We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peaceful”
Review of Govino Bay Corfu

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Govino Bay Corfu
Ranked #9 of 17 Hotels in Gouvia
Reviewed 12 May 2017

Just returned from a week at Govino Bay. Had a fabulous time. Cannot fault the staff or amenities. We got fresh towels every day. Apartment was cleaned every day. They had left water. Washing up liquid. Dishcloth and scrubbers for our arrival and complementary miniature shower gel and shampoos. W have never been left anything before on our holidays. The onsite shop stocks everything you need and some things are cheaper than the main supermarket. 5 min wlk into Gouvia with some lovely place to eat and DRI no. The three monkeys. Red chilli. Romeo's. We had a brilliant night at Melodies with a Drifters tribute band. All in all we had the best time and will be returning

Room Tip: Ground floor as you get a large terrace, upstairs do t have an outside space
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Jude H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (200)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

21 - 25 of 200 reviews

Reviewed 19 April 2017

I have to say that the Govino Bay apartments grew on me as the week went by. Although the bay is quaint it is not the most picturesque on Corfu. Our apartment was newly painted inside and out was very clean and quite comfortable. The kitchenette was very basic and not brilliant if you plan to do a lot of cooking. (See image). Plenty of hot water for baths and showers and a tip if you have no patio is to open wide the green sliding windows in the sun lounge seating area and it makes a very pleasant area to sit. The staff were all lovely and helpful. The restaurant was quite good. Very pleasant but only basic menu. Nothing outstanding. The gardens are lovely and the location being a short bus ride from Corfu was a plus. We were warned on booking that the pool area would be closed till mid april.
You can catch the No 7 Dassia bus every 20 mins to San Rocco square and walk into the old town. Also catch a bus directly outside to Kassiopi and Paleokastritsa on the green bus route. (Green buses are not necessarily green!) The small shop on site is good to get water and the basics but there is a large supermarket 15 mins walk up the main road. This was our first time on any Greek island and have to say we felt Corfu was quite tatty despite there being some lovely countryside and coves, everywhere seemed unloved. A concrete and scrap iron festival. It took rustic charm to a new level!

Room Tip: Rooms on the ground floor can be noisy if children running about upstairs
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank Edward345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2017 via mobile

Travelled here on 8th April with my friend and 3 children. The buffet was so disappointing (feta cheese salad and chips everyday, not worth going half board) the holiday was disappointing due to the fact they would not open the swimming pool despite advertising it as open from April (I had very upset children) we all wanted to come home after 2 days. The bay is lovely to look at but filthy, not suitable to swim in with kids (near sank in quicksand). The hotel receptionist laughed when I said how upset we were about the pool being shut. Definitely sticking to Spain from now on. Only good point was the rooms are clean and the cleaners are lovely but our room was not fit for 3 nevermind 5. Good views but this hotel lacked any kind of positive atmosphere. No kids club, no pool, no life! It's a big fat booooooo from me

Stayed: April 2017, travelled with family
Thank abioooxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2017

Loved it here - just stayed for a week on a cheap deal & was very pleasantly surprised.The grounds are beautiful and very well kept, the apartments are spotlessly clean and the maids come in every day.There is everything you need to cater for yourselves if you wish but the restaurant on the complex is excellent and very reasonably priced. The pool wasn't open as we were there right at the start of the season but the little bay was very pleasant to sunbathe next to. There are bus stops right outside where you can get all over the island from and a supermarket not so far away.Our children are older so they were happy enough but there were a few families with little ones who were struggling to keep them entertained.Corfu Town was a 15 min bus journey with plenty of bars and restaurants open but Gouvia was pretty much closed at this time of year. Only downside was the very busy road in front of the complex.

Room Tip: downstairs apartments have a patio area, blue painted apartments more modern.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Kirsten F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2017 via mobile

We are staying here for the 4th time.We normally visit around October.Unfortunately now... hardly anywhere is open.I mean...maybe 2 or 3 bars and a couple of restaurants.We thought at least we had the hotel to relax in,but the swimming pool hasn't even been filled yet so we have a very disappointed little boy.It should really state when you are booking,that the pool won't be available at this time of year .Check in at nearly 12am was not good.We waited for an hour outside to be given our room key.Rooms are spacious,but you don't get a balcony on the upper level rooms.The local bars and restaurants that are open now are very appreciated!especially Melodies and the Indian restaurant Red Chilli.Sorry we have missed SOS Gouvia,as that is a lovely plave to eat.Will come back as we love Govino bay but never again at this time of year.Our fault.

Stayed: April 2017, travelled with family
Thank TabithaRach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gouvia
1.9 km away
Kontokali Bay Resort and Spa
10 km away
Anita Hotel
Anita Hotel
#3 of 9 in Perama
120 reviews
39.3 km away
Mediterranean Blue Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.2 km away
MarBella Corfu Hotel
MarBella Corfu Hotel
#1 of 5 in Agios Ioannis Peristeron
2,484 reviews
9.8 km away
Ariti Grand Hotel
Ariti Grand Hotel
#3 of 5 in Kanoni
511 reviews
0.2 km away
Louis Corcyra Beach Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Govino Bay Corfu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Govino Bay Corfu

Address: Gouvia 49100, Greece
Region: Greece > Ionian Islands > Corfu > Gouvia
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 17 Hotels in Gouvia
Price Range: $56 - $269 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Govino Bay Corfu 3*
Number of rooms: 61
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Expedia so you can book your Govino Bay Corfu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Govino Bay Corfu Gouvia
Govino Bay Corfu Hotel Gouvia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing