We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enchanting Abode”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Pondicherry
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Gratitude, a Heritage Home
Ranked #3 of 170 Pondicherry B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 November 2017

Gratitude is a beautifully reconstructed heritage property retaining natural calmness & much more. Excellent breakfast served straight from the heart. The courtyard with the mango tree above is so enchanting. The uniqueness of the items placed in the shower area brings back memories from ancient times. Very well thought.
LOVE LOVE LOVE the place!
Highly recommend. Saranya, Sid & the team-BIG ThankYou

Room Tip: #7 was by far the best !!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank ashulodhaChennai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jyoti-and-Kakoli, Owner at Gratitude, a Heritage Home, responded to this reviewResponded 16 November 2017

Hi Ashu, Thanks for the review. We loved hosting you and would be happy to do so again anytime. Wishing you the best from all of us at Gratitude.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (230)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

6 - 10 of 230 reviews

Reviewed 12 November 2017 via mobile

We stayed 2 nights at this antique furnished place with a quite patio and enjoyed it very much. A rich and very tasteful breakfast is served at a big table. Easy communication with other guests is guaranteed; the hotel manager joint us and helped with recommendations and experiences.
Please note: We had a canopy bed (length 1.9m !) with mosquito net. Very nice but much to short for tall guests.
The staff was attentive but could be more friendly.

Stayed: November 2017, travelled with family
Thank JoPa-on-Tour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jyoti-and-Kakoli, Owner at Gratitude, a Heritage Home, responded to this reviewResponded 15 November 2017

Thank you for your review. Our beds are original antiques that follow with the style and decor of the thuse, as such some of them are not regular hotel sized beds. We try to be as informative as possible with our bed measurements listed on our Room descriptions/pics.

Regarding the staff, we will work with them to implement your valuable feedback. We try to strike a balance between a homely and attentive staff which is not intrusive at the same time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2017

Gratitude is an exceptional heritage venue in a lovely town. Beautiful house, great breakfasts in a restful, historical environment that makes a big change from "organized chaos" of travel in most Indian cities. A great place for a quiet break and rest time.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank maryB2903BG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jyoti-and-Kakoli, Owner at Gratitude, a Heritage Home, responded to this reviewResponded 4 November 2017

Glad you enjoyed your stay Mary, we definitely enjoyed your company at the breakfast table. All the best in your travels.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2017 via mobile

Gratitude is centrally located in White Town, allowing you to walk to most of the touristic destinations.

It's a beautiful and peaceful home and each room has its own character. Even though it was a short stay, we loved everything about the stay and it felt like we were transported to another era because of the ambience, furniture and style.

The staff is helpful and lovely. They are not in your face like it is when you stay in a hotel.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
Thank lbennis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jyoti-and-Kakoli, Owner at Gratitude, a Heritage Home, responded to this reviewResponded 10 October 2017

Thank you for your review. We were wondering if there was any area we were lacking in due to the 4 star rating, please do let us know as we are always striving to improve all areas and your feedback is always helpful and appreciated.

Best wishes from all of us at Gratitude.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2017

Had a wonderful stay at Gratitude in Pondicherry during September end 2017. It is a very carefully restored heritage house. And it is being maintained very well by Siddarth and his team. The staff is very courteous, always ready to help and go out of their way to help everyone - all the while being non-intrusive. The place has very relaxing vibes and the rooms are quiet. One of the best room is room no. 6 on second floor which has its own amazing bath with a tub. The breakfast each day is completely home made - delicious and satisfying.

Surely, one of the very best hotels in the city. It is very well situated in the French quarters. Overall, this stay rates as one of the highest for my family. Thanks.

Room Tip: Room number 6 on first floor is very good - suitable for family with kid.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Akshaya S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jyoti-and-Kakoli, Owner at Gratitude, a Heritage Home, responded to this reviewResponded 6 October 2017

Thank you for the review Akshaya, it was a pleasure hosting you and your wonderful family.

Best wished from all of us at Gratitude.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pondicherry hotels
0.2 km away
Palais de Mahe
Palais de Mahe
#1 of 85 in Pondicherry
543 reviews
0.7 km away
The Promenade
The Promenade
#8 of 85 in Pondicherry
1,193 reviews
0.3 km away
Villa Shanti
Villa Shanti
#4 of 85 in Pondicherry
530 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Le Chateau
Le Chateau
#19 of 85 in Pondicherry
223 reviews
1.6 km away
Anantha Heritage Hotel
Anantha Heritage Hotel
#12 of 85 in Pondicherry
276 reviews
0.6 km away
La Maison Radha
La Maison Radha
#2 of 170 in Pondicherry
170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gratitude, a Heritage Home? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gratitude, a Heritage Home

Address: 52 Rue Romain Rolland Street, Pondicherry 605001, India
Region: India > Union Territory of Pondicherry > Pondicherry
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 170 B&Bs / Inns in Pondicherry
Price Range: $52 - $94 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
‘Gratitude’ is a home and a place of retreat in Pondicherry, India. It has been restored lovingly over a period of three years maintaining the authenticity of the architectural style and method of construction that was prevalent when this house was built. What gives ‘Gratitude’ its true essence is the quiet joy and peace that gives this home a healing atmosphere which is rare to find in the world outside without compromising on comfort. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing