We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Chwar Chra Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Erbil Hotel View(Erbil)(Great Value!)
US$70
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$82
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$150
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$80
US$73
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$98
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Merci Hotel(Erbil)(Great Value!)
US$51
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Canyon Hotel Erbil(Erbil)(Great Value!)
US$84
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$120
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$266
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$233
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (22)
Filter reviews
22 results
Traveller rating
1
13
7
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1
13
7
1
0
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
14 - 19 of 22 reviews
Reviewed 4 December 2011

Erbil is not really a tourist destination, but this is a reasonable hotel, with good food and comfortable, large rooms. Wifi is available in the rooms. Quite a lot of the decor is tired, and there is no pool or public rooms. Prices are high, but that is normal in Kurdistan

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Alasseur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2011

I stayed at this hotel for one week, and it was ok. Since it was winter, I appreciated the heating system. The personnel was nice and friendly, even thoug i am a woman travelling alone and don't speak kurdish. However, besides the decor, there is not much difference between this hotel and another one i stayed at in Erbil. However, the price is very different....

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank choupette038
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2011

I will start by saying I did not choose this hotel myself. I was in Iraq (Kurdistan) on contract and my employer made the hotel arrangements. There are many, many hotels in Erbil a.k.a. Irbil, Arbil. Many, if not most, of them are very modern. So don't think that just because there are only a few listed here that there are only a few in town. It has as many hotels as you would expect in a modern city of 2-3 million people.
However, this hotel filled my needs very well. The room was ok even tho it was a bit small and a bit dated. The hotel was built about 10 years ago but it has obviously seen a lot of use. The hotel is also a sort of a conference center. They are currently just beginning to renovate the rooms. The new rooms will be very nice. Much brighter and more modern and attractive.
BE AWARE, you are in Iraq. It is not going to be the ritz carlton. The power goes off several times each day for a few seconds to several minutes at a time. Internet access can be unrealiable. That is just the way it is there. That is why I only gave sleep quality an average rating. Everytime the power flashes, which it seemed to do about midnite every nite, you have turn the A/C on again or else it gets warm and stuffy pretty quick.
A fairly large breakfast buffet is included with the room. However, the choices are the same everyday, so it gets a little old after 10 days.
Security at the hotel is good. There is an armed guard out front. I had no worries anywhere on the property or anywhere else in Kurdistan for that matter.
My room got cleaned and straightened everyday. No worries about stuff in my room disappearing.
The rooms were quiet. Most importantly the bathrooms were modern. Soap, shampoo, TP, towels and kleenex are provided. There is a shower, sink and "European" toilet. The towels were a little scratchy but if you choose to re-use them a time or two they soften up. There is a minifridge with 2 bottles of water each day but the tap water is fine to drink. I drank it, no problem.
The Turkish bath is probably a lot more of a draw in the winter when it is cold outside. Not much incentive to go to the sauna when it is 100+ (38+) degrees outside. There is a workout facility. You can also get a massage. Only thing lacking is a swimming pool.
If you are American, there is an excellent young man working ther named Zana. He speaks American English, Kurdish and Arabic. He is very helpful to Americans (and everyone else too) staying at the hotel.
Beer (several brands) is available at the hotel bar, as is Pepsi, Coke, 7up... But if you intend to drink very many, take a cab to Ankawa (the Christian/Catholic suburb) and purchase some there. Also there are a couple convience stores about 2 blocks to the east where you can buy drinks and snacks, etc.
The Kurdish people are warm and hospitable and excellent hosts. I would not hesitate to travel to Erbil or the Kurdish region of Iraq.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank masterjohnson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2015
Google Translation

  • Stayed: November 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2014
Google Translation

Room Tip: Не про номер) У ресторана есть часы перерывов - будьте бдительны)
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews