We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,050)
Filter reviews
2,050 results
Traveller rating
722
576
390
222
140
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
722
576
390
222
140
Show reviews that mention
All reviews hot tub taster menu log cabin main building outdoor jacuzzi groupon deal relaxing break overlooking the lake lakeside restaurant leisure facilities night break crerar hotels leeds bradford airport bed and breakfast short break black pudding wedding venue
Filter
Updating list...
72 - 77 of 2,050 reviews
Reviewed 29 June 2018

We celebrated our 40th wedding anniversary with a four night break at this wonderful hotel. The hotel setting with its lodges in the woods and the lake made our stay one of the best short breaks we have had. The gym, pool and spa facilities were very popular with many of the guests. Our room was an executive room that opened onto the side of the lake with a small patio & seating. The room was spacious and very comfortable. The geese used to visit us with their goslings. We were booked in for the six course taster menu and it was an experience not to be missed. The food was tasty, surprising at times and very enjoyable. The wild mushroom and thyme tea with truffle brioche was an acquired taste but we gave it a go. The lounge food menu at lunchime was varied, well cooked and tasty. All the staff were very friendly and efficient. I can honestly say the hotel exceeded our expectations. I have to give a special thank you to Tracy who was always welcoming and friendly when serving in the bar or working on reception. Nothing was too much trouble for her, she was a pleasure to talk to.

Room Tip: The executive rooms that open on to the lake are a must have.
  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank MASHyde_Cheshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chevingm, General Manager at Chevin Country Park Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 29 June 2018

Thank you for such a lovely review and thank you for telling the whole world how amazing your stay was with us. Team Chevin is so happy you such a lovely time with and we look forward to seeing you back at the Chevin very soon kind regards for now Mark and the rest of the team p.s thank you for your nice comments about 'our' Tracey...... Kind regards Mark (gm.chevin@crerarhotels.com)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2018

Booked for a girly day and even though spa opened at ten our room to use to get changed was not available till 11.15. Meanwhile we were given one small locker between five of us. As this would not have accommodated our clothes and belongings we were left with no choice but to purchase coffees from the hotel to pass the time until our room was ready. Finally got into the spa area at 11.30 only to find that other people’s towels etc were spread out on the beds by the pool. Treatments were ok but therapists did not introduce themselves to us or explain anything about the treatments. Overall a very disappointing day

Stayed: June 2018, travelled with friends
2  Thank SuzyD99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chevingm, General Manager at Chevin Country Park Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2018

Dear Suzy first of all my team and I are sorry your spa day wasn't great. Second of all may I ask did you speak with anyone form the spa before you left?
I would love to discuss this feedback with you directly if you could email me your contact number and when would be a good time to call you. Kind regards Mark gm.chevin@crerarhotels.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2018 via mobile

Got stuck on a job nearby so needed a sleepover.. arrived to find I had the most amazing log cabin... perfect place to unwind after a very stressful day.. thank you.. one very happy and chilled bunny !!

Stayed: June 2018, travelled solo
1  Thank Leon H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chevingm, General Manager at Chevin Country Park Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2018

Dear Leon, thank you for taking the time and trouble to tell the whole world how great your stay was with us here at the Chevin. Leon when you are ready for another great stay please email me directly and the team and I will take great care of you.
Kind Regards Mark
gm.chevin@crerarhotels.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2018 via mobile

My wife and I married at the Chevin in March this year and the entire experience was fantastic, lovely setting, friendly and professional staff and smooth scheduling! Particular kudos to the manager the night before (can’t remember the poor blokes name but he was very friendly, chatty and jokey!), to Vicky who organised the wedding and Marina who was an absolute star on the day, immediately removing any stress and ensuring the day went without fault. I would 100% recommend

Stayed: March 2018, travelled with family
1  Thank Gary S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chevingm, General Manager at Chevin Country Park Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2018

Thank you so much for taking the time and trouble to put your ‘amazing feedback’ on to the TripAdvisor website, the team and I wish you and your lovely wife all the best for the future
Gary when you are ready to come back please email me directly and my team and I will take great care of you both
Kind regards Mark
GM.chevin@crerarhotels.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2018 via mobile

My partner and I fancied a relaxing night away so thought we would book a spa night at the chevin in a log cabin style room.

Firstly- the spa (if you can even call it that) was smelly and very dirty. The changing rooms looked like they haven’t been cleaned for months. The outside area with the hot tub is nice I must say. After a short 15 mins we left as the pool had 3 kids in screaming- not at all what we expected. No robes or slippers in our rooms and were told £5 to hire them..so we didn’t bother. A pillow case full of used towels and bedsheets which I assumed had been thrown in the hallway after turn around time stayed in the hallway outside our room the entire time we stayed. Eww.

The room was so basic and not clean. Cobwebs behind the doors, dusty in parts and the outside decking needed a good sweep. The mattress on the bed was lumpy and frankly older than me! A very small bed too. After our meal in the restaurant which I must say was lovely- The best part of our time away! We headed back to our room, to someone in the next door room snoring so loud (I understand this isn’t the hotels fault but clearly showing the paper thin walls) I ended up calling reception at 12.30am to see if there was any other rooms as I simply couldn’t sleep due to these reasons but no one answered the phone. I ended up knocking one the next door room- awkward but this was suppose to be a nice treat away.

We didn’t stay for breakfast as we just wanted to get home to a comfy bed. Frankly I was gutted.

Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Pippa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chevingm, General Manager at Chevin Country Park Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2018

Dear Pippa first of all my team and I are sorry your stay wasn't great. Second of all may I ask did you speak with anyone from the resort regarding your concern before your left? It would be great to discuss this feedback with you directly if you could email me your contact number and when would be a good time to call you. Kind regards Mark gm.chevin@crerarhotels.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews