We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
H10 Sentido Playa Esmeralda
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Royal Suite(Costa Calma)
US$118
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$177
US$162
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
SBH Taro Beach(Costa Calma)
US$139
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 15% below average rates

The price you found is 15% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$164/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$124
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 18% below average rates

The price you found is 18% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$151/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$206
US$195
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
SBH Monica Beach(Costa Calma)
US$213
US$201
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 10% below average rates

The price you found is 10% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$223/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

H10 Tindaya(Costa Calma)
US$193
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Bahia Calma(Costa Calma)(Great Value!)
US$67
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$206
US$200
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (1,496)
Filter reviews
1,496 results
Traveller rating
649
535
197
70
45
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
649
535
197
70
45
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsindoor poolhalf boardlobby barwind surfershouse winenice beachroom changebbc worldhotel poolsauna and steam roomnudist beachevening entertainmentreception staffanimation teamcar hirespa facilitieshotel is excellent
Filter
Updating list...
9 - 14 of 1,496 reviews
Reviewed 12 May 2018 via mobile

Loved this hotel, staff really lovely and welcoming, pools great, food great, evening entertainment was good but ended too early for us (10:15) but it was early in the season, would definitely come back.

Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank jeannieliz2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lorenzo C, Director de Relaciones Públicas at H10 Sentido Playa Esmeralda, responded to this reviewResponded 12 May 2018

Dear Jeannieliz,

thank you so much for your good review and the time you have taken.

It is so great to see that you loved our hotel and that you were very happy with our staff, the pool area, our food and the animation in the evening and we are happy that you have mentioned a lot of departments so positively.
We also want to thank you for your feedback regarding to the time of the evening entertainment.
For us it is always very important to get to know the view of our guests. Only like this we have the opportunity to make changes.

We are glad that you have chosen our hotel H10 Sentido Playa Esmeralda for your holidays and we are already looking forward to see you again soon here!

A lot of greetings from Fuerteventura

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2018 via mobile

We have just returned from a week at this hotel.
We did have a minor issue when checking in, when we had to ask about a safe and pool towels. This information should have been provided from the staff. No issue with paying for these items, and you get refunded for towels and part of the safe deposit.
The hotel is lovely and clean and we had no issues with our room, other than an occasional drainage smell from the toilet and the side of our block. As we were only in the room at night it did not detract from the holiday. The cleaners kept the room spotless, even moving the beds to do below them.
The food was plentiful in the buffet restaurant, although on occasion, some of the food was cool, but this appears normal in buffet style dining as we have had it elsewhere. The food from the pool bar is good and freshly made.
Good selection of alcohol in all bars with friendly staff, all happy to stop and chat unless the bar was very busy. Special mention for the barman Abel, who was a pleasure to watch making cocktails, and to the waiter Manuel who was always smiling and chatting to everyone.
There was a good mix of evening entertainment, especially the rock and soul review, and the sixties swing. Wasn’t impressed with the international singing duo.
The hotel is a bit out of the way, and if you want to wander beach bars etc, this is not the place for you. There are 2 small shopping centres about half an hour walk away. If you want peace and quiet, then this is the place.
The hotel is about an hour from the airport, but we were the first drop off on our run.

Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
2  Thank John R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lorenzo C, Director de Relaciones Públicas at H10 Sentido Playa Esmeralda, responded to this reviewResponded 5 May 2018

Dear John,

thank you for sharing your opinion with us.

We would like to thank you for the kind words spent towards our Staff and the service provided.

We are very glad that you enjoyed you stay at our accommodation and the relaxed atmosphere that we offer.

It is truly a pleasure to understand how much you have appreciated our efforts and dedication, always trying to cuddle our guests with smiles and friendliness.

We would like to thank you as well for you observations regarding our kitchen and the communication at the moment of checking in. There is always room for improvement and messages like yours helps us at focusing on the necessary amendments.

Hoping to welcome you again at H10 Sentido Playa Esmeralda, we would like to thank you once again for the excellent commentary.

Warm greetings from Fuerteventura!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2018 via mobile

Just returned from a lovely week . We booked privilege package , and enjoyed it very much , the dining room is small and the service was excellent , the two staff work very well . My only niggle was the first night 25/04 , when leaving the dining room we were forced to sign for wine and told by the waiter food was AI but not drinks , and no way were we getting out without signing the bill ! A visit to reception sorted this , the bill wasn’t even our room number , really bad customer service on the waiters part and pleased to say the waiter wasn’t back in during our stay , unfortunately. That was our second visit , as our coffee and cake in Mikes coffee shop were were told drinks free cake not , again sorted by the excellent reception staff,
Feel the privilege ( new to hotel ) need a detailed sheet , having messaged the hotel I had a good idea what to expect , but feel a little more staff training is needed in some areas .
Hotel is spotless , staff are very friendly ,but again while in bar our lovely waitress who served us a couple of times , all smiles and had a nice word with us was told off and told to move !! My husband replied to this waiter bossy bossy ! Which I don’t think went down too well . ! We loved the quietness of the hotel , , can’t understand how the last reviewer was told the hotel was full ! We hope to return next year , again I would do privilege , as although the main dining room food was good for lunch , we tried to get a table , couldn’t as most of the tables were blocked off and no staff to assist , this was 1.30 , so giving up that day we found if we went in 2.30 it was ok to get a table .

Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
2  Thank margaretf844
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lorenzo C, Director de Relaciones Públicas at H10 Sentido Playa Esmeralda, responded to this reviewResponded 3 May 2018

Dear Margaret,

thank you very much for your review and the time you have dedicated.

We are glad that you had a lovely week here in our hotel and that you and your husband enjoyed the privilege service and the quietness, although the hotel was fully booked in this time.

It is also nice to read that you have such positive words for the staff. We will pass on your praise immediately.

We regret that you had problems with some all inclusvie offers (Mikes Coffee, the dinner at the privilege restaurant), although you paied for these services. For sure we will improve our processes and inform our employees better, so that something like this will not happen any more. We feel very sorry, but we are very thankful for your suggestions for improvements. This always helps us, to change things and refine our procedures.

It would be great if we can welcome you again soon here at H10 Sentido Playa Esmeralda!

We send some sunny and warm greetings from Fuerteventura!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2018

Unfortunately our stay did not start well. We were placed in a room which,although it had a wonderful sea view, also had piles of around thirty old mattresses directly below the balcony. We requested a change of room but were informed the hotel was full. More disappointingly, the mattresses remained for the whole week of our stay.
On the upside, the hotel itself is very impressive. There seemed to be cleaning of one sort or another going on all the time, which created a very positive impression.
We had booked the all-inclusive option and the food was plentiful and varied. The hotel is situated on the beach with lovely walks in both directions. This, together with the hotel pools and other facilities made this a very memorable holiday. The fact that this was an adults only hotel made for a very relaxing break.

Room Tip: Some rooms have both sea and pool views.
  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank abbsy2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lorenzo C, Director de Relaciones Públicas at H10 Sentido Playa Esmeralda, responded to this reviewResponded 2 May 2018

Dear Abbsy,

thank you very much for your excellent review.

We are glad that you have chosen our hotel for your holidays, the most special time in the year.

We feel very sorry, that you did not like your room, because of the fact that you did not like the view but we are very happy
that we could impress you with our hotel complex and its cleanliness. It is nice that you got a positive impression.

Also we are so happy that you liked the food, its offer and variety and the location of the hotel near to the beach.
For us it is the most important thing to know that you had a very memorable holiday at H10 Sentido Playa Esmerada and we are looking forward to see you soon here again.

Lots of sunny greetings from Fuerteventura

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2018

N.B. All comments in this review relate entirely to the H10 Sentido Playa Esmeralda only and no other establishment.

PARKING: We arrived by hire car, to find that there was nowhere within a quarter of a mile to park it; save for some rough ground off road, which would technically make your insurance cover invalid. The street parking outside the hotel is almost entirely occupied by Plus Car vehicles, as they have a desk in the hotel and H10 are presumably receiving remuneration from them. This is the first impression and it says to me that H10 have little regard for their clients. You would have thought that the genius who designed the hotel, would have had the brains to think of incorporating parking space in their plans, to take care of customers arriving by car. The spaces further down the road don't have marked bays and you therefore get some thoughtless drivers, taking up two spaces with one car. Marking the bays would be a start.

RECEPTION: We went to check in and received our welcome drink, a tepid glass of water. I still don't know what we had done wrong but everyone else we saw, received a glass of Cava; even guests arriving at midnight after the bar had officially closed. The usual rip-off charges for a safe, typically an unfair penalty presumably because their staff or other clients cannot be trusted. The hotel should have a fiduciary responsibility to look after its guests and their valuables and should not be profiting from this. Fifteen Euros deposit per pool towel, even though refundable on return, is exceedingly steep given the aged condition of them. The hotel is spread over several levels, from reception downwards. The map you are given is too dark. The receptionists try to outline things in pen, as they point them out to you but it cannot be seen against the dark background. If you want an early morning call, don't ask the male night receptionist. We did and we are still waiting. Fortunately we didn't miss our appointment.

ROOMS: We had a room with a sea view and a terrace, which was a pleasant change from a balcony. The room was well appointed. A decent sized wardrobe, though one door had no bottom runner. The safe therein was quite large and it should be for the cost. Two good sized beds pushed together but not the best nights sleep. A comfy armchair and two other chairs. Dressing table with mirror. Plenty of storage space. Poor air-conditioning of the centrally controlled type. It would really be of little use in very hot weather. Television is extremely poor. Three English speaking news channels, one of which was American, one Russian and one French. BBC World wasn't working, thank goodness. It does however really need drastically improving. It gives the impression that English guests don't matter to H10. The terrace was spacious and had two high backed chairs and a table. It was also quite private. There was also a pull out clothes dryer. The bathroom was also well equipped. A powerful shower over the bath, sink with large mirror and also a separate pullout magnifying mirror. The hairdryer was excellent, no need to take your own. WC and bidet, completed the room, along with basic complementary toiletries. It has to be said that the housekeeping was excellent, though they did have an annoying habit of running their service trolleys backwards and forwards outside your room between 9 and 10 a.m., just in case you fancied a lie in; if you had managed to overcome the dawn chorus of tweeting birds, between 6 and 7 a.m.. They need something to dampen the noise of the wheels.

RESTAURANT: The restaurant has spacious seating both inside and out and a well spaced food section with cooking stations to the rear. Breakfast is from 07.30 to 10.30 but don't expect to walk in at 10.25 and get anything. Ideally you need to be in there by 10.00 at the latest, as everyone is busy clearing up from then, in order to be finished spot on half past. This brings me to the first part of my title, "what's in a name?" The hotel is branded as the H10 Sentido but I fail to see why Sentido is mentioned in the title. If you look on the Sentido website, they show five reasons why they stand out; number three of which is "Late Breakfast Until Midday." Clearly not the case at this hotel.

Lunch is 13.00 to 15.00. We never ate lunch in the restaurant but I would apply the same principles of arriving at least 30 minutes before closing.

Dinner 18.00 to 21.30. Food is on a 7 day rotation and is plentiful with a good range of choices. Whilst I do not mind paper napkins for breakfast and lunch, in a 4 star hotel, there should be linen napkins for dinner, without exception. Yes they are there for those dining early but if you turn up after 20.00, they have invariably been replaced by paper ones. There should be enough linen ones for the entire service. There should also be an outdoor seating area for non smokers. Indeed this should be an applied principle in all outdoor areas of the hotel. Non smokers should be free to enjoy outdoor spaces, without risk of breathing in other people's carcinogens. As above, be there no later than 21.00. If you are going to have a dress code, it is important to enforce it; otherwise why bother having it at all. We saw a number of people in shorts, looking like they had just come from the beach. The same should apply to ladies also.

POOL SNACK BAR: This is a really pleasant place to sit. Open from 10.00 to 18.00 and serving lunch from 12.00 to 16.00, this was our place of choice for lunch. There is a reasonable choice of tasty snacks, which are more than sufficient for lunch and you can have 3 courses if you wish. Alfresco dining under a lattice and pergola canopy, with a further covered area. Once again there should be a non smoking area. It would be an ideal spot for a late breakfast, which could be operated from 10.30 until midday. Just a "Sentido" style suggestion.

POOL AND DECK: The deck area very spacious with a large central pool, crossed by 3 bridges. Depth 1.3 to 1.5 metres. It is nicely lit at night. There is no shortage of sunbeds in excellent condition, each accompanied by a label warning guests not to reserve them, though this doesn't seem to deter them from doing so. Once again, it comes down to enforcement. There are parasols and some shaded areas and a lifeguard is available throughout the day. There is a separate whirlpool. The outdoor pool is unheated whilst the indoor pool in a building at the far end, is heated.

BLUE BAR (PARROTS AND BIRDCAGE) Situated in the main lobby area and open from 09.00 to midnight. There is mostly comfortable seating all around and a pleasant outdoor terrace with spectacular sea views. The rear indoor wall is like a library but you would have a job reaching most of the books. Beyond is a smaller sitting room. The bar is waiter service and in the evening it becomes totally farcical. The staff for the best part of their time, appear to be busy doing all in their power to avoid customers. I'm reminded of the old song:- "we're busy doing nothing, working the whole day through; trying to find lots of things not to do." There is lively debates between all the staff, whilst customers are waiting. There is the nightly twenty minutes polishing menus, whilst avoiding customers. There is the 30 minutes wasted collecting and bringing in the pads from the seats on the terrace and ignoring customers. Then there is the 60 minutes removing all the bottles from the birdcage and putting them away, whilst ignoring customers. There is washing the glasses whilst ignoring the customers and just plain ignoring the customers. All is done so that the staff can be away bang on the dot of midnight. Even if you do manage to have your order taken by a waiter, we have had to wait an infuriating 20 minutes for the drinks to appear. The quickest way to get served is by going to the bar yourself and you will still have to wait a while. They clearly need something that will wrap around the birdcage and lock everything in place. It would save hours taking bottles off and putting them back on each day. A time and motion study wouldn't go amiss.

We then come on to the drinks menu which to their credit is quite extensive and has some decent branded labels for all inclusive guests. The joke part is the half a pint and pint of beer. The pint of beer is lucky to be one third of a pint, even with the one inch plus head. Either invest in proper pint and half pint glasses or remove those ridiculous statements from the menu. In addition to the main menu is a reasonable cocktail menu. However, virtually every cocktail on it contains vast amounts of sugar. Diabetes in a glass. The other bugbear is the hotel's total intransigence to make cocktails which aren't on the menu, in spite of all the ingredients being available separately. For example, a Black Russian, a Bloody Mary, a Brandy Alexander etc. Why can I order 5 individual glasses of Sangria but not have a jug? Nonsensical bureaucracy. The way this bar is run is appalling. Service should be until midnight, then start clearing up etc. As for the happy smiling faces, with the odd exception, a scowl is more the case.

It is also my firm belief that, although quite subtle, both in the bar and restaurant, guests on half board are given preferential treatment to guests on all inclusive. What the hotel should remember is that half board guests, may or may not choose to spend in the hotel; whereas all inclusive guests have paid their hard earned money in advance, whether they use the hotel's facilities or not. They therefore should not be discriminated against in this way.

PRIVILEGE: We didn't think this was worth it when we booked and nothing we saw whilst we were there, changed our opinion, particularly as we don't consider posing in a dressing gown all day to be anything but pretentious.

ENTERTAINMENT/DISCO: We don't bother with daytime entertainment but it's there if you want it. The evening entertainment is quite varied and mostly of a reasonable standard. Go to the bar for service and it is much better than upstairs. The only detraction is the young animation staff playing headbanging music that they like, when most of the clients present are much more mature in years.

SUNDRIES: In the same area as the disco and privilege restaurant are 3 shops. One selling practical items and the other two clothing. There is a games room and free internet corner, hairdresser and coffee shop. The hotel has excellent Wi-Fi throughout, which connects instantly, once you have signed in. Spa and Gym also available if that floats your boat.

SUMMARY: This is like many large hotels. The big things are good but they are more often than not let down by the small things and unfortunately, it is the small things that are the most important. I would actually score it three and a half but don't have that option and 4 is too generous. Improvements can be made easily but like most things often come down to costs. It is a case of whether or not you are prepared to make the extra expenditure, to maintain a true 4 star or 4 star plus level. Before Laurence Comfort pays me the lip service of thanking me for my comments and telling me that these will help the hotel improve; don't bother unless you actually mean it and can back it up with positive results. I certainly didn't notice any improvements as a result of previous guest's comments.

  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank holidaymanWashington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lorenzo C, Director de Relaciones Públicas at H10 Sentido Playa Esmeralda, responded to this reviewResponded 13 May 2018

Dear Guest,
thank you for sharing your opinion with us.
We appreciate you forwarded us such a detailed commentary, enriched with interesting suggestions and ideas.
As our Management takes our guests' reviews very seriously, we hope you won't feel doubtfoul as we thank you for your commentary, as it underlines those areas of our service where still is there room for improvement.
Speaking of the possible areas of growth, please be sure that your commentary will be shared with the various managers of our Departments, so to discuss amendments to the behaviours or work routines you have found as incorrect.
Nevertheless, please let us kindly disagree with some of the points you have referred to unproperly, maybe lacking of correct information.
We always try to advertise our accommodation as clearly as possible.
Either you booked through a Tour Operator or a web site, information such as the extra costs of the deposit box in the room and the lack of a private parking area are well conveyed.
Just to shortly inform you about the parking places, those you are finding outside our property are managed by local authorities.
We do cooperate with Plus Car, so many of their cars are rented here at the accommodation, but we do not have any legal right to reserve or occupy places for those guests renting with them.
We also think that giving opinion on uknown matters it is not appropriate.
As you had not tried our a la carte restaurant or had lunch here, we regret you extended your consideration to those two services, while we do respect your motivated critiques, which, as said, are going to be discussed soon with the respective managers.

We sincerely regret your holidays at H10 Sentido Playa Esmeralda have not matched your expectation.
We hope also that you would consider visiting us again in the future, so that we could have a second chance to welcome you and prove you our dedication.

Warm greetings from Fuerteventura,

Lorenzo Conforto

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews