We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb Food”
Review of Alleys Restaurant

Alleys Restaurant
Ranked #8 of 41 Restaurants in Currumbin
Price range: US$11 - US$26
Cuisines: Seafood, Australian, Contemporary, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Description: Situated within the multi-award winning Currumbin RSL and with uninterrupted views of the picturesque Currumbin estuary, Alleys Restaurant offers contemporary dining in a stunning atmosphere and is a favourite venue for locals and tourists alike. Featuring locally sourced produce - including herbs and vegetables from the club's own gardens, a variety of gluten free, vegetarian and vegan options, prepared with the culinary creativity by Head Chef - Felicity Best. Alleys caters for everyone in the family. Children's meals and a free kids club with iPads look after the young patrons plus kids eat free every Wednesday night*. While the restaurant always offers its full a la carte menu, Monday night is curry night and Tuesday night is roast night. Alleys is open for lunch and dinner, 7 days a week*. It is located within the Currumbin RSL club on Currumbin Creek Road at Currumbin, on the Gold Coast. Alleys' superb food is complemented by its friendly service and stunning water views. Live music accompanies your dining experience every Friday, Saturday and Sunday. Alleys is one among other restaurants in Queensland that had won the Clubs Queensland Awards. It was awarded the Best Club Restaurant in Queensland 2007, 2008, 2009 and most recently in 2015. The Club itself won Best Club Gold Coast 2014 and 2015, Best Licensed RSL 2014, Best Gaming Venue 2014, Best Community Service 2014, Best Club Redevelopment and Qld Club of the Year 2015. In 2017 Alleys received Best Club Dining Runner up.
Reviewed 18 September 2017

Back again & just as happy with Food & service as last time,we visited for lunch.atmosphere great,view fantastic,food tasted great & plenty of it.We both had Roast Beef juicy and tender, cauliflower and white sauce and veggies,best roast dinner we have had for a long time,would fully recommend this meal to anyone.We were waited on by a young gentleman always with a smile on his face & extremely helpful,if there was an award for best service attendance I would have to him 18/9/17, you can actually see he enjoys his job and takes pride in doing so,these are the staff you need working for you. I'm going to share my pleasant lunch experience with my friends. I do hope that young man gets a movie pass or something, just to show that his work is appreciated & doesn't go unnoticed.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank jules22017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 6 October 2017

Hi Jules
Thank you for your wonderful review and compliments, I have passed your comments on to both our kitchen and restaurant teams.
We look forward to seeing you back in Alleys again soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (100)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

5 - 9 of 100 reviews

Reviewed 13 September 2017

First Visit had one dish "Beef burger and chips"

Best I've had in along time ! Very comfy seats outside overlooking Currumbin creek.

Swift , Knowledgeable and attentive staff.

Can't wait to try the rest of the menu !

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank jm4228
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 17 September 2017

Thank you so much for your lovely review on both our food and venue.

It sure is a lovely view out on the Deck overlooking the water.We pride our selves on our customer service so it's nice to hear our wonderful staff looked after you well. I will pass your review on to them.

We look forward to seeing you on your next visit to Currumbin RSL
Caroline
Exec F & B Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2017 via mobile

My wife and I took our kids to Alleys to celebrate their uni success. The atmosphere , service and food were all fantastic! I had the slow cooked pork belly (pictured) ,which was both well presented and very tasty.

Thank Anthony B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 22 June 2017

Hi Anthony
So pleased to hear you had a great night with us, enjoying the service and items form our new menu! We look forward to seeing you back again soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2017 via mobile

We had booked for lunch after the Anzac March, 9 people one 90 in a wheel chair.
One person greeting a long line of guests. There were at least 6 staff but no one seemed to know what was going on.
After the confusion of the booking we requested we wanted our own bill for the 9 of us, 'that was not policy.' We said then we will separate the tables, would that work. Lots of no not possible until we said we will leave. That worked.
Staff were cleaning cutlery while we were waiting to order for 15 minutes.
No drinks could be consumed before 1pm as it was Anzac Day. We had just had beers at Pottsville RSL, I know it's NSW but we were still in the same country.
Once we had ordered meals were quick to arrive, they were well presented and tasty, thanks kitchen but your front of house staff need some training. It's a restaurant we were not there to admire the view.

1  Thank Rhonda C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 17 May 2017

Hi Rhonda
Sorry to hear you didn't enjoy your experience - hopefully I can explain. ANZAC Day for us is our busiest day on the calendar however we have the procedures pretty down pat. Not being able to order alcohol until 1pm is not a state law it is our club policy. Basically we have a very busy morning from the gun fire breakfast from 6am through until the completion of the mid-morning service at approximately 12.30pm – with thousands coming through our doors.

We ‘close’ the club to the general public from the start of the mid-morning service until 1pm – except for our restaurant bookings – this is so we can allow restaurant bookings ease of entry before the influx of other patrons (of which there are many - you would have noticed the hundreds that came through our doors at the one time) ‘Closing’ for the mid-morning service allows the service to be uninterrupted and once over gives us a small opportunity to get the club back in order and prepare for a very busy afternoon.

Our policy for bill payment is one bill per table – sorry if this doesn’t sit well with you however it is mentioned on our menu

We are glad to hear you enjoyed the food and its prompt delivery.

We hope you join us again on any of the other 364 days of the year when things are a lot less chaotic

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2017

A great place for celebrations, intimate dinners and a place to take your family. Food and service is always great and outlook fantastic. A place we go to for all our celebrations or just a romantic dinner for two.

Thank Dianne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Currumbin_Palm_Beach, Public Relations Manager at Alleys Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2017

HI Dianne
Thank you for you lovely and succinct compliments! We look forward to having you back again for a romantic dinner or celebration :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Alleys Restaurant also viewed

Coolangatta, Gold Coast
 
Coolangatta, Gold Coast
Currumbin, Gold Coast
 
Coolangatta, Gold Coast
 

Been to Alleys Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing