We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peaceful private getaway”
Review of Wild Horses Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Wild Horses Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 October 2017

Wild horses is very different to any lodge I have stayed at previously. The limited amount of rooms mean that you get a very personal service experience, and the food and views were spectacular.

I would recommend it for anyone needing a few days to unplug and unwind in an amazing setting.

Hosts were really friendly and accommodating, and the lodge itself is beautiful!

Room Tip: Try get a lake facing room, views are spectacular
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Devlin G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WildHorsesLodge, Manager at Wild Horses Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Devlin, it was an absolute pleasure meeting both of you, you both seem to understand and embrace the spirit of our mountain and the beautiful surroundings. I am sure you will be back for more..
Jon and Trish .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (161)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

4 - 8 of 161 reviews

Reviewed 16 October 2017

I only have compliments for Wild Horses Lodge. There is attention to detail in everything here. The rooms are great and the food is excellent. We wanted to steal the chef, Vuyo, and take her home with us! Jonny and Trish were excellent hosts

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Dave S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WildHorsesLodge, Owner at Wild Horses Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dave, it is always a pleasure to host such gentle people such as you and your wife, we look forward to seeing you again.
Jon & Trish

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2017

Excellent service, friendly personnel clean rooms, good food. From the moment we stopped there the personnel were very friendly. Very excellent area. The building is amazing. So much hard work. The manager is excellent. Made you feel very welcome

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank 226liac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WildHorsesLodge, General Manager at Wild Horses Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 18 September 2017

Dear 226liac,

Thank you for your positive review and feedback regarding your stay.

I am glad to hear that you got to experience and enjoy all we have to offer.

We hope to welcome you back to the Lodge soon! Keep an eye out for our spring special.

Warm regards
Janine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2017

What a beautiful venue ! Honestly probably the most romantic and prettiest setting one could ever wish for..
Sadly the staff did not compliment the setting ! No personal touch at all � actually very unfriendly starting from the
Manger Janine and just flowed downward, crumbs what a mission to get drinks at the reception... just seemed all about the money ...umm and trust me they not shy about charging , which one does not have a problem paying because you expect the prices..what u don't expect is the attitude!

Beautiful venue but sadly will not recommend to anyone solely because of of management and staff.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank jennyhayes247
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WildHorsesLodge, Owner at Wild Horses Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2017

It was unfortunate that you did not stay at the lodge but only experienced the wedding that was organised by the bridal couple and their wedding planner. As a special concession we made the lodge available for considerably more guests than we normally do , and perhaps this could have led to your unhappiness.
We would love to host you any time in the near future when you will be able to experience our normal 5* service.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2017

We booked at the Wild Horse Lodge for our anniversary getaway. Everything was absolutely perfect. This luxurious little hideaway offers all the luxury and comfort of home, together with the peace and serenity of nature. The beautiful views of the Sterkfontein Dam provide the most gorgeous backdrop to just sit and relax.
The staff are excellent, and go out of their way to see to your every need. Janine, Vuyo, Xolisa, and LIzzie were truly amazing.
A must visit if you want to just escape the city and relax.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Raksha_Nagaser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WildHorsesLodge, General Manager at Wild Horses Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 27 July 2017

Dear Raksha,

Thank you for your positive review and staying with us at Wild Horses Lodge.

I am happy to hear that all your needs where met by all the staff and that you fully enjoyed all we had to offer at the Lodge.

I am sure you have left with some mountain Fever and I hope you would return in the near future.

Warm Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Harrismith
15.6 km away
Cavern Drakensberg Resort & Spa
1.7 km away
Qwantani Berg and Bush Resort
40.8 km away
Mount Everest Game Farm
Mount Everest Game Farm
#3 of 9 in Harrismith
157 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.2 km away
Montusi Mountain Lodge
Montusi Mountain Lodge
#1 of 6 in uKhahlamba-Drakensberg Park
320 reviews
36.5 km away
Kiara Lodge
Kiara Lodge
#2 of 33 in Clarens
231 reviews
17.3 km away
Alpine Heath Resort
Alpine Heath Resort
#1 of 1 in Jagersrust
501 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wild Horses Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wild Horses Lodge

Address: Sterkfontein Dam, Harrismith 9880, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Free State > Harrismith
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Speciality Lodging in Harrismith
Price Range: $317 - $374 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Wild Horses Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the Eastern Free State's pristine Sterkfontein Nature Reserve at the foothills of the Drakensberg Escarpment, Wild Horses Lodge is the perfect location for an African breakaway. With its panoramic views of the majestic Platberg Mountain and the vast Sterkfontein Dam, the Lodge is a masterpiece of architectural design in local sandstone and offers luxury accommodation, exquisite cuisine and a variety of activities centred around the dam and the abundant wildlife of the reserve. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Wild Horses Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing