We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,072)
Filter reviews
1,073 results
Traveller rating
713
249
77
21
13
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
713
249
77
21
13
Show reviews that mention
All reviews hot tub premium restaurant la perlita level restaurant level reception barcelo castillo premium level level guests dunas pool bar pool area brought round breakfast and dinner restaurant el half board on arrival the main hotel the main buffet restaurant
Filter
Updating list...
65 - 70 of 1,073 reviews
Reviewed 14 August 2018

We had booked into a local hotel but after a few nights of noise and a poor quality of relaxation we booked ourselves in to the Barcelo Castillo Royal Level. What a difference we felt! Relaxed, looked after brilliantly by friendly and helpful staff. Thanks to Laura and her team and who went above and beyond (eg with the Cava and chocolates)!

We had great food at the El Ancla retaurant, bar snacks and drinks at the lovely pool (no fighting over sunbeds!), lovely cocktails at El Faro, friendly service and good food at La Perlita and my daughter had the time of her life at the kids' club, from standing under the bucket skull water drop to hanging out in the fort. A great team all round.

Our only minor issue is that, along with many hotels, the main door is not soundproofed so you can hear music til late and be woken by delivery vehicles etc early - maybe worth not being near the road.

Date of stay: August 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DMorgs71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
elcastillorrpp, Guest Relations Manager at Barcelo Castillo Royal Level, responded to this reviewResponded 16 August 2018

Dear Guest,
first of all we would like to thank you for taking the time to share your positive experience, it is always greatly rewarding knowing that our guests have had a good time with us! We are happy to know you enjoyed our amenities as well as our restaurants throughout the resort. Our new Barcy Club is having a great success with the little ones, there is no better holiday than a holiday where everyone in the family can fully enjoy, glad to read your daughter brought home with her good memories! We are sorry it has been sometimes a little noisy and we trust this has not affected the relaxing atmosphere all around. Once again, thank you for sharing your experience we truly hope to have the chance to exceed your expectation very soon! With kind regards, Laura Sacchi Royal Level Service Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2018

We have a 8 year old & 2 year old & we are at the stage where we can't all stay in the same room - we've tried before and the result is none of us getting any sleep!

After some careful researching we stumbled across the Barcelo Castillo Royal Level which is unique in that you can get a suite which has a separate main bedroom with a door. This allowed us to put the 2 year old in the cot in our room but still gave us the main area to entertain and chat with the 8 year old. When it was his bedtime we were able to unfold the sofa-bed and retire to the bedroom. As an extra bonus the suite also has small kitchen facilities with fridge, microwave etc which allowed us to make small lunches for fussy kids.

My partner was emphatic that she didn’t want to do any cooking whilst we were away so by selecting half board we were catered for, we found by ordering two lunches at any of the Barcelo café’s the portion sizes were more than enough for four of us to share.

We ate our breakfast and lunch and the El Ancla restaurant which is upstairs (they have a lift so no issues for the buggy) and exclusive for Royal level guests. It’s much smaller than the massive self-service buffet restaurants we’ve encountered in the past, we were able to just go up to any of the stations order food and take it back to the table almost immediately, ideal when you have the kids and are all trying to eat at the same time. The food was always excellent and very attentive staff. Views across the marina are spectacular along with the planes coming into the land if you are a bit of a geek like we started to become. We ventured off to El Faro the cocktail bar a couple of times and the view, sunset and drinks were excellent, almost feels like you’re on a boat, a shame we had to get the rugrats to bed!

The pool area was again perfect for our family as we were able to get close to the baby pool and also the deeper pool allowing us to keep a close eye on the kids. There is a life guard on duty the whole time the pool is open which is also peace of mind. Sun loungers available all the time (nice to not have to be out at 6am claiming them), John or Juan as he should be called was a real pleasure to be around, chatty (but not too chatty) a great service from him & he and made a real effort with the kids remembering everyone’s name around the pool – we don’t know how he does it.

Would like to give a special mention to Laura and Laura from Royal Level Reception who went above and beyond with a small accident that we had whilst staying at the hotel, nothing was too much trouble and they had genuine concern for my son who had hurt himself.

We spoke to many guests during our stay and many have returned to the hotel for a number of consecutive years saying that it gives them everything they need & I’m of the same mindset, whilst we have a young family why would we go anywhere else. So Laura & Laura if you’re reading this we’ll be returning next year!

Room tip: We followed advice from TripAdvisor and definitely ask for block 4
Date of stay: July 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Mark2879
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
elcastillorrpp, Guest Relations Manager at Barcelo Castillo Royal Level, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2018

Dear Mark,
first of all thank you ever so much for taking the time to share such a nice feedback with us and with all TripAdvisos´ readers, we are ever so happy to read you had a great time with us! It is nice reading that our suite´s facilities allowed you and your partner to relax and have good nights sleep, there is no greater reward knowing that our guests had enjoyed their holiday, including the little ones! We are happy to know you did enjoy our buffet restaurant El Ancla, its exclusivity and privacy along with the quality of food provided offer indeed an ideal atmosphere and we are delighted you made the most of it. The Lounge Bar Faro has indeed an incredible scenario, and it does seem you are out in the see! Glad you enjoyed their outstanding cocktails!
We will share your kind words with all the staff by the pool area and in the restaurant as we know it will mean a lot to them knowing they contributed to a great holiday!
Both Laura and myself are very much looking forward to welcoming you all back next year, should you wish to get in touch directly please do not hesitate.
Once again thank you for this great review and best of regards to the whole family.
Sincerely, Laura Sacchi Royal Level Service Manager


Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2018

We stayed her in April for 2 weeks as a family of 4 and absolutely fell in love with this hotel. So much so that me and my wife decided to come back just 4 nights on 26th July on our own without the kids. Everything was just as amazing as it was in April. The room was brilliant with unbelievable views over the pool and sea. The same can be said about the views from the pool where there is such a relaxing atmosphere and of course there is Juan at the pool bar, nothing is too much trouble for him and how he remembers everyones name is beyond me. He even remembered our names from April.
The food in El Ancla, Noray and La perlita was up there with any restaurants we have ever been to, It is hard to remember that this is all inclusive because of the variety of restaurants you can choose from. The cocktails in El Faro are a must and again, the views, WOW!
The staff were always smiling, however our favouite member of staff from our last vist was sadly not there this time, her name was Estefania, she was such a lovely person who always made time to come and say hello to our 6 month old daughter Lottie. We only watched one evening show this time, the Michael Jackson tribute, which was good for what it was.
Lastly i have to mention Laura at check in, an absolute credit to the hotel and such a welcoming young woman who went out of her way to make sure we had everything we needed.
Thankyou Barcelo for another fantastic holiday . See you all again soon

Date of stay: July 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Barcelo Hotels & Resorts
Thank Paul G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
elcastillorrpp, Guest Relations Manager at Barcelo Castillo Royal Level, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2018

Dear Paul,

Once again, heartfelt thanks for your kind words. For us it is very important to know how did you feel during the stay and we are very pleased to have achieved your expectations every time you come to Barceló Royal Level. It is a pleasure to work for guests like you, grateful for the work we do.
I hope you have been able to enjoy and rest these days without the children. I will send your congratulations to each member of the team.

Paul thanks for choosing us on more time, I hope to serve you again in the future.

Best regards,

Laura Hernández Galindo
Royal Level Service Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2018

Exceptional customer service provided by Laura. Quality accommodation in great location, next to lovely harbour area. Children enjoyed the facilities in and around the hotel and my husband and I enjoyed the outdoor space with our room for relaxing.

Date of stay: July 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Review collected in partnership with Barcelo Hotels & Resorts
Thank N7ega
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
elcastillorrpp, Guest Relations Manager at Barcelo Castillo Royal Level, responded to this reviewResponded 2 August 2018

Dear Guest,

First of all thank you very much for sharing your experience on Tripadvisor. It is very important for us to know how our customers have felt during their stay.
All the Royal Level team works hard every day to give the best service to our customers. We are very happy that you felt comfortable and we will pass on your pleasant comments to Laura.
We are also glad that the room you stayed in has been cleaned anytime.

We are very happy that the whole family was able to enjoy the holidays.
Thank you once again for choosing us and we hope to welcome you again very soon.

Best regards,

Laura Hernández Galindo
Royal Level Service Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2018

Great family break as always
A few new improvements noticed & welcomed
Staff excellent as usual esp Jon at Dunas (the kids love seeing him every summer, he is so brilliant) & Laura who ensured our requirements were met
See you next year!

Date of stay: July 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Barcelo Hotels & Resorts
Thank HettyJB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
elcastillorrpp, Guest Relations Manager at Barcelo Castillo Royal Level, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2018

Dear Hetty,
thank you ever so much for sharing your latest stay with us, it is great reading that our regular guests always enjoy their time and bring home good memories! We are thrilled to know you also appreciated our improvements, thank you for pointing this out, we always strive to improve our service and will continue to do so. We will definitely pass on to Jon your lovely words and we are sure this will mean a lot to him, and both my colleague Laura and myself would like to thank you for your kinds words it has been a real pleasure looking after you!
The whole Royal Level team is very much looking forward to welcoming you all back next year!
Kind regards,
Laura Sacchi
Royal Level Service Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews