We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,593)
Filter reviews
1,593 results
Traveller rating
596
638
216
88
55
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
596
638
216
88
55
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsinfinity poolthomas cookman made lagoonlagoon areahalf boardsalt water lagoonlovely hotelartificial beachsea viewpiano barfishevening entertainmentrelaxing holidaymini golfcrazy golfbreakfast and dinnerper day
Filter
Updating list...
7 - 12 of 1,593 reviews
Reviewed 7 August 2018

Before we booked our holiday we read the reviews of the hotel and were almost put off by quite alot of negative comments. Boy are we glad that we ignored them - this is an excellent hotel.
There are negative comments about having to pay for a safe and to also pay for wifi, but these are very minor issues. There is an area where there is free wifi and we were a bit disappointed about having to pay for a safe but this didn't ruin our stay.
The foyer is stunning, in fact we thought it was the best is Costa Calma. The rooms were big and airey and we had a stunning view over the pools and to the sea,
There have been negative comments about the food which we feel was unjustified. There is a hot section, there is a cold section (salads, cold meats) and there's a safe section which includes chips, pasta, pizza. There is enough to satisfy hopefully every taste. Each night a different theme was made, italian, canarian, spanish etc. If people want british food it is there, it's just that it's cooked by excellent mediterranean chefs.
The hotel has 3 pools and a man made lagoon. Unfortunately the lagoon was not operational when we were there as the local council decided not to turn it on. The lagoon is council owned and not hotel owned - council sort it out!
The staff were very pleasant and considering they had to deal with a multitude of nationalities they did exceptionally well.
Costa Calma town in about a 15 - 20 mins walk away from the hotel. The town isn't very big and shops are few and far between. This isn't an Ibiza club holiday. This is a relaxing, re-charging holiday. The nearest 'big' town id El Jandia about 20 mins by coach.
We would definitely go back to Rio Calma - what's not to like?

  • Stayed: July 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TasteBudD186
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
r2pajarabeachotel, Director de Relaciones Públicas at R2 Rio Calma Hotel & Spa & Conference, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2018

Dear TasteBudD186,

Thank you for your feedback. We are so glad that you have visited us despite of negative comments and that we could proof the difference. We are happy hearing you enjoyed your rooms, the food and overall facilities. Since we want to improve our services daily we also appreciate you lovely words concerning our staff. Thank you very much.
We hope you had a pleasant and unforgettable stay. It would be a pleasure having you back soon.

Kind regards,
Quality Department

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2018

The positives for this hotel are it's clean, tidy, well maintained and lives up to its 4 star status. However, I got the impression this hotel catered more for German tourists and found when trying to speak to hotel staff about various things (and me speaking very little Spanish or German), I found this very difficult at times.
I was travelling solo and half board which meant i had to pay for any drinks. Not really an issue for me but what was ignored on 3 occasions when i asked for a drink to go with my meal, even though everyone else around me was asked as soon as they sat down. I made complaints to restaurant staff and reception about this but still continued. I was even shouted at by a rude waiter when I tried to sit in the outside eating area. I didn't understand what he was saying and it took another hotel guest to intervene and tell me he was saying 'not for you, reserved for families only' There was nothing to indicate and found it quite discriminatory and was quite upsetting, especially as I was dinning alone.
The evening meals were ok, but again found very German orientated, I can't recall seeing any Spanish cuisine which for me was disappointing.
The hotel itself was spotless, very clean and very well maintained and certainly lives up to 4 star status. Has nice swimming pools and a pool bar, however the hotel is massive and clearly no where near enough sunbeds.
The evening entertainment was geared towards kids early evening, followed by absolutely appalling acts that would probably be booed off at a local working mans club. There was a piano bar which was nice if you wanted to relax, however drinks service very slow.
Costa Calma itself lives up to its name, there's no real nightlife there, no strip, just a few shops and a couple of restaurants. (B side pizzeria is the best to go to and has sea view seating). One or two German bars but that's about it, everything is hotel based. Awesome beach though, goes on for miles and miles and beautiful coastline.
Found a couple of bicycle hire places which are reasonably priced if you want to explore a little further out.
I would go back to Fuerteventura as appears to be a lovely island, but I would chose a different resort.
One more thing to finish on. The hotel is on top of a very steep hill and a good 15 min walk down to nearest beach and were shops area in fact whole place is quite hilly away from the beach. Nice views though!

Room Tip: Ask for 6th floor or above
  • Stayed: July 2018, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JohnnyMc73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
r2pajarabeachotel, Director de Relaciones Públicas at R2 Rio Calma Hotel & Spa & Conference, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2018

Dear JohnnyMc73,

Thank you very much for rating us. We feel sad that our hotel could not meet your expectations in every aspect and that you could not fully enjoy your stay with us. We apologize for any occured incidents and inconveniences. Nevertheless, we want to thank you for your compliments regarding our installations and the cleanliness. We hope we are able to welcome you back again in the future to present ourself in a better light.

Kind regards,
Quality Department

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2018 via mobile

The island is awesome... the hotel looks like a old and very used place. The food was ok, good variety and tasty. The pools... well, in august the water was really cold. There is no beach at the hotel. We were a little disappointed at first. But we rent a car and travel a lot around the island to see the beaches and the views... it's hard to find good food out the hotel...

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
4  Thank Vatamaniuc L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
r2pajarabeachotel, Director de Relaciones Públicas at R2 Rio Calma Hotel & Spa & Conference, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2018

Dear Vatamaniuc L,

Thank you for your feedback and for your compliments regarding our kitchen. However, we feel sad that our hotel could not fully meet your expectations. We hope you enjoyed your stay despite of some inconvenieces. We would be happy to have the chance welcoming you back in the near future!

Kind regards,
Quality Department

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2018

Hotel was nice and clean, room was cleaned every day and had a good view.
Nice and quiet at night
Meal times were hit and miss, many tables not cleared and people walking around looking for a table, good choice of food but sometimes a big queue and food not piping hot.
Some staff could be very rude and thier English was poor think you got better service if you were German!
The lagoon was empty!! this was one of the reasons I chose this hotel. We were not informed and it made the pool area very busy, people still putting out towels at 7am! The pool itself was great. TAKE YOUR OWN TOWEL you have to pay for poolside towels. Drinks in the hotel were very expensive and a big charge for the use of the so called mini bar. Extra payment for a safe and minigolf!!
All in all it was an ok stay but would not recomend this hotel and to end it off I left a photo that I had bought in the room and surprise suprise it wasnt found.

Room Tip: pool view is the better option other rooms look out onto waste land
  • Stayed: July 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Service
3  Thank jobod49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
r2pajarabeachotel, Director de Relaciones Públicas at R2 Rio Calma Hotel & Spa & Conference, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2018

Dear jobod49,

Thank you for reviewing us. We feel sorry that our hotel has not fully met your expectations. As we want to improve our services daily, we appreciate all kind of feedback. Thank you. We noted your remarks for improvement down and will take them into consideration. We hope you enjoyed your holiday despite the inconveniences.
We would be happy to have you back in the future to show you our improvements.

Kind regards,
Quality Department

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2018

Lovely hotel but very secluded from shops and bars
Onsite food and drinks are quite high priced
Sun beds all taken by 7am
Plenty of food to choose from but only Luke warm
Some staff quite rude and ignorant as not very good English speaking
In need of a refurb in some places
Hidden charges for safe, beach towels, mini golf and pool
No access to the sea, although says beach front there is no beach, only rocks
Lagoon pool was closed whole time we were there, which made pools quite busy
Very hilly with lots of steps as on a hill

Stayed: July 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank sainsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
r2pajarabeachotel, Director de Relaciones Públicas at R2 Rio Calma Hotel & Spa & Conference, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2018

Dear sainsy,

Thank you for reviewing us. We feel sorry that our hotel has not met your expectations. As they help us to improve our services constantly, we appreciate your remarks for improvement. We noted them down and will take them into considersation.
However, we hope that you enjoyed your stay despite of the discribed inconveniences and that we are able welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards,
Quality Department

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews