We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Super adventure!”
Review of Bio-Ken Snake Farm

Bio-Ken Snake Farm
Book In Advance
More Info
US$195.00*
and up
Day Trip to Malindi and Watamu
Ranked #6 of 24 things to do in Watamu
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Bio-Ken is a research centre, which deals with reptiles, especially snakes and snake-bite. Located less than 5 minutes drive from the hotels in Watamu - Kenya, it houses the largest collection of Snakes in East Africa and is open to the public. There are about 127 different snake species in Kenya. Of these only 18 have caused human fatalities and only another 6 could kill you. Another 10 could cause you a lot of pain and the remaining 93 or so, are non-venomous nor dangerous.
Reviewed 20 January 2017

Surprising collection of wild animals and snakes in a nice garden, rich in plants and vegetation of every type, very close to Watamu town. It is a good place to spend some hours and see something different, even to be aware of what you could meet in your resort's garden!! The owner is very kind and available for explenations, and make visitors experience new feelings: we even got the chance to touch a camaleon and some snakes that climbed on our arms!!

Thank Cecilia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bio-Ken, Guest Relations Manager at Bio-Ken Snake Farm, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2017

Thank you Cecilia for your kind review. We hope you will visit Bio-Ken again soon. Karibu Tena

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (172)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

14 - 18 of 172 reviews

Reviewed 6 January 2017

i recommend the visit of this snake farm. a guide explains everything for you and it's very interesting

Thank Susanokle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2017 via mobile

We decided to visit this farm because of our strong interest in local snakes around us. Some times we see different snakes in our garden but never can recognise the type, and that makes us afraid even more... And our garden man calls all of them a mamba or a cobra... So, we visited the farm this morning hoping to learn something useful about snakes. And it was a very right decision! Indeed we learned a lot and can recognise now at least a mamba. We were very lucky to meet Baraka who is an expert in this topic, and ask him all our questions about Kenyan snakes and even Skorpions! Thank you Baraka for sharing with us your experience and knowledge. Asante sana!

Thank Babadogo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bio-Ken, Guest Relations Manager at Bio-Ken Snake Farm, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2017

Thank you Babadogo for your kind review. We hope you will visit Bio-Ken again soon. Karibu Tena

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2017

If the kids get restless and are looking for new activities, this worth it.
The guide was knowledgeable and let us hold a few specimens.

Thank Jon_France_Portugal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bio-Ken, Guest Relations Manager at Bio-Ken Snake Farm, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2017

Thank you Jon for your kind review. We hope you will visit Bio-Ken again soon. Karibu Tena

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2017 via mobile

Took my young grandchildren aged 3yrs & 14months. They both had super time. Our guide Zacharia was fantastic with them..He knows his job. Thank you Zacharia☆★☆

Thank Verohanta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Bio-Ken Snake Farm also viewed

Watamu, Coast Province
 

Been to Bio-Ken Snake Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing