We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
SBH Taro Beach
Nearby Hotels
US$153
US$149
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$177
US$162
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
SBH Monica Beach(Costa Calma)
US$213
US$206
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$163
US$119
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 30% below average rates

The price you found is 30% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$171/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$125
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 17% below average rates

The price you found is 17% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$151/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$158
US$141
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 17% below average rates

The price you found is 17% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$170/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$206
US$200
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
H10 Tindaya(Costa Calma)
US$193
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Royal Suite(Costa Calma)
US$126
US$115
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 15% below average rates

The price you found is 15% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$136/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Bahia Calma(Costa Calma)(Great Value!)
US$67
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (371)
Filter reviews
371 results
Traveller rating
79
155
80
23
34
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
79
155
80
23
34
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshigh wallsspecial thanksfishgerman visitorshotel roompastaevery eveningfamily holidaybeach barsea viewmin walksun loungershorizontesabrinaintermittentreceptionistpolish
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 371 reviews
Reviewed 28 March 2018 via mobile

I booked this hotel from Thomson holidays website as 4*. We arrived to find that sadly it was nowhere near this rating. The pictures I have enclosed really say it all! The staff at the hotel / rep where not in anyway interested in what I had to say. The hotel is filthy and very unloved and the staff have no empathy nor enthusiasm to connect with the guests. Our week was ruined from the moment we stepped into the room. I complained daily at reception and to the rep when I eventually caught up with her but it fell on deaf ears. I have put my concerns in writing to Tui ( Thomson ) and waiting on response. Stay well clear!!!

Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank chaz2911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SBHDireccion, Director General at SBH Taro Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 29 March 2018

Dear Chaz2911,

Thank you very much for have taken the time to write a review about our SBH Taro Beach Hotel. We would like to apologise that we weren’t able to fulfil your expectations in some of the aspects.

We would like to assure you that our hotel has 4* Standard. Our maintenance team is on duty everyday to repair minor faults and if needed assist the guests with anything they might need. This guarantees the upkeeping of our 4* Standart.

Guest satisfaction is very important to us and we try daily to fulfil their wishes. All our staff is very helpful, friendly and competent. Hence, we offer room changes if one of our guest is not satisfied with the pre allocated room.

We can also guarantee the hygiene and cleanliness of our hotel. Our housekeeping cleans the hotel and rooms on a daily basis very thorough. We are sorry we didn’t reach your expectations.

Please visit our official website for more information about all our hotels of SBH. It would be a pleasure for us to welcome you soon in one of our hotels.

Kind regards,
The management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2018

An impressive hotel built on many levels on a large site in a very attractive position. from the outside it looks fairly modern but the bedrooms are anything but modern. Tatty fittings, with an air of neglect. Reminded me of a Travelodge circa 1980. The rest of the hotel was fine apart from the lack of staff at reception and the cost of the room safe and wi-fi. We were there for four days and were glad to move on. Such a pity the bedrooms have been allowed to go to pot.

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank hetwall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SBHDireccion, Director General at SBH Taro Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 29 March 2018

Dear Hetwall,

We thank you for have taken the time to write a review of our SBH Taro Beach. Thank you as well for sharing your thought with us. Reviews like yours help us to improve our services and ensure guest satisfaction.

Our housekeeping and maintenance are making sure to keep our hotel to a 4* Standard. The rooms and entire complex are cleaned daily and little faults are mended immediately.

A lot of guests mention our good room rates and value for money. To guarantee this we charge extras like Safe or WI-fi. We are very sorry that you weren’t informed prior to your arrival as it is clearly explained in all travel catalogues and the agencies are also informed about it.

We would be absolutely delighted if we could host you again and win back you trust. We can assure you that we will do our best to give you the great hotel experience that so many of our guests have grown so fond of.

Kind regards,
The management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2018

Arrived early March for 10 days as needed a complete break from a lot of stress at home.

Location wise lovely. No more than that. Room was very, very poor. On arriving asked for replacement toilet seat as cracked and chipped. Replacement patio chairs as broken. Television replaced as still no UK channels. Purely for Germans as only 2% I guess are English. If you're German then fine. Clean linen and towels. I had read a review previously that the beds were very hard and a tip from the hotel was put a blanket under the sheet! Well I had used 2 blankets and was much better. Only 1 pillow each so asked for more.

Severe damp walls in bedroom with a severe damp smell. Cracked and chipped floor tiles throughout, dangerous as loose as well. Furniture 50's style, fabric torn. Only good points in room were hot water, good shower and a reasonable sized balcony.

Whole of hotel needs to be closed and revamped big time. Although busy building new hotels on the island, this has stood still at the guest's expense yet being charged high prices for inferior quality. This hotel could be a 2*+ even.

They have 1 restaurant although we called it a cafeteria. No waiter service at all. Although while you are up getting another coffee/tea watch your plates of food dont get taken away.How about a waiter asking if you would like tea or coffee for breakfast then a pot being served to your table? No you get all beverages from cylinders. Not a 4* service.

Food is boring, tasteless, mostly cold and needs a Gordon Ramsay in the kitchen to shake the chefs up. Complained about cold mushroom soup in the cylinder only to be replaced by another cold one! Although it looked like thick brown-like porridge to be honest so didnt bother. Fish not cooked properly although there are guys there cooking it! Food is the same day after day, boring. Puddings - well you can guarantee 3 flavours of mousse every evening although flavours are dubious. Forked over in a pretty way! Stewed strawberries and blackcurrants served hot. Why not serve fresh? Very, very poor selection of pastries and deserts.

We found a nice bar on the beach that served amazing tasty meals so went there.

Tried to speak to personnel in the hotel but found only 1 receptionist there at any one time. Two or more are not catered for.So queues can be very long to seek advice, help. Then only found 1 receptionist that could speak English properly and understood.

On arrival queued up for a long time to get sorted. Very tired after a long journey with my husband being disabled. No drinks were offered and not part of the service. After a good 20 mins we were told where our room was but no porter service. So, so bad. No help could be given to us as only 1 receptionist at a time is on duty so couldnt leave the desk.

Gladly told that it cost 7E a day for wi-fi, 28E for safe, 20E deposit for 2 beach towels and when given were threadbare and more like a small bath towel that needed a good wash.

The cleaning ladies were wonderful, always left the room clean and always a smile. Disappointed that the sheets were torn and had large holes in but noticed that these had been changed next day. Always clean bathroom towels whenever you needed them.

Weather was hot every day and just enjoyed our relaxation time trying to forget the state of our room and of course, the rest of the hotel which is in need of a lot of work. The inevitable bagging of sunchairs, cant blame the English as only a few couples there! Plenty to go round but not enough umbrellas and noticed that people were taking them.

All in all, taking into account our 2nd visit to this island, our visit 1st time was at a Barcelo hotel up North 4* and simply amazing. Lovely weather, nice beach to walk on although sea freezing cold BUT the hotel pool was heated! So its not all doom and gloom but certainly would NOT go there again and certainly would not recommend this hotel at all. Tried to get hold of Manager to show him the very poor state of room but told he was off ill. Noone else to mention it to other than reception but told they couldn't leave the desk unattended.

Nothing worse than replies being sent by the hotel saying sorry you had these experiences when we were told that there were problems.

Room Tip: Top floors. Inspect before you unpack.
  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank judith and Alan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SBHDireccion, Director General at SBH Taro Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 20 March 2018

Dear Judith and Alan S,

Thank you very much for your review of our SBH Taro Beach. We are very sorry that we were not able to live up to your expectations. Our Manager would have liked to contact you personally, but unfortunately he fell ill.

The south of the island used to be predominately German tourism, however this has changed in recent years and we are very proud to have a good mix of different nationalities such as English, German, French, Spanish, etc. We can guarantee that all aspects of our hotel are designed for our international mix of our guests, might it be the entertainment, food or drinks.

We are sorry that you are in the opinion that there was no waiter service. Our waiters always clear the empty plates and glasses from the tables quickly and take care that everything else in the restaurant is okay. The self-service drinks for all inclusive guests should prevent long waits and speed up the service. We are sorry if that was not in your interest.

We would like to assure you about our 4* Standard. At the same time we would like to mention that a modernisation is planned. Furthermore our maintenance team is on duty everyday to repair minor faults and if needed assist the customers with anything they might need. This guarantees the upkeeping of our 4* standard.

The quality and choice of our freshly prepared foods is commented on very positively here on Tripadvisor we are very sorry it was not to your liking. Obviously it is very difficult to hit the taste bud of each and every guest. We would like to inform you too that we have our own bakery and all desserts are freshly prepared daily.

To ensure good basic rate we charge extras like our WiFi or Safe. All travel agents have this information and should forward it to our common guests to avoid any misunderstanding and inconveniences at arrival.

Officially we do not have a porter in our hotel but if there is a possibility, we offer our help to our guests with their baggage. We always try our best, especially if it is an elderly person.

During your stay you have contacted our director, but unfortunately you only pointed the missing English TV channels. We will also look into installing more English channels for our English speaking guests.

Please visit our official website with all our hotels. We would be delighted if we could welcome you again in one of our hotels to gain your confidence in us.

Kind regards,
The management





Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2018 via mobile

Quite Big hotel direct on the beach side in Costa Calma. We stayed for 2 weeks and we were happy with it. Cleaning service could be better though. We booked for half-pension, Breakfast and Dinner buffets were excellent. Many choices of foods.
There is a bus station nearby as well, to Morro-Jable and Puerto del Rosario for example.

Stayed: February 2018, travelled with friends
Thank Jenry D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SBHDireccion, Director General at SBH Taro Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 13 February 2018

Dear Jenry D,

Thank you very much for sharing your feedback about your holiday in our SBH Taro Beach. We appreciate reviews like yours as it helps us to improve our service.

Reviews like yours confirm that we are doing everything correct and are able to transmit happiness and the holiday feeling to our guests. We always try to fulfil the expectations in all aspects of the hotel to make your holiday a perfect one.

Hygiene and cleanliness are very important to us and through daily thorough cleaning we can maintain excellent customer satisfaction. Beds are changed every three days and if customers have additional requests we are more then happy to help.

We hope to welcome you soon in our hotel.

Kind regards,
The management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2017 via mobile

Worst beds we ever been spending a night in. Avoid this hotel! Our bodies are hurting all over. Unbelievable that they can have such bad beds. They really are a holiday destroyer. The site of the Hotel is nice but so are many others as well so pick another if you care about having a good sleep.

Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank susanneramstrom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SBHDireccion, Director General at SBH Taro Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 11 December 2017

Dear Susanneramstrom,

Thank you for reaching out to us on Tripadvisor to share your concerns related to your recent holiday with us at SBH Taro Beach and we apologize that you felt your experience did not totally meet your expectations.

We can confirm you that it is very important for us that our guests have a pleasant holiday here with us. Since this is one of the most important times of the year.

We regret that we didn’t meet your expectations regarding our mattresses; please keep in mind that each and every guest has different sleeping habits therefore it is very difficult to fulfil the expectations. However we offer, for guests that might find our mattresses a bit to firm, a solution by providing soft blankets that are put underneath the bed sheets.

We are sorry to read that you would not like to return to our hotel. If you change your mind, we will be happy to welcome you here again.

Kind regards,
The management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews