We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Mediterraneo(Giovinazzo)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 25/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$72
US$69
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$80
US$77
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 13% below average rates

The price you found is 13% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$89/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$77
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Porto di mare(Giovinazzo)
Free cancellation until 25/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$106
Booking.com
View Deal
Vecchia Giovinazzo(Giovinazzo)
US$80
Booking.com
View Deal
US$83
Booking.com
View Deal
BB Giro di Boa(Giovinazzo)
US$81
B&B.it
View Deal
B&B Giovinazzo(Giovinazzo)
US$93
B&B.it
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Lafayette(Giovinazzo)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (172)
Filter reviews
172 results
Traveller rating
63
59
17
24
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
63
59
17
24
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsold townbari airportconverted monasterysmall townpleasant surpriselovely room with sea viewcoastwifilightingpatiokeycorridorantiquesshameitaly
Filter
Updating list...
8 - 13 of 172 reviews
Reviewed 16 September 2015

We made a day of reservation to stay at San Martin hotel due to an early flight from Bari the next morning. The old building is interesting, the rooms and furniture are quirky and the operation of the hotel is somewhat less than well oiled. But, in lieu of staying at an airport hotel, the little seaside town is atmospheric and the access to Bari airport excellent. They have wi fi but it is only accessible by getting a password via a text message which I found annoying.

  • Stayed: September 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank tdcCT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2015

Giovinazzo,is THE place to visit for us, a Norwegian family, who wants to get away from places full of tourists and experience a genuine small Italian village with a lot of local resturants with good Italian food. The hotel is a historical place, and old monastery, converted to a comfortable hotel with a spectacular view. We even had the roof terrace by our own most days with a fantastic and relaxing view to the Adriatic sea. The staff is service minded and very helpful. This is a great place to stay for all who want a relaxing time in a genuine small Italian village. Recommended by hart.

Stayed: July 2015
3  Thank thankful676
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2014

We booked San Martin Hotel in January 2014 for our August holiday. We arrived with our booking number and we were told that the Hotel was under new management and our booking did not exist as they had changed their email address and all previous bookings had not been transferred over to the new management. on hearing this we were very upset and disappointed as August is peak season and a very busy time in Giovinazzo.
Domenico was very helpful and after a quick phone call to the manager, a large family room was found for us.
Overall we found the staff to be very pleasant and helpful, breakfast was good.
This was our second stay and we would go back again.
.

Room Tip: There is free WiFi in the lobby. Rooms are air conditioned A little noisy in the summer months
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank Maria B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2014

This hotel was a real disappointment. We had a confirmation number that we received from our travel agent, who booked the hotel in May. When we were arrived we were told there was no reservation on our name in a very rude and mean way. We were told that the hotel became under new management in March. Even though our reservation was made in May, it disappeared. We got our travel agent on the phone and a disagreement ensued. We were also told that there was a big festival coming to town. The one kind thing that happened was that one of the other workers gave us some cappuccino and some cake. Other than that it was a very disorganized situation, and we left.

Room Tip: Confirm your room the day before your arrival.
  • Stayed: September 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank annieb71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2014

We chose the hotel San Martin Hotel for 2 reasons, firstly the reviews of previous guests and secondly its geographical location. We went with high expectations but these were not meet.
It started badly when the pre booked airport to hotel transfer failed to arrive. Contact with the hotel failed to resolve the problem and we were left having to find a way to the hotel using public transport. So instead of a 20 minute transfer we were on buses, trains and finally our feet for about 3.5 hours.
On arrival in Giovinazzo we asked about getting a taxi to the hotel but the town has no taxi services! A passer by heard us enquiring and on our behalf he phoned the hotel and asked them to send a car, we waited for 15-20 minutes but no car appeared. So began a long walk to the hotel. On our arrival we were met by a most apologetic young man but this did not improve our humour.
Things continued to deteriorate. The pictures of the roof garden and various terraces were delightful but the reality was less so! The roof garden looked as though a bomb had hit it, with piles of stones scattered all around, and what might once have been a canopy, in shreds. The solarium furniture was in a distressed looking state and cushions for them were nowhere to be seen and neither were the picturesque parasols! We found a terrace adjoining the reading room, also with a distressed looking sofa but with cushions stored in the reading room, alas the cushions were dirty with evidence of bird droppings on them. In the reading room itself there were some blue chair but they were covered in dust.
The continental breakfast was adequate with a variety of items but it hardly varied throughout the week. (One morning my wife had to cover the sliced melon to keep the flies off).
The hotel building itself could not be more different to those found in hotel "chains" and I thought this was a pleasant change. Unfortunately my wife was not as impressed as she thought it was like sleeping in a museum!
On checking out I was told that the cost for our stay was 630€ but our booking confirmation showed it was 770€. I queried this (although I was seriously tempted not to) and showed the booking confirmation e mail. Suddenly 770€ was the correct price!
We wondered whether the hotel is more often used by guests just for a day or two and that guests staying for a week are something of an exception .We would have expected that after 2 or 3 days seeing us appear at breakfast my daily cappuccino order and the cold milk for my wife's cup of tea might just appear, but every day until our last breakfast they had to be ordered
Overall our impression was that of an unprofessional approach to the running of the hotel by a variety of young people.

For us it was an extremely disappointing stay.

  • Stayed: September 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
7  Thank maltwhiskyman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews