We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Wild Horses Lodge
Nearby Hotels
Protea Hotel Harrismith Montrose(Harrismith)(Great Value!)
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
    Platberg Harrismith Backpackers(Harrismith)(Great Value!)
    Expedia.com
    View Deal
    • Free Wifi
    • Free Parking
    Lala Nathi Country Guesthouse(Harrismith)(Great Value!)
    US$55
    Priceline
    View Deal
    • Free Wifi
    • Free Parking
    De Oude Huize Yard(Harrismith)
    TripAdvisor
    View Deal
    Certificate of Excellence
    • Free Wifi
    • Free Parking
    Qwantani(Harrismith)
    TripAdvisor
    View Deal
    Certificate of Excellence
    • Free Parking
    • Pool
    TripAdvisor
    View Deal
    • Free Parking
    Mountainview Inn(Harrismith)
    TripAdvisor
    View Deal
    • Free Parking
    Lali's Guest House(Harrismith)
    TripAdvisor
    View Deal
    Harrismith Inn(Harrismith)
    TripAdvisor
    View Deal
    • Free Wifi
    • Pool
    TripAdvisor
    View Deal
    • Free Parking
    • Pool
    Reviews (173)
    Filter reviews
    173 results
    Traveller rating
    152
    13
    3
    4
    1
    Traveller type
    Time of year
    LanguageAll languages
    More languages
    152
    13
    3
    4
    1
    Show reviews that mention
    All reviewswine cellarsterkfontein damzebra roomromantic dinnereach mealtreated like royaltystaff were exceptionaldoing nothingblew us awaybreathtaking viewshidden gemleft us feelingincluded in the room ratepersonal chefearly checkperfect destinationour wedding anniversary
    Filter
    Updating list...
    16 - 21 of 173 reviews
    Reviewed 16 October 2017

    I only have compliments for Wild Horses Lodge. There is attention to detail in everything here. The rooms are great and the food is excellent. We wanted to steal the chef, Vuyo, and take her home with us! Jonny and Trish were excellent hosts

    • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    Review collected in partnership with this hotel
    Thank Dave S
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    WildHorsesLodge, Owner at Wild Horses Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 19 October 2017

    Dave, it is always a pleasure to host such gentle people such as you and your wife, we look forward to seeing you again.
    Jon & Trish

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 14 September 2017

    Excellent service, friendly personnel clean rooms, good food. From the moment we stopped there the personnel were very friendly. Very excellent area. The building is amazing. So much hard work. The manager is excellent. Made you feel very welcome

    • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    Review collected in partnership with this hotel
    Thank 226liac
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    WildHorsesLodge, General Manager at Wild Horses Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 18 September 2017

    Dear 226liac,

    Thank you for your positive review and feedback regarding your stay.

    I am glad to hear that you got to experience and enjoy all we have to offer.

    We hope to welcome you back to the Lodge soon! Keep an eye out for our spring special.

    Warm regards
    Janine

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 9 August 2017

    What a beautiful venue ! Honestly probably the most romantic and prettiest setting one could ever wish for..
    Sadly the staff did not compliment the setting ! No personal touch at all � actually very unfriendly starting from the
    Manger Janine and just flowed downward, crumbs what a mission to get drinks at the reception... just seemed all about the money ...umm and trust me they not shy about charging , which one does not have a problem paying because you expect the prices..what u don't expect is the attitude!

    Beautiful venue but sadly will not recommend to anyone solely because of of management and staff.

    • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
      • Location
      • Rooms
      • Service
    1  Thank jennyhayes247
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    WildHorsesLodge, Owner at Wild Horses Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2017

    It was unfortunate that you did not stay at the lodge but only experienced the wedding that was organised by the bridal couple and their wedding planner. As a special concession we made the lodge available for considerably more guests than we normally do , and perhaps this could have led to your unhappiness.
    We would love to host you any time in the near future when you will be able to experience our normal 5* service.

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 26 July 2017

    We booked at the Wild Horse Lodge for our anniversary getaway. Everything was absolutely perfect. This luxurious little hideaway offers all the luxury and comfort of home, together with the peace and serenity of nature. The beautiful views of the Sterkfontein Dam provide the most gorgeous backdrop to just sit and relax.
    The staff are excellent, and go out of their way to see to your every need. Janine, Vuyo, Xolisa, and LIzzie were truly amazing.
    A must visit if you want to just escape the city and relax.

    • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    Review collected in partnership with this hotel
    Thank Raksha_Nagaser
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    WildHorsesLodge, General Manager at Wild Horses Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 27 July 2017

    Dear Raksha,

    Thank you for your positive review and staying with us at Wild Horses Lodge.

    I am happy to hear that all your needs where met by all the staff and that you fully enjoyed all we had to offer at the Lodge.

    I am sure you have left with some mountain Fever and I hope you would return in the near future.

    Warm Regards

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 25 July 2017

    We really enjoyed our weekend at Wild Horses. The service is exceptionally good and the food is probably the best we had at any Lodge! Nice personal touch with owners sharing the evenings with us. The only complaint was the lack of snow!!!...but well...the rest was awesome!

    • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    Review collected in partnership with this hotel
    Thank magriet_weyers
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    WildHorsesLodge, General Manager at Wild Horses Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 27 July 2017

    Dear Magriet Weyers,

    Thank you for your positive review and staying with us at Wild Horses Lodge.

    I am happy to hear that all your needs where met and you fully enjoyed all we had to offer at the Lodge.

    We still have not received snow, weather is doing its own thing this year.

    It was lovely meeting all of you and getting to know the Family.

    We hope to welcome you back in the near future.

    Warm Regards
    Janine

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    View more reviews