We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Magnificent Weekend Getaway”
Review of Wild Horses Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Wild Horses Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 May 2017

Truly beautiful 5 star lodge set in the most beautiful surroundings. This small (8 guests max) lodge was the perfect, relaxing destination for us to explore the area from, especially Golden Gate and Clarens. A real home from home - manager made you feel right at home from the moment you arrived. Loved the fireplace in the lounge/bar where you could relax, have a drink and chat to the other guests before dinner. The gourmet dinners and breakfasts was a real treat. Wonderfully presented in a beautiful setting. The chef, Vuyo, is a real gem and even gave me a lesson on how to make the perfect eggs Benedict! All the staff are absolutely wonderful. We loved everything at this lodge, from the lovely Egyptian cotton on the beds, beautifully decorated rooms, breathtaking surroundings, excellent, friendly service, 5 star meals - and not to forget, the night cap and chocolates left on your bedside table every night. All in all a real memorable experience - will definitely be back!

Room Tip: Four rooms - two upstairs. Two with views over the dam - other two with views of garden. All four ni...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Jen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WildHorsesLodge, General Manager at Wild Horses Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 4 May 2017

Dear Jen,

Thank you for your positive review and staying with us at Wild Horses Lodge.

We enjoyed both you and your husband's company, thank you for the new cocktail mix examples you learned throughout your travels.

I hope your eggs Benedict is a big success now.

Love to those beautiful dogs of yours.

See you soon.

Warm Regards
Janine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (164)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

18 - 22 of 164 reviews

Reviewed 28 April 2017

Our experience with Wild Horses Lodge and their staff were nothing short of wonderful! The setting was beautiful and completely relaxing, with five star meals and service. It was a treat to have stayed at this treasure at the Sterkfontein Dam. Looking forward to going back soon!

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nvrego92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WildHorsesLodge, General Manager at Wild Horses Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 4 May 2017

Dear Nvrego92,

Thank you for your positive review and staying with us at Wild Horses.

We are all glad to hear you had a memorable stay and felt relaxed going back to the buzz in the city.

I look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Warm Regards
Janine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2017

It was so much more then what we expected. From the moment we arrived we where able to absorb the splendour and the tranquillity. The absolute perfect destination to "recharge". The owners did a fantastic job in creating a home away from home for their guests.The friendly, diligent and personalised service blew us away. We will most definitely be back.

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank 569charlv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WildHorsesLodge, General Manager at Wild Horses Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 25 April 2017

Dear Charl,

Thank you very much for your positive review and for visiting us at Wild Horses Lodge.

We are very pleased to hear we provided you with the best and sufficient service possible.

I look forward to welcoming you back, as promised remember the kids :)

We hope you have a promising long weekend.

PS: we are now running our annual winter special, see website for more details.

Kind Regards
Janine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2017

A picturesque lodge in the most breathtaking part of Harrismith. With impeccable service, beautifully prepared gourmet meals and therapeutic view's, there's nothing more you could possibly ask for when checking into this magnificent lodge

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Shaundr87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WildHorsesLodge, General Manager at Wild Horses Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 17 April 2017

Dear Shaun,

Thank you so much for your positive review regarding the Lodge and the service.

We are all very happy to hear you had such a memorable stay.

Once again congratulations and good luck with all the upcoming wedding arrangements,, we trust all will go smoothly and that we will be welcoming you back for your honeymoon or anniversary shortly.

Kind Regards
Janine and Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2017

We stayed at Wild Horses in March and we both felt it was one of the best hotels we have ever stayed in. The setting is so totally tranquil and stunningly beautiful overlooking the resevoir with wild horses roaming close to the hotel.
The staff were exceptional, Janine, Colisi and Vi the chef made our stay with their friendliness , helpfulness and attention to detail. The meals that we had were of such a high standard and we were extremely sorry to leave. The accommodation itself is gorgeous and my husband who is an award winning builder was blown away by the design and quality of the build by Jon the owner who obviously is an exceptional builder himself. There was such attention to detail. Stunning.

We will definately return to Wild Horses even though it is a bit of a drive to the main Drakensburg area. The beauty of Wild Horses made us feel we could have just stayed there and not even bothered driving out each day. Truly a little gem !!

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank christinejV7444EA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WildHorsesLodge, General Manager at Wild Horses Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 31 March 2017

Dear Christine,

Thank you so much for your positive review.

It was a pleasure meeting you and your husband, we enjoyed getting to know you both and look forward to welcoming you back.

I hope you enjoyed your trip to Tugela Falls.

Have a wonderful weekend.

Kind regards
Janine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Harrismith
17.3 km away
Alpine Heath Resort
Alpine Heath Resort
#1 of 1 in Jagersrust
512 reviews
1.7 km away
Qwantani Berg and Bush Resort
40.8 km away
Mount Everest Game Farm
Mount Everest Game Farm
#3 of 9 in Harrismith
161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.7 km away
Little Switzerland Hotel
Little Switzerland Hotel
#3 of 14 in Bergville
156 reviews
14.2 km away
Montusi Mountain Lodge
Montusi Mountain Lodge
#1 of 6 in uKhahlamba-Drakensberg Park
327 reviews
36.5 km away
Kiara Lodge
Kiara Lodge
#3 of 34 in Clarens
243 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wild Horses Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wild Horses Lodge

Address: Sterkfontein Dam, Harrismith 9880, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Free State > Harrismith
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Speciality Lodging in Harrismith
Price Range: $382 - $436 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Wild Horses Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the Eastern Free State's pristine Sterkfontein Nature Reserve at the foothills of the Drakensberg Escarpment, Wild Horses Lodge is the perfect location for an African breakaway. With its panoramic views of the majestic Platberg Mountain and the vast Sterkfontein Dam, the Lodge is a masterpiece of architectural design in local sandstone and offers luxury accommodation, exquisite cuisine and a variety of activities centred around the dam and the abundant wildlife of the reserve. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Wild Horses Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing