We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and value”
Review of Hostal La Campana

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hostal La Campana
Reviewed 11 October 2017

The wife and I stayed here for four nights for a weeding in Gibraltar.

From the airport we walked through passport control and headed to our hotel. Keeping the airport behind us it was a 10 minute walk. The walk is along a pedestrianised area with shops and bars, cross over the road to a square and the hotel is the first street on the left, its the one with the bank on the corner.

We made the walk to Gibraltar and back many times with little hold up at the border. Taxis do not cross the border but if heading to Gibraltar taxis were always waiting (expect to pay £5-7 to the center or cable cars). The number 10 bus is just on the right after the border and the fare was 3 euros return, we figured out later you get a better deal paying in pounds sterling. The walk in Gib from border to Main Street is around half an hour.

The location of the hotel is very good as it's not only near the border but also very close to many tapas bars and the centre of La Linea. Out of the hotel turn left and you will be at the first bar within a minute. When stood on the hotel steps head for 11 o' clock to find many more bars.

Our hotel room was spacious and reasonably clean. The bed was comfortable with clean white sheets and maid service was very good and daily. The WIFI was good and the room had a small TV, Air conditioning worked well. In the bathroom the shower worked well and the only toiletries provided were a small soap and sachets of shower gel.There was plenty of storage space and a wardrobe.

The room does not have a fridge, kettle, safe or any glasses.

The layout was basic, a coat of paint wouldn't do any harm but that wasn't an issue to us as we only were in the room to sleep and shower.

Staff were friendly. We never ate or drank there as it always appeared to be closed.

Value for money was good. We booked with booking.com for a total cost of 162 euros for 4 nights. We were led to believe that payment was on arrival but this was not the case, Payment was taken a few days after making the booking which was 4 months before our arrival.

If you are looking for a no thrills value for money hotel in a good location then this place is for you. Overall rating 3.5. Would recommend.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bestyman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (77)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3 - 7 of 77 reviews

Reviewed 6 October 2017

I needed a place to stay as I'd arrived in Gibraltar around 9pm and needed a place to crash as I was beginning a 1250 mile bike ride from Gibraltar to London the next morning. It was the cheapest place in the vicinity and it was a perfectly acceptable night. Good value, a comfortable bed and a fully functional bathroom. I left too early to sample the breakfast but I had absolutely no complaints and it gave me everything I needed.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank CharlieKn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2017

When booking a stay in a hostal, you know that you should not expect luxury, or for five star facilities.

The important points I would consider when selecting a hostal would be:

a) good price
b) cleanliness
c) private bathroom
d) good location

Hostal Campana provides all of these, and is definitely one of the better hostals in La Linea. Accommodation is, of course, basic, but the rooms are of a decent size, beds are comfortable, with clean sheets, and the private bathroom is also clean and modern.

Location is great, just off Plaza Constitucion, a minute away from Calle Real with its array of cafeterias and tapas joints. The Gibraltar border is a five minute walk away.

Wifi is decent, and free, throughout the hostal, and the staff are friendly and welcoming.

I would have no hesitation in staying at this hostal again, should the need arise.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Gib_Minty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2017 via mobile

Lovely family run hostal, i.e. Comfy bed,room cleaned daily,tea & toast for 2 only €5. Free wifi,air con,tv. Visit every year. Can highly recommend 10 minutes walk to Gibraltar border.always friendly welcome back,plenty of eateries within walking distance, reasonably priced,should give them a try.

Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Alovelycuppacoffee70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2017

We were only meant to stay 1 night but our flight was changed so we ended up staying for 2 nights.
Accommodation was very basic but clean with 24 hour reception and comfortable beds.
It did get a little noisy after 6am with guests getting early morning buses to Algecirus (for trains) and to other parts of Spain.
The €2.50 breakfast consisted of 2 slices of toast, jam butter and either tea or coffee.

  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Gismo2004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near La Linea de la Concepcion
0.4 km away
Ohtels Campo de Gibraltar
Ohtels Campo de Gibraltar
#2 of 5 in La Linea de la Concepcion
1,274 reviews
1.2 km away
AC Hotel La Linea
AC Hotel La Linea
#1 of 5 in La Linea de la Concepcion
695 reviews
1.4 km away
Sunborn Gibraltar
Sunborn Gibraltar
#1 of 6 in Gibraltar
2,059 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 km away
Bristol Hotel
Bristol Hotel
#6 of 6 in Gibraltar
745 reviews
8.0 km away
Holiday Inn Express Campo de Gibraltar - Barrios
2.7 km away
Caleta Hotel
Caleta Hotel
#3 of 6 in Gibraltar
1,096 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostal La Campana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal La Campana

Address: Calle Carboneros n 03, 11300 La Linea de la Concepcion, Spain
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Cadiz > La Linea de la Concepcion
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in La Linea de la Concepcion
Price Range: $54 - $106 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — Hostal La Campana 1*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia and Booking.com so you can book your Hostal La Campana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing