We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,015)
Filter reviews
2,015 results
Traveller rating
1,807
137
43
21
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,807
137
43
21
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviews hilltop reserve free ice cream hideaway villa guest experience maker living room hilltop restaurant our honeymoon chef's table ocean pool villa yoga platform in villa dining tuk tuk tour four seasons phuket airport hill top out of this world personal butler
Filter
Updating list...
128 - 133 of 2,015 reviews
Reviewed 18 September 2017 via mobile

Spoiled people like us come with high expectations. Our superb butler Aum, the whole team, the SPA, the kitchen and the excursions were all just perfect. Very bespoke services and well maintenanced villas. Thank you fine people for giving us those perfect days.

Date of stay: September 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank VielUndGutEsser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMGrahamGrant, General Manager at Six Senses Yao Noi, responded to this reviewResponded 20 September 2017

Dear VielUndGutEsser

Perfect review, thank you for staying with us and along with Khun Aum and team hope to see you again soon on our little paradise.

Best wishes,
Graham Grant
General Manager – Six Senses Yao Noi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2017 via mobile

Understated luxury without the bling. Lots of thoughtful details in all the structures and services. Beautiful well kept gardens within a tropical forest. High quality food, we only ate Thai dishes!

We went in low season and it was brilliant having the place almost to ourselves. The absence of bars and discos on a small island makes this an exclusive getaway. Lots of places for just lolling about on a relaxing break, different areas in your enormous villa, the Den comfy bar with in and outdoor sitting, aircon library, Hilltop reserve with the most beautiful view, on one of two beaches, or the secret yoga platform hidden along the mangrove boardwalk!

Do prearrange the transfer from airport, Six Senses meet you and look after you the moment you exit into getting area, their own taxi and speed boat to their own pier where you will met by met by your GEM.

You must do the tuktuk tour of the island. Bicycle hire for 3GBP gets you out to see local culture, the main village called the market is about 30 mins gentle cycle away. Taxis in evening to any of many tasty restaurants is fixed at about 300baht for round trip, the restaurant will call the same driver back when you are finished.

Six Senses really do look after you, and the best thing of all is the friendliest kindest staff, from gardeners to buggy drivers, waiters, cleaners, receptionists and ever visible managers. We got to know quite well lots of people in our 10 day stay and felt we made friends!

Value for money? It really makes you think what your values should be.

Thank you Khun Graham, Santi, restaurant manager Pla and GEM Tanya and all your staff for a special kind of getaway!

Date of stay: August 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
2  Thank markkB2852AP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMGrahamGrant, General Manager at Six Senses Yao Noi, responded to this reviewResponded 20 September 2017

Dear Mark K

Was truly a pleasure to have you with us, appreciate this wonderful feedback. Incredibly thankful for highlighting our amazing team, inspires us to continue crafting sensational experiences for our guests. We all hope to see you again soon on beautiful Yao Noi.

Best wishes,
Graham Grant
General Manager – Six Senses Yao Noi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2017

This is our second time to Six Senses Yao Noi and I must say nothing much has changed since we last came in 2012. It is an absolute paradise. Right from welcoming us as the airport in Phuket to arrival at the resort we were made to feel very comfortable and welcomed.Every aspect of the resort was wonderful including the friendliness of the staff, services, activities, high quality food and the amenities in the villa and the entire property. The staff was outstanding catering to our requirements with a smile. We were very impressed with the rooms that were not only spacious but immaculate and had a great attention to detail in every corner including the sunscreen lotions, mosquito sprays and coils. The housekeeping and turn down services were remarkable.
The breakfast and in villa dining experience was excellent (great food), besides, they they also had a wide variety of dishes for vegetarians in the menu. Our five year old daughter loved spending time in the chicken and goat farm. We were really impressed with the organic vegetable farm and the mushroom hut.
However we felt that the resort can work on more activities for kids like a play area for kids like the ones at Six Senses Koh Kood(Thailand)and Six Senses Nah Trang(Vietnam).

In a nutshell it s a perfect property with sensational views and wonderful friendly people. We surely made the right decision coming back to the resort and would definitely consider coming back for the third time sometime in the future.

Date of stay: September 2017
Thank yogeshv865
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMGrahamGrant, General Manager at Six Senses Yao Noi, responded to this reviewResponded 13 September 2017

Dear yogeshv865

Thank you for again staying with us, fabulous to read all expectations were again lived up to. Appreciate remarks that every aspect of resort was wonderful and for highlighting facilities and our exceptional hosts and service, Well note comments on children activities and can assure working on a new concept called “Hornbill Club” which will delight all our young guests in coming months. Thank you for recommending us as a perfect property and along with team hope you shall return soon for next “beyond amazing” experience.

Best wishes,
Graham Grant
General Manager – Six Senses Yao Noi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2017

My husband and I stayed at the SS Yao Noi as part of my 30th birthday break and while I really do want to give the resort 5 stars, there are many reasons why I just cannot. I'll list what I saw as pluses and minuses of this property below, some of which are good to know if you are considering staying at this property.

Pros:
Lovely property, beautiful and secluded - very well designed.

The resort pool has a stunning view and the pool staff are super friendly and efficient.
Food was delicious at all restaurants - even room service which sometimes tends to be iffy was always very good. The lady in charge of the breakfast buffet was always very friendly and nice. Food at the Dining Room was brilliant.

Friendly and efficient staff (except at the bar near the library - more on that later).

Value for money experience - for all that is offered, I really don't understand other reviewers' complaints on the price point.

The spa facilities are amazing - we loved the gym and yoga shala.

Cons:
A simple request to charge us payment for the entire room rate in advance was very poorly handled - multiple back and forth, simple instructions not followed, credit card details with CVV asked for - just very incompetent handling of a very simple request.

On my birthday eve, we were having a few drinks at the bar near the library when I broke out into a dreadful rash due to mosquito bites (or could have been a reaction to the insects on the recliners) - since we weren't ready to go into the room, we asked one of the staff if we could take our drinks into the library as it is air conditioned and safe from mosquitoes/insects - he flatly refused and not a peep of concern for the rash I had suddenly broken out into was expressed. Very annoyed, we asked for the drinks to be sent to the room and spent the rest of the night there. This level of inflexibility at a resort is simply unacceptable!

Finally - if you have gecko/lizard - phobia, this is NOT the right property for you. I found one on the door handle and many scuttling about near the room pool and it really took away from the experience for me. Given that many many people have a gecko-phobia, I think it is important for the resort to warn guests about this upfront.

Similarly, it took 4 days for my reaction to the mosquito/insect rash to die down. Whilst it's all very well to say that it's an eco friendly resort and not much can be done about insects and geckos, the fact is that when they start to become a huge nuisance to guests, something absolutely has to be done.

Overall, we were very happy with our stay but there were definitely some issues that need work. We chose Yao Noi partly because we wanted to give the SS brand a try and based on the experience, we will definitely give the brand another chance at a different property next time.

Date of stay: August 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank omniadubitare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMGrahamGrant, General Manager at Six Senses Yao Noi, responded to this reviewResponded 13 September 2017

Dear omniadubitare

Thank you for choosing us for your special birthday celebration, pleasure having you stay with us. Appreciate all the constructive feedback and unfortunate we have not met full recommendation however thankful you will again select Six Senses in future.

Prepayment handling, we communicated with directly and assure that we have reviewed process and apologize for any inconvenience caused. Very disappointed with the incident at The Den with our host, your request should have been duly accommodated and our team has been addressed. This is totally out of character and sorry that this communication and service error impacted experience.

Excellent comments on our hosts being “super friendly” and that all dining experiences were delicious plus great price point value experienced. Look forward to welcoming you back to Six Senses soon.


Best wishes,
Graham Grant
General Manager – Six Senses Yao Noi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2017

i wanted to be able to give six senses 5 stars but in this case i found myself unable to justify the 5 stars as they fell short on a couple of occasions which compromised our overall enjoyment for 2 nights out of the 7 night stayed and while they apologized and attempted to improve our experience it nevertheless was not perfect which when you are paying premium rates at peak period it actually should be .
i want to be fair and so i will start off with all the positives at six senses Yao Noi which are the service and food . the negatives are more to do with maintenance and presentation of the villa but that too plays a big roll when you are paying $1000 per night but ill get to that towards the end of my review.

overall nearly all our experiences from a culinary perspective were spot on with the exception of one night so first let me talk about all the dining experiences . The Living room is a relaxed space . the Living room served us up some brilliant modern Thai dishes. these included a Tuna cevechie and a Pomelo "slippery" lobster salad which were delicious. in fact you cant go wrong with most of the dishes at the Living room.

we found ourselves returning here time and time again. the only off night we had here was the 3rd evening because a large table was set up with 2 families and 2 young children. while the children were well behaved both had ipads and were playing movies/games simultaneously . while i understand that families with kids need holidays too, i think its a mistake to allow children with ipads into a dining room where it clashes with the ambiance and music. the volume of their ipads increased as the night progressed . by the time we realized it was time to move on it was too late as the restaurant was full and so we ended up sitting outside . this was the only bad dining experience we had and all the others were lovely. i question the sensibility of setting up children and couples trying to have a romantic night in the same space as the two are not compatible . i think the resort should really look at their policy here.

the Hilltop restaurant was another favorite dining venue and the service again was 2nd to none as were the dishes. the staff here are just wonderful. they have less guests (perhaps 8 tables) here and so are able to provide you a more exclusive experience . having said that the staff also provide you a wonderful service at the living room considering the amount of guests they need to service. in fact the staff are the biggest plus at this resort and were all wonderful .

lets get down to maintenance. our villa was terribly maintained . the villa has not seen a bit of wood oil or paint for years. from a aesthetic standing this is very disappointing you want to be able to look around and think "nice" but there is a big difference between "rustic" and run down and i am sorry to say our villa looked very run down. totally unacceptable and it detracts from the experience.
floors were scratched and walls stained from dripping air conditioning . as well as this windows/doors do not close properly and there are huge gaps all over the ceiling and around doors/windows making it virtually impossible to mosquito proof . as well there are no fly screens. while you expect mosquitos in the tropics , this caused us some big issues later in our stay with severe mosquito bites . the point is to keep mosquitoes out in the first place but with holes all over the villa that wont happen.
even though we used mosquito coils one evening my partner and i were bitten several times badly so was unable to sleep the entire night. when we complained they fumigated the bedroom with an entire can of spray rendering it uninhabitable in the evening . this was despite our strict instructions not to fumigate the room but use essential oil lamps. when we got back from dinner we had to air out the villa for 3hrs sitting outside until 1am. the staff had to change our linens and wash down the floors to get rid of all the chemical as we refused to be moved to another villa at midnight. this obviously spoiled our evening once again. even the night manager and our assigned butler could taste the chemical in our room as it was palatable and so not particularly healthy . i dare say dangerous.
when you take into account what you are spending a night to be there even though a free dinner to say sorry is a nice gesture it really is just that, a gesture and it doesnt really compensate you for the thousands it costs to be there so we felt that we didnt really get the full value for our money . in retrospect we should have been refunded some of our stay but when you are trying to relax you dont want to get into an argument with the resort manager so we accepted their offer graciously and left it at that.
they have the potential to be a perfect holiday experience . its is a beautiful resort and what they get right they get right but there is some fine tuning needed in several areas regards maintenance of the villas.

Date of stay: February 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank foodreview1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMGrahamGrant, General Manager at Six Senses Yao Noi, responded to this reviewResponded 6 September 2017

Dear foodreview1

Thank you for choosing Six Senses Yao Noi and your detailed review. Wonderful feedback albeit a shame we could not secure top score from your rating however appreciate the constructive feedback which has been shared.

The resort is designed to complement the local fabric of the destination, certainly we are a very natural product, the use of local sourced materials, local tradesmen and craftsman deliver an authentic experience we are however well aware that this carries a responsibility of exceptional upkeep. Disappointed to read you found the villa was below expectation, can assure we have a dedicated team to general repair and maintenance plus intense scheduled programs to have villas at best condition always. We do not use paint but a natural oil and surfaces should be in good condition. Apologies was not the case in your experience, do however hope you enjoyed the villa amenities, space and captivating views and found the resort overall to be in great condition.

Our sub-tropical environment and natural jungle comes with wonderful wildlife however should not interrupt your comfort. The measures taken to mitigate onset of pests are facilitated by a dedicated permanent pest control team. With core principals in sustainability am alarmed to read comments of chemical use, we use many solutions which are made onsite from natural organic products removing chemical use. Your comments alarming and sorry you where inconvenienced we are reviewing your isolated case and shall make any necessary changes that are applicable. Unfortunate also you felt that resolution was not satisfactory, we want nothing less than to have highly satisfied guests, we truly felt had appeased this incident through connection with you at resort.

Thank you for fabulous remarks on our culinary offering at resort, and delighted that our service culture was a special experience for you throughout stay.

Once again thank you for the constructive feedback, hope that you will consider Six Senses Yao Noi again, would be a pleasure to welcome you back to our natural paradise.

Best wishes,
Graham Grant
General Manager – Six Senses Yao Noi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews