We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$122
US$110
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Barracuda Inn(Watamu)(Great Value!)
US$60
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
US$280
US$258
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$106
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$122
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Echo Villas Watamu(Watamu)(Great Value!)
US$79
US$74
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$165
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$164
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Aquarius Club(Watamu)(Great Value!)
US$114
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$26
US$5
Priceline
View Deal
Reviews (516)
Filter reviews
516 results
Traveller rating
268
178
45
13
12
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
268
178
45
13
12
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 516 reviews
Reviewed 11 June 2013

I've stayed here twice and absolutely love it with our family! The food is one of the best at the coast with variety on the buffet for everyone to find their niche. Excellent Italian flare to the food and great seafood choices! Our children loved the pool options and the beach at low tide is extraordinary. You can walk all the way out to the reef and float back with the incoming tide in a channel just like a 'real' lazy river. highly recommend for the value!

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kevmeem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2013

The resort is ideal for those seeking to get away from the 'hustle & bustle" of the city.
Located about 15km from Malindi town,the dirt road to the hotel resort through African villages.
The ocean view from the resort is romantic as most of the rooms face the Indian Ocean with a beautiful beach..
A perfect place for relaxing and a get-away from "normal life"...I would say it's made for couples and those who really want to relax!

Room Tip: Rooms at the Ocean front are quite romantic..
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank dianisafarisholiday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2013

Perfect place to get away" secret hideout" but not ideal for anyone who wants just more than relaxing holiday as the hotel is located on a dirt road and nothing nearby! The food is okay but no way for vegetarians! The staff knows mostly Italian and do not know whether food is veg or nonveg! Bad experiece there! The local spirits are not upto standard compared to other all inclusive hotels ,the bar is very (un)impressive & no snacks in an all inclusive hotel. The rooms do not have tea/coffee making facilities like other hotels. Perfect hotel for sea food lovers :)

Room Tip: Beach Front! As the other rooms are far from the main restaurant , pool and the beach!
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Phoenix0213
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2013

The Ora website map has the hotel positioned within walking distance of Watamu. This was a deciding factor in choosing the hotel as Turtle bay has magnificent snorkelling and numerous good restaurants and bars. Plus I had friends staying in the area.
The truth is... The hotel is a long way towards Malindi on a very bad dirt road with NO adjacent facilities. I.e when you're in the hotel, there is really nowhere else to go.
Finding the hotel was again an issue. I used the map from their website and google maps on my phone, only to find myself driving round in circles. I tried calling the numbers on the website but none were active.
On finally reaching the hotel I pointed this out to the Italian lady that greeted us, only to be met with indifference.
The map on their site is truly misleading and I would not have booked if I had known the reality.

On Checking into the room we discovered that the curtains were too small to cover the windows. We had to rig up cushions and pin the curtains together with safety pins. Nearly $400 a night? What a joke.

I was booked all inclusive. You should ask them what that means because it"s certainly not my idea of what all inclusive is.

We asked for an extra blanket or bed sheet only to be told they didn't have any.

The food was at best mediocre and sometimes (for example prawns that were not cleaned and powdery) inedible. That's got to be the first time I've gone away for Christmas and NOT put on weight.

All in all not a nice experience. What a shame.

Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
4  Thank Matthew P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 December 2012

perfect for honeymooners!...i recently took a weekend and visited Ora resort in he North of Mombasa ,i would admit that Watamu Bay is so far the most beautiful resort i have been to this year....its neat /clean,breathtaking white sandy and un crowded beach...almost private....great staff....great service and above all...i am in love with the beds...very comfortable and the general design of the Villas is just awesome.....ill definitely go back and send more tourists to Ora!

Room Tip: All the rooms were the same but insist on a closer room with view of the beach....
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank VivienKenya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews