We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (173)
Filter reviews
173 results
Traveller rating
49
86
27
9
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
49
86
27
9
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews outdoor pool one night the main road train garden base restaurant airport
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 173 reviews
Reviewed 14 September 2017 via mobile

A delightful, friendly hotel with good food, gorgeous gardens and an outdoor pool. It's about 30 mins drive to the town of Bastia(depending on traffic)and a little haven from the bustle of a town. There is not anywhere to walk to as it is on the main road so good to relax and enjoy the pool and garden. You need a car to get here..nearest village is about 2 miles. The train line runs at the bottom of the garden but trains are not frequent. The rooms are comfortable, clean and very quiet.Chez Walter is a good base for a couple of nights and feels relaxed and welcoming. Its not luxurious but very good for its standard.

Date of stay: September 2017
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank MandyAJK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2017

This hotel is basic! It rather resembles a national road motel rather than a 3 stars hotel!

Situated on a national road from Bastia near the airport (6mins by car, very convenient), the building is not very welcoming at all.

The whole complex is on 2 levels, with an architecture dating back to the late 1990's.

The rooms are outdated, tiny tv, worn out carpet, small bed, white tiled bathroom. The overall look needs an uplift and urgent modernization.

The amenities are also very basic, with a small canteen for breakfast service (croissants were good), a medium size pool (that can use a good cleaning), and a restaurant with worn out déco.

Nonetheless the staff is very welcoming, especially the ladies at reception who will gladly offer you a coffee, help you with directions and so on.

Room tip: All the rooms are basic!
Date of stay: August 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Will W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2017 via mobile

We spent one night at Chez Walter. Everybody was welcoming and the room and bathroom were very clean and had good a/c.
The breakfast buffet had an excellent choice.
Will be coming again!
The hotel is close to Poretta Airport and not far from Borgo.

Date of stay: June 2017
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank emnosoluky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2016

We booked this hotel for one night after spending a week in Eurocamp caravan. We needed to be near the airport as we had an early flight home.
Chez Walter looks a bit run down on the outside, could really do with some new signs, but once inside everything was fine. Our garden facing premium room was spotlessly clean, plenty of toiletries and a good shower. We had a private patio area in front the room overlooking the gardens. Unfortunately the location is next to an industrial plant, though I think this will be less obvious once all the trees around the site have grown bigger.
We had a pleasant meal in the restaurant though didn't have breakfast as leaving too early. Also enjoyed a swim in the pool, which was very refreshing and the water quality seemed good.
Would recommend for those needing to stop near airport.

Room tip: Garden view rooms have the best view
Date of stay: June 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank karenridesbikes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2015

We stayed here for two nights whilst visiting Bastia. The hotel is set in lovely gardens with a swimming pool and has only two levels. As a restaurant it is popular with locals and the owner is obviously a football and motor rally fanatic as there are a great many signed photos of various stars and flags of many European football clubs. There is a large dining room where you can sit and watch lobsters in a large tank. There is a well stocked bar but the barmaid during our stay was without personality. We were served virtually the same evening meal on two nights. Breakfasts were good but only one person made an occasional appearance to service the tables. Maybe due to it being the end of the holiday season! Our room was very good with a balcony. There was no lift to the first floor.

Room tip: We liked the first floor.
Date of stay: October 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Paul H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews