We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (124)
Filter reviews
124 results
Traveller rating
100
17
1
5
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
100
17
1
5
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews delicious cocktails low tide beautiful beach octopus the air conditioning beautiful hotel on arrival federico pools waiters paradise italians relaxation kenya
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 124 reviews
Reviewed 4 March 2018 via mobile

Viola, Frederico and all staff of Kobe Suites have done a great Job of this resort. Our family had a great time. Nice for a quiet holiday on the beach for people who expect privacy away from the crowds.

Stayed: February 2018, travelled with family
Thank Jdshahke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Federico B, General Manager at Kobe Suite Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 28 March 2018

Dear guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to review our facility. We are pleased that you found a place where you can relax and have a great time all at once. Here at Kobe we try our best to make sure that we go the extra mile for our guests and exceed all their expectations.

From all the management and staff at Kobe Suite Resort, we wish you all the best and hope to see you very soon to enjoy another quiet and relaxing time here with us.

Best regards,

Federico Bertoni

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2018 via mobile

Kobe Suite Resort is an excellent 3-Star property—not close to 4 or 5. Example - manager insisted on invoicing in US$ then at checkout machine only took Kenyan shillings, so he converted invoice with a 10% more favorable exchange rate to himself and put bill on our US$ credit card so we must then pay additional conversion fees. AC only in bedroom took 24 hrs to cool. Bathroom has no glass - only mosquito screen so lets in heat. Living room -fans only. Not a real mattress but foam bed & pillows. Must read fine print re „free wifi“ available only outside reception/near pool, not in room. Food bad & pricey for what you get. Had to watch an elderly Italian woman and her young African lover cuddle & play footsie while trying to dine. Bright spot - some charming waiters - Lewa, Henry & more. A good spot for those young and on a limited budget. For those looking for luxury, check out Hemingway‘s where we moved as soon as possible.

Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
2  Thank sarcherjd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Federico B, Direttore generale at Kobe Suite Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 28 February 2018

Dear Ms. Archer,

Thank you very much for taking the time to review our facility. We are sorry that you were not happy with the standards of Kobe Suite Resort whereby it did not fit your social class status. As I explained to you at check out, all I did was the conversion from USD to Kenyan Shilling so that I could have charged you in the currency of Kenya, which is the only one that our credit card machines accept. This was all very well explained at check out, we don't do petty things such as charging an extra 10% as you implied.

With regards to the room, you are one of the few clients that lamented about the mattress being very hard, you could have asked the management and we would have added a soft layer called "Milton". We place them only according to guest specifications due to the fact that guests have different preferences in terms of mattress hardness. As for the problem of the heat in this very period of the year, unfortunately there is very little that we can do about it.

With regards to the free wifi, it is indeed that way and on internet booking portals it is clearly specified that it is free only in public areas such as the reception and lounge area.

Food wise, if you read all the reviews we have, Kobe is regarded as one of the best places to eat out in Watamu whereby only a handful of guests leave the restaurant of Kobe unhappy. I am sorry that a couple cuddling (a very normal thing to do) had to put you off your food and made you feel so aggrieved that it ruined your appetite and dining experience.

Out of all this gloom I am happy that our highly trained staff was there to put some brightness back into your stay at Kobe.

Your choice to move to Hemingways was a very good one. On behalf of all the staff at Kobe we wish you a very pleasant continuation of you holiday.

Best regards,

Federico Bertoni
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2018

Kobe Suite Resort is a good choice for travelers seeking a nice *** hotel. It is a mystery to me how they got *****. The bed was uncomfortable, the A/C worked only in the bedroom, food was mediocre. Management requires some more training. We booked for a week and checked out after 2 days.

Room Tip: Try to get an ocean view room. The others are in the back with an unattractive entrance and no air circulation.
  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rene E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Federico B, Direttore generale at Kobe Suite Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 28 February 2018

Dear Rene,

Thank you for taking the time to review our facility even though, unlike 95% of our clientele you were severely disappointed with Kobe Suite Resort, so much so that your subjective opinion of Kobe is just a *** stars. The fact that it is a mystery to you how we got the ***** stars on internet portals such as this one is simply for the fact that we have very few guests that leave from here unhappy and the proportion between satisfied guests and unhappy ones is very ample. It is also simply because of highly trained staff that dedicate themselves to their workplace every single day making sure that clientele expectation is always exceeded. Kobe Suite Resort is seen very highly from travelers coming to the north coast of Kenya especially in Watamu in terms of service, food preparation, location and facility wise.

We are very sorry that you were so aggrieved that you had to leave just after two days. We wish you a pleasant stay for the rest of your holiday here in Watamu.

Best regards from all the staff at Kobe Suite Resort.

Federico Bertoni
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2018

What a wonderfully chilled yet perfectly run resort - not too big however be prepared for a lot of Italians! On the beach ... a short 50m walk down the dunes to beach. 2 pools , one for resort residents only and is quieter, delicious restaurant onsite with perfect setting. Aircon in the rooms and Wifi in main area. And the staff are just brilliant - nothing too much trouble. Kite surfing school nearby and they organised a wonderful dhow day trip which is best done privately for your group only. Best way to get around is by tuk tuk and easy to get to restaurants and town closeby.

  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
Thank Kiwipet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Federico B, General Manager at Kobe Suite Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 29 January 2018

Dear guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to review our facility. We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay here with us as well as the whole concept of Kobe Suite Resort and the location as a whole. We are glad that you appreciated the service of the personnel whom are always keen on going the extra mile for our clientele and also the dhow trip done privately which is a wonderful experience.

On behalf of all the staff and management of Kobe, we wish you all the best and thank you once again with the hope to have you as our guests in future.

Best regards,

Federico Bertoni

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2018

I spent some time researching the area to find what I hoped would be a small, friendly hotel slightly away from the main busy area of the beach - we could not have been more delighted with Kobe - it ticked all the boxes and more! From the welcome we received on arrival up to the point of departure every member of staff we came into contact with throughout our stay had a smile on their face and a genuine willingness to make our stay as pleasurable as possible. The website cannot do justice to the charm and beauty of this resort and of course cannot explain what a lovely atmosphere there is around the place - you need to visit to experience this! We stayed over Christmas and a wonderful gospel choir came to sing on Christmas Eve- it was a highlight of our holiday! We loved sitting at the beach bar chatting to the staff and the restaurant area in the sand is a wonderful location to eat the best food in the area - we love seafood and the octopus in particular was amazing! It is not easy to explain why this place has found a very special place in our hearts - it is something which words cannot describe. Everything was perfect and every staff member, from management, to the bar and restaurant staff, pool guys, housekeeping, reception should be praised for the wonderful attitude they have to making their guests' stay a memorable one. We will definitely be back and this wonderful place is definitely firmly in our top 3 hotels around the world. if you are reading this review and thinking about staying here, the best advice I can give you is to do it - you will have a wonderful time!.

Room Tip: ground floor garden rooms are perfect - quiet and next to one of the beautiful pools
  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VanessaStroud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Federico B, General Manager at Kobe Suite Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 25 January 2018

Dear Vanessa,

Thank you very much for taking the time to review our facility as this means a great deal to us. We are very happy that we have managed to make your holiday a wonderful experience and that you loved the atmosphere of Kobe as a whole, starting from our staff members all the way to the food, the location and the overall good vibes of Kobe.

The aspect which makes us very proud about your review is that you appreciated all the services offered as well as all the effort and attention to detail from all the staff making it for you an unforgettable experience having met and exceeded your expectations.

Thank you very much once again for everything and on behalf of all the members of staff at Kobe Suite Resort, we wish you all the best and hope to see you very soon once again here with us.

Best regards,

Federico Bertoni

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews