We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (178)
Filter reviews
178 results
Traveller rating
157
13
3
4
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
157
13
3
4
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswine cellarsterkfontein damzebra roomeach mealstaff were exceptionaldoing nothingromantic weekendprivate dinnerblew us awayleft us feelingincluded in the room rateawe inspiringearly checkperfect destinationour wedding anniversarythe hustle and bustleattention to detail
Filter
Updating list...
22 - 27 of 178 reviews
Reviewed 14 September 2017

Excellent service, friendly personnel clean rooms, good food. From the moment we stopped there the personnel were very friendly. Very excellent area. The building is amazing. So much hard work. The manager is excellent. Made you feel very welcome

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank 226liac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WildHorsesLodge, General Manager at Wild Horses Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 18 September 2017

Dear 226liac,

Thank you for your positive review and feedback regarding your stay.

I am glad to hear that you got to experience and enjoy all we have to offer.

We hope to welcome you back to the Lodge soon! Keep an eye out for our spring special.

Warm regards
Janine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2017

What a beautiful venue ! Honestly probably the most romantic and prettiest setting one could ever wish for..
Sadly the staff did not compliment the setting ! No personal touch at all � actually very unfriendly starting from the
Manger Janine and just flowed downward, crumbs what a mission to get drinks at the reception... just seemed all about the money ...umm and trust me they not shy about charging , which one does not have a problem paying because you expect the prices..what u don't expect is the attitude!

Beautiful venue but sadly will not recommend to anyone solely because of of management and staff.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank jennyhayes247
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WildHorsesLodge, Owner at Wild Horses Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2017

It was unfortunate that you did not stay at the lodge but only experienced the wedding that was organised by the bridal couple and their wedding planner. As a special concession we made the lodge available for considerably more guests than we normally do , and perhaps this could have led to your unhappiness.
We would love to host you any time in the near future when you will be able to experience our normal 5* service.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2017

We booked at the Wild Horse Lodge for our anniversary getaway. Everything was absolutely perfect. This luxurious little hideaway offers all the luxury and comfort of home, together with the peace and serenity of nature. The beautiful views of the Sterkfontein Dam provide the most gorgeous backdrop to just sit and relax.
The staff are excellent, and go out of their way to see to your every need. Janine, Vuyo, Xolisa, and LIzzie were truly amazing.
A must visit if you want to just escape the city and relax.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Raksha_Nagaser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WildHorsesLodge, General Manager at Wild Horses Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 27 July 2017

Dear Raksha,

Thank you for your positive review and staying with us at Wild Horses Lodge.

I am happy to hear that all your needs where met by all the staff and that you fully enjoyed all we had to offer at the Lodge.

I am sure you have left with some mountain Fever and I hope you would return in the near future.

Warm Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2017

We really enjoyed our weekend at Wild Horses. The service is exceptionally good and the food is probably the best we had at any Lodge! Nice personal touch with owners sharing the evenings with us. The only complaint was the lack of snow!!!...but well...the rest was awesome!

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank magriet_weyers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WildHorsesLodge, General Manager at Wild Horses Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 27 July 2017

Dear Magriet Weyers,

Thank you for your positive review and staying with us at Wild Horses Lodge.

I am happy to hear that all your needs where met and you fully enjoyed all we had to offer at the Lodge.

We still have not received snow, weather is doing its own thing this year.

It was lovely meeting all of you and getting to know the Family.

We hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Warm Regards
Janine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2017

The staff are excellent and food was delicious. The room was a bit small and cold for the expensive price. Our experience is that for the same cost we have stayed in luxurious suites. The room decor could be upgraded.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank 507julif
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WildHorsesLodge, General Manager at Wild Horses Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 27 July 2017

Dear Juli,

Thank you for your positive review and staying with us at Wild Horses Lodge.

I am happy to hear that all your needs where met by the staff and that you enjoyed the food.

Thank you for your review and opinion regarding our room. Our decor is designed to fit in with the style of the Lodge which is a mountain, rocky and a vintage feel.

I do hope that you will visit in the near future.

Warm regards
Janine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews