We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little disappointed”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Waihi Beach Top 10 Holiday Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 July 2017 via mobile

Had big hopes after staying at other Top 10's but I was a little underwhelmed to be honest.
Pool/spa nice, beach side powered sites had great views, kitchen area ok.
Plus point was the pizza oven but unfortunately we didn't get to use as only available on a Saturday.
Showers/toilets were a little old. Beach was beautiful and literally just a few meters from the camp.

Stayed: June 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Rich E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wbtop10, Manager at Waihi Beach Top 10 Holiday Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 13 July 2017

Thank you Rich for having taking the time to review our Resort. I am happy to note all the good things you have appreciated on your stay, like the view, the beach and the pool. The beach side showers are due for an upgrade this winter. However the main facilities around the pool area, were renovated just a few months ago.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (294)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

11 - 15 of 294 reviews

Reviewed 7 July 2017

We arrived around 4 pm and a man at the reception was friendly and helpful. He gave us a spot near the beach. The road in the park is quite narrow if you have a big camper van, make sure you are a good driver. The downside of this spot is the toilets are unisex and just a stove with 4 burners. It was a very busy time at the kitchen so, it was hard to cook, when a group of rugby fans occupied the stove. But we also have a stove in the camper van, that's an advantage with camper vans. They had quite a big lap pool, since its in the middle of winter, the water was cold, though they have a separate hot pool, which was really nice. The pools are located across the road, near the kitchen, toilets and showers. The showers really had good amount of hot water, no button to start the hot water.
The grounds are clean and well maintained. Guests are well behaved and you can have a good night sleep with just sound of the waves.
A good place to stay.

Room Tip: good place for camper van
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank CharetMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wbtop10, Receptionist at Waihi Beach Top 10 Holiday Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2017

Thank you for taking the time to review our Park. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us. We appreciate your feedback as we are continually looking for ways to improve our guest's experience. We hope you are able to stay with us again, perhaps in the warmer months.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2017

I came away with my son for a much needed weekend away, we had a fantatstic time, the staff at the top 10 were friendly and helpful as were the local shop staff, we found lots to do including the lovely walk to Orakawa but the highlight was feeding the eels in the campground, it felt like we were a million miles away and had been away for a week and not just a weekend, will definitely be back.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Angela C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wbtop10, Receptionist at Waihi Beach Top 10 Holiday Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 5 July 2017

Thank you for taking the time to review us. We are very glad to her you enjoyed your stay with us. Our pet eels are always a hit with our guests. We hope to see you again soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2017

We stayed in our motor home right by the path to the beach. Fantastic facilities and beautifully maintained camp ground with very welcoming staff. The weather was shocking but after a swim in the hot pools it didn't really matter.

Room Tip: We didn't use the rooms, we had our motor home.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gandjpage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wbtop10, Manager at Waihi Beach Top 10 Holiday Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 24 June 2017

Thank you Gandjpage for having taken the time to review our Resort.

Glad you have enjoyed our hot pool and spa. They are heated all year around for everyone convenience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2017

This camp ground is a great for first time family campers wanting to get a taste of camping. It's very safe, has heaps of facilities and the toilets bathrooms are serviced very regularly. Kids are always entertained with jumping pillow, games room, playing with eels and hiring carts. Heated pool and spa is amazing, and beach is just across the road
It is a little pricey these days but you do get a lot more than your average camp ground.

Room Tip: If you have children ask for a site next to the jumping pillow
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Dzire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wbtop10, Receptionist at Waihi Beach Top 10 Holiday Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 15 May 2017

Thank you for your fantastic review, we believe we have a fantastic Holiday Park for families and love to see the kids enjoying themselves. Our location is superb all year round and so is our pool and spa. Thank you again for taking the time to review our Premium TOP10 Holiday Park - we hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Waihi hotels
0.5 km away
Beachaven Holiday Park
8.5 km away
Bowentown Beach Holiday Park
8.3 km away
Waihi Motel
Waihi Motel
#1 of 1 in Waihi
37 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.6 km away
Palm Motel Waihi
Palm Motel Waihi
#4 of 7 in Waihi
40 reviews
9 km away
Dragonfly Gardens Bed & Breakfast
3.9 km away
Otesha Falls
Otesha Falls
#1 of 7 in Waihi
23 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waihi Beach Top 10 Holiday Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waihi Beach Top 10 Holiday Resort

Address: 15 Beach Road, Waihi 3611, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Waihi
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Speciality Lodging in Waihi
Price Range: $128 - $252 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Waihi Beach Top 10 Holiday Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Waihi Beach TOP 10 is the kind of nostalgic place that parents dream of. Offered are a huge variety of accommodation options, and the range of activities within the extremely well equipped facilities means the kids can have a blast while you relax and unwind knowing they are safe and occupied. To find out the full extent of the Resort’s capabilities and service, contact them today. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Waihi Beach Top 10 Holiday Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing