We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Budget Hotel” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of First World Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
First World Hotel
Ranked #3 of 10 Hotels in Genting Highlands
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
29 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Budget Hotel”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 December 2013

This was our 3rd trip to Genting Highland and 2nd time at First World Hotel.

It’s located on hills, so the climate is always pleasant. From airport it’s around 1hr 30mins drive by taxi (MYR 200 approx.) and around 45mins from city center (MYR 100 approx.). Do note, OUTDOOR THEME park is closed starting September 2013 till next 3 years to make way for the Twentieth Century Fox Theme Park. Although indoor theme park is operational, but the rides for kids are very minimal. Nearby attraction s are ‘Chin Swee Cave Temple & Strawberry Leisure Farm.

Check-in process is through an automated vending machine. The downside, it pick-ups any available room, we had booked for a room with a view and a queen size bed and got room with no view and two single beds. So had to bring down all of our luggage to the main lobby. Explained the situation to the front desk staff, upon which the usual answer our 6,118 rooms hotel is fully booked and we have very limited options. With a bit of haggling, they agreed to give us our desired rooms the very next day, but on the check-in day, we have to adjust. So a big thumbs down for their unprofessionalism.

Rooms of these hotels are tiny with basic amenities, but one can live with it. Breakfast was part of the deal, a mix of American, Chinese & Malaysian. Also, there are plenty of restaurants within the resort facility.

Overall, good option if you are on a budget.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Vipul_Satam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,624 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    312
    814
    1,003
    273
    222
See reviews for
1,163
653
64
60
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (662)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 December 2013

I have booked first world hotel from 23th Nov to 27th Nov 2013. I brought a family of 5 to Genting to enjoy.
Of course we need extra towels. I called the room service to get extra 2 towels and had told them we got 5 persons in the family. But they need me 1 to 1 exchange. This sound very stupid, do you think we will steal their towel?
Spoil my mood for the days. Management please review it, this is not up to standard yet!

Room Tip: No comment
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Roy_Singapore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Genting Highlands hotels

Singapore River, Singapore
Level Contributor
28 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 December 2013

Checked in on 29/11 (2 nights), smooth check in using self check-in via machine (Hi-tech!!). Everything remain unchanged (last visit was Dec'2004) except closure of outdoor theme park (to be ready by 2016). If you are looking for cool breeze or some luck in the casino, I think 2 nights is more than enough.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dannyang2888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 December 2013

I have been to this hotel 2 times. Stayed at the two extreme room types they offer. Lowest cadre is just to sleep and shower, economical option.
This time we enjoyed our stay at World Club Room. Got immersed in the hot bathtub and same time enjoyed the Mountain View from 27th floor.
Theme parks are not so great. Personally found outdoor theme park was better than indoor, if compared. Anyways now the outdoor theme park is closed for renovation next 2 yrs.
I am not sure if any other room types offer same or similar Mountain View as World Club Room. If yes, it is worth it.
World club lounge is also nice to have you breakfast and avoid the crowd. But I guess does not serve all the food options available on the normal breakfast buffet.
We had our breakfast at the Indian section at 8th floor; it had number of Indian vegetarian options to eat with decent taste.

Overall I enjoyed our stay this time.

Room Tip: Think what is the your purpose. If you want to relax with nice scenic beauty, go for World Club Ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ramjitu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chennai (Madras), India
Level Contributor
24 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 November 2013

We came via cable car (amazing view) and walk to hotel reception was bit far. As I understand it has more than 5000 room so there was huge queue for allotment of rooms. One need to take counter number and later wait for your turn, it took more than one hour for us to get our rooms.

Rooms were small but pay what you get so no complaints, our motto was to sleep eel stay for a night and spend maximum time on theme park and casino.

On that evening we enjoyed indoor theme park with kids and late night taking turns we visited casino as kids are not allowed inside casino. Both casino and theme park is located at entrance of this property.

The walls of room are thin so you still can hear some outside and neighboring rooms.
It is a real pleasure to see how they cater to hundreds of people during breakfast. Stuffs keeps on getting refilled in large quantity.

During checkout just drop your key in the kiosk, no need to visit reception.

Overall nice weekend stay with kids at the hill area.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PallaviMyPackageTrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Genting Highlands
0.5 km away
Resort Hotel Genting Highlands
Resort Hotel Genting Highlands
#1 of 10 in Genting Highlands
4.0 of 5 bubbles 433 reviews
1.2 km away
Best Western Premier Ion Delemen
Best Western Premier Ion Delemen
#4 of 10 in Genting Highlands
3.5 of 5 bubbles 89 reviews
0.3 km away
Genting Grand
Genting Grand
#2 of 10 in Genting Highlands
4.0 of 5 bubbles 169 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 km away
Colmar Tropicale, Berjaya Hills
0.5 km away
Maxims
Maxims
#6 of 10 in Genting Highlands
3.5 of 5 bubbles 87 reviews
3.4 km away
Awana Hotel
Awana Hotel
#5 of 10 in Genting Highlands
3.5 of 5 bubbles 781 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to First World Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about First World Hotel

Property: First World Hotel
Address: Resorts World Genting, Genting Highlands 69000, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Pahang > Genting Highlands
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 10 Hotels in Genting Highlands
Price range (per night): $14 - $124
Hotel Class:3 star — First World Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 7351
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The world's largest hotel First World Hotel is adjoined to the First World Plaza, which boasts 500,000 sq feet of indoor theme park, shopping centre and food galore. A lush, grand tropical rainforest greets guests at the main entrance of the First World Hotel, followed by a spacious Spanish courtyard lobby. All rooms are comfortably furnished with modern amenities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Ctrip TA and Hotels.com so you can book your First World Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
1st World Hotel
First World Genting Highlands
Hotel First World

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing