We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Baan Imm Sook Resort(Chanthaburi)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 21/07
US$39
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 21/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$43
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 10% below average rates

The price you found is 10% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$48/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Kasemsarn Hotel(Chanthaburi)(Great Value!)
US$29
US$26
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Anika Destiny(Chanthaburi)
US$45
Booking.com
View Deal
New Travel Lodge(Chanthaburi)(Great Value!)
US$38
US$31
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Aiyara Mansion(Chanthaburi)
Free cancellation until 26/07
US$12
Hotels.com
View Deal
Baan Faa Talaychan(Chanthaburi)(Great Value!)
US$36
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Faasai Resort & Spa(Chanthaburi)(Great Value!)
US$25
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
At Rimnam Chan(Chanthaburi)
Free cancellation until 22/07
US$74
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Breakfast
Reviews (11)
Filter reviews
11 results
Traveller rating
2
2
2
3
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
2
2
2
3
2
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 11 reviews
Reviewed 25 June 2016 via mobile

The resort is quite beautifully decorated with various type of greeneries. But the place is poorly maintained. All electronics looks like from twi decades ago. Chairs are rusty and moldy.

Overall, not impressed with the resort. Nevertheless, he beach is nice and clean.

Stayed: June 2016, travelled with friends
1  Thank Waron S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2015

Since Thailand is not dog-friendly country, we chose Baan toom solely because they are the only accommodation on Chao-lao beach that takes dogs. The price for dogs is 500 THB per night per dog.

We stayed at Toom-tuek, a separate room with queen-size double which they charged for 2,500 THB (50 pounds) per night

The room -- Good size for a couple and a dog but not well-maintained. Aircon is fairly noisy and could turn itself off randomly. Bed sheet and duvet cover are stained with blood and something else and also ripped at various spots. When we first used the sink in the bathroom, the water came out brown. Inquired with a middle-aged man at the reception, he suggested we let the water run for a while. It took about 20 minutes before the water was clear-ish. On the first night, the power in our room was completely out. The same middle-aged man explained it was caused by some sort of power shortage from the main line while the resort next to us could still have a mini-concert banging through the evening without using any generator. The next day the water was out in the afternoon.

The service -- We were there on a Thai long holiday and the resort was fully booked. However, the service didn't seem to be ready. They are clearly short of staff, just that middle-aged man at the reception all the time. The rest are immigrant workers and a couple of Thai staff stationed mainly at the restaurant or sweeping dried leaves all day. They have a small bar by the pool but no one is ever there. If you want to have a drink by the pool or the beach, you have to walk to the front building and up the stairs to place your order. They have a snail-speed free wifi for you.

The food -- They do have a restaurant which, honestly, the food is not too bad and reasonably priced except they only serve Thai-Thai food while any kind of juice is not served here. Your choice of drinks are limited at water, beers, or sodas. Breakfast is kind of standard-but-leaning-towards-poor. With the price they charged us, we expected a buffet breakfast which we can choose a good variety for ourselves but at Baan Toom you can only choose between Thai or Western breakfast. Thai breakfast is porridge with meat of your choice (pork, chicken, fish) which taste ok but the Western counterpart is just not good enough, with fake ham, fake sausage, a piece of sad-looking bacon and 2 fried eggs. White squashy Thai bread is the only thing you can eat all you can. Plus breakfast is served at 8 a.m. which I think it is a bit late.

The location -- Great location. Chao-lao beach is long and mostly clean. Good wave. Too bad there's not really enough shade and deck chairs.

The setting -- Naff, tacky, and very Thai-Thai. Not enough parking space for the long weekend so guests have to double park. Main path in the resort which leads to the beach could turn into a puddle if it rains. The restaurant has no view at all.


Our verdict -- We will definitely come back to Chao-lao again since we're living in Bangkok (I'm a Thai and my wife is an expat) but we will never come back to Baan Toom because it is not of good value.

Room Tip: If you are really going to stay here, choose the room that is not adjacent too the next door, Baan Im-souk, since they are well-known for holding large group of Thais and they are usually noisy.
  • Stayed: May 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ano N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2014

Arrived Friday night, with a large group. Family of 4, so we booked the 2-bedroom cottage fronting the beach. Traditional old Thai style house, with all basic necessities. Overhead fans in the living area, which get a great sea breeze anyway. Dining table, fridge with complimentary water, TV, free wireless internet, phone. Bathroom (only 1) quaint; hot shower, fine. Bedrooms: 2, with smallish double beds. Even a bit squeezy for 2 teenagers. Aircon in bedrooms OK. Small swimming pool outside. Breakfast unspectacular, with standard American or Thai boiled rice. Major downside was loud music from neighboring resort, with deep throbbing bass, inducing discomfort and headache, and drownng out any possibility of peace or normal conversation. Suggest you avoid Saturday nights and long weekends, when the Thai party crowd invades.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
Thank OzzieExpatBangkok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2013

I'm really not sure how to start this - something of a conundrum, like the hotel.

OK, the positives: located directly on the beach with a pleasant covered seating area, open to catch the breeze. Also pleasant garden ambience. Rooms basic but with just enough amenity to cope.

Now the not so positive: tired and liking in life/vitality. That includes the staff to some extent (they don't seem so motivated/enthusiastic or even happy for that matter). The styling of the rooms includes a lot of bare/unpainted concrete which now risks looking 'cheap'. Although the room amenities are just about adequate, provision of cupboard space is patchy (our party had three rooms). The water features along side pathways are a risk to children at all times and everyone at night because the lighting is not so effective; also some of the shrubbery needs pruning and masonry repairing to avoid bumps, trips and slips.

Breakfast options were bog-standard 'western' and rice porridge (I wish someone would be a bit more imaginative).

Bottom line is: nice location, reasonably comfortable, needs sprucing up.

Room Tip: I think all rooms would be fairly good - it's a quiet location with the only 'noise' being the lap of surf on the beach.
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Isaan_Foodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2013

The beach is excellent and the garden is beautiful. The pool seems small at first sight but is quite adequate if you can get a chance to use it when other guests are not. The breakfast was OK-- instant coffee (not brewed), no milk, not many selections, but the rice soup with fish is good. The room was fine except for mosquitoes, which unfortunately come with the beautiful garden. Also, the power went out a few times at night so we had to reset the air conditioner. Overall, very nice and we would go again.

Room Tip: The bungalows are more expensive but have roof gardens. If you choose a standard room I would recommend upstairs instead of down.
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fadanothai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews