbeach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Broadbeach
Price range (per night): $51 - $770
Hotel Class:5 star — The Star Gold Coast 5*
Number of rooms: 596
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Positioned amongst seven stunning acres of landscaped gardens, The Star Gold Coast is ideally located on Broadbeach Island, just minutes from the heart of Broadbeach. Discover some of the world's best beaches, only a short stroll or revel in the nearby Pacific Fair and Oasis shopping centres. Alternatively, relax in 5 star luxury in the stunning new swimming pool or for a touch of indulgence, a massage. Offering a range of first class entertainment, including a wide range of restaurants, bars and the never ending excitement of the casino, The Star Gold Coast combines world-class facilities and 24-hour entertainment with the luxury of an international hotel. 596 Rooms provide sweeping views of the Pacific Ocean and Gold Coast Hinterland. With so much under the one roof, what will you get up to. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Star Gold Coast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jupiters Hotel And Casino Gold Coast
Conrad Hotel Jupiters
Conrad Broadbeach
Conrad Jupiters
Broadbeach Conrad
The Star Gold Coast Broadbeach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing